We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Summerhouse

#1,172 of 17,887 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Paddington / Maida Vale
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Get directions
60 Blomfield Road, London W9 2PA, England
+44 20 7286 6752
Website
Today
12:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 10:00 - 22:30
Mon - Fri 12:00 - 23:00
Sat 10:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

401 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 366: English reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

As long as you like seafood this place is ace - great menu with a mix of flavours abs styles. Few steaks on there just in case, but you've got to go for the fish because the owner, staff and chef clearly love it. Mixed started and mezze platter were good to kick off, with nice choice of beers wines... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Olly E, Manager at The Summerhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. You are correct our menu is very focused about delivering top quality fish items to our customers as this is the style of our restaurant but we do offer other vegetarian and meat options as well. We look forward to your return in the near future. More 

London
Level Contributor
297 reviews
245 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

This restaurant located on the canal at Maida Vale is a hidden gem. Have been to the sister restaurant but much prefer to eat here. The fish is excellent fresh presented with French touch. The ambiance excellent. I am glad to discover this place only through the new Manager Daniel. Please book in advance as it is busy at weekends.

Helpful?
Thank Margeritta
Olly E, Manager at The Summerhouse, responded to this review

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your first experience with us and thank you for your lovely review. We look forward to seeing you back soon More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We've visited several times over the last few years and this time was a party of 6. Service was slow as they always try and pack in on a Saturday night. Mezze is lovely to nibble at but needs bit more variety. Food is good but 2 1/2hrs verging on too long for service. £106.50 per couple for 3 courses... More 

Helpful?
Thank Malcolm S
Olly E, Manager at The Summerhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for taking the time to pass on your feedback. We do apologise if the service was longer on your visit this time and we have taken the comments on board. We do look forward to seeing you on your next visit. More 

London, England
Level Contributor
80 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We recently had dinner at this restaurant and while the setting is very nice especially if you have a table by the canal and the service was very good, I'm afraid the food was in my option very average and somewhat over priced. Seemed to be fully of young trended people, which is not a bad thing!

Helpful?
Thank Mark635
Olly E, Manager at The Summerhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feedback on your experience. We have taken all your comments on board and we thank you for taking the time to give these to us. Hope to see you again More 

Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

If your looking for something a bit more upmarket than a cafe and off the beaten tourist track in and around Paddington station, then this it. A cute little restaurant with open sides right on the canal (and blankets on your seat if you need them), attentive service and lovely food and wine list. We went for Sunday lunch with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
Olly E, Manager at The Summerhouse, responded to this review

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your Sunday lunch with your friends at The Summerhouse and we look forward to your return in the future. More 

London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We dined at the Summerhouse with a couple of out of towners. The view of the canal was very pleasant and we enjoyed watching the barges go past. The restaurant also has blankets on the back of the chairs if you get little chilly next to the semi-alfresco terrace. However, despite the surroundings we were disappointed with the service, our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Laumil93
Olly E, Manager at The Summerhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write the review and to pass on your feedback to us on your experience. We truly are sorry for the miscommunication with our waitress which resulted in mistakes with your food items. This would of been very frustrating and broke up the experience. As a result of your feedback we have retrained the... More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Ive eaten here three times and it doesn't dissapoint. The food is delicious, however, I do feel it is expensive for what you have. The atmosphere is lovely, the decor is fresh and nautical and you can be lucky and have a window seat with a view of the canal. I would definitely recommend going here if you want something... More 

Helpful?
Thank kelly8998
Olly E, Manager at The Summerhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feedback on your experiences with us. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your meals and thank you for your comments on the dishes. I have passed this onto the Head Chef. Look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit More 

1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a small wedding dinner for about 30 people at the Summerhouse. I have to emphasize the amazing job the team did that night. The table display was really tasteful, with the candles, name tags and favour placement. The food was delicious, in particular I enjoyed a lot my crayfish starter, which was truly amazing, and the tender lamb.... More 

Helpful?
Thank TulsiAndNick R
Olly E, Manager at The Summerhouse, responded to this review

We are so pleased you had a lovely wedding dinner with us and it was our absolute pleasure hosting it. We hope to see you in years to come to celebrate your wedding anniversary with us! More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
86 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The charming canal side setting and decor would almost be reason enough to make this restaurant popular but the food is very nice indeed. Visting on a busy bank holiday, our lunch was creatively and well prepared - monkfish with clams, spinach, roasted tiny tomatoes, swish of jerusalem artichoke puree and sauteed new potatoes. Perfectly executed and quite delicious. Enjoyed... More 

Helpful?
Thank MeandHeTravel
Olly E, Manager at The Summerhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review and we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your lunch with us. We look forward to your return will you are in London More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely local fish restaurant with dish of the day and big selection of tasty dishes overlooking the canal. Great for lunch or dinner.

Helpful?
Thank KarenGh2o
Olly E, Manager at The Summerhouse, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your meal with us. The catch of the day is great as our Chef chooses what is the freshest fish product on the day and creates a delicious dish. Look forward to seeing you again soon More 

Travellers who viewed The Summerhouse also viewed

 

Been to The Summerhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 28 - USD 37
Cuisine
Seafood, European, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Highchairs Available
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
Good for
Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, View, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
10:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 60 Blomfield Road, London W9 2PA, England
  • Public Transportation: Warwick Avenue is the closest underground station and Royal Oak is a 10 minute walk away. Buss routes 6, 414, 187, 36 and 18 are all close by.
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London>  > Paddington / Maida Vale
  • Neighbourhood: Paddington / Maida Vale
  • Phone Number: +44 20 7286 6752

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Summerhouse and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Summerhouse staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?