We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Sun., 24/10
20:00
OR
Get food delivered
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
CUISINES
Italian, Mediterranean, European, Neapolitan, Campania, Sicilian, Southern-Italian
FEATURES
Reservations, Seating, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (1,277)
Filter reviews
1,110 results
Traveller rating
626
207
129
75
73
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
626
207
129
75
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tapas truffle ravioli tiramisu sea bass pizza oysters bread beef potatoes pudding san carlo st martins lane small plates ordered dishes pre theatre excellent food and service west end
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 5 days ago

Such a beautiful place , with great service , I visited the restaurant with my family and we had such a nice evening . The staff were so friendly , food delicious , for those who said overpriced , you have the prices in the...menu from the beginning so is just about common sense , nothing to complain about to be honest . It was my daughter’s birthday and they offered us a candle in the desert and everyone sang happy birthday to her , super helpful manager, my son has some allergies and they helped him to choose everything Definitely will go again .More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
Guest Relations, Guest Relations Manager at Fumo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Chris, Thank you for your review and kind words. I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us, I will share your positive feedback with the team. We look forward to welcoming you again soon, Team San Carlo

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Situated in Covent Garden what a fantastic restaurant this is. One of two in the area and part of a chain across the country. Real Italian food. Stunning decor and surroundings great for friends, couples or a Romantic meal. The place has a real buzz...about it with a great selection of wines, cocktails and food to choose from. They serve the Italian equivalent of tapas and recommend choosing 2 dishes per person which we found to be just right. All cooked fresh and with quality ingredients. The staff are so friendly and welcoming and go out of their way to make your evening a great experience. Given it’s location in the heart of the capital city it is also reasonably priced. I will definitely be back and would recommend it to anyone.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
Guest Relations, Guest Relations Manager at Fumo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear Ken, Thank you for sharing your 5 star rating and review. It was a pleasure to read. We're so pleased you enjoyed visiting us and hope we can welcome you again soon. Team San Carlo

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great menu, great food, and altogether a great experience. Would absolutely recommend this place. Went for lunch, lucky to get a table

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
Guest Relations, Guest Relations Manager at Fumo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Good afternoon, Thank you for sharing your 5 star rating and review. We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you again soon, Team San Carlo

Reviewed 1 week ago

Made a big mistake calling in to Fumo, it left me fuming. Ordered what I thought was a pizza to be given a small tasteless piece of pizza base with obviously processed meat. Partners dish of ravioli you couldn’t have filled a thimble with. Waitress...explained you had to order three dishes each as portions were small! Small, one bite and it was finished. Useless inefficient staff with a smarmy manager/ grovelling idiot trying to explain the concept! What concept? It’s overpriced pretentious crap! Two minuscule plates and a mediocre bottle of wine £60! Complete and total ripoff.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?1  
Guest Relations, Guest Relations Manager at Fumo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Good afternoon, I am incredibly sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time with us. We praise our staff for excellent customer service, however, it is clear that on this occasion we did not live up to the service expectations. Please accept my...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

As b&b owner in italy and in uk I am always travelling and I have been in many restaurants, fumo london is one of my favourite, food outstanding,service is always friendly and staff is focus on details, water and wine always topped up, dirty plates...promptly removed from our table. we ve been drinking nice cocktails make from the bar manager. Outstanding was also the preparation of tuna tartare by the tall manger. Thanks to the junior manager Elissio for make up my daughter birthday with candles and song. Definitely recommend for eat proper Italian foodsMore

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
Guest Relations, Guest Relations Manager at Fumo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Good afternoon, Thank you for your 5* rating and review, it is lovely to hear from our returning guests. I am delighted you enjoy your time with us, we will share your positive feedback with the team. We look forward to welcoming you again soon,...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Staff rude , food average , food concept off this planet . Waiter explained that this was a tapas style of ordering( I spend a lot of time in Spain and Italy and have never experienced anything quite like this ) . He said we...needed to order a couple of things each to share . How do you share tagletteli bolanaise ? Food came out staggered but in a ridiculous order . A steak was ordered , and then 30 mins later the chips and onion rings turned up . From the start of the food to the end took 1 - 1/2 hours . My daughter ordered garlic bread with cheese which they brought out with the final items at which point they presented the bill . When the bill arrived we noticed that we had been charged for doubles on all spirits , which we did not order . We questioned the manager on the service at which point he became extremely rude which prompted a heated exchange . He was very much of the attitude of that’s what we do and if you don’t like it don’t come here ( which obviously we now won’t ) Now here’s the thing - we were out in London to see a show as a group of 9 - my mother and father in law , both in their seventies , my father and law sufferers from MS and can hardly walk , myself and my wife both in our 40’s as our friends that were with us , and three teenage children. I wouldn’t have said that we were the stereotypical threat to society . Anyway we waited and waited for what we would of expected a revised bill after the manager went off ( in his words to look at ) . To our absolute surprise two police officers came through the door and headed towards our table . They said that they had been called as we had said we would not pay the bill and that the restaurant thought ( in their words ) that we would do a runner . I refer to the above breakdown of our table . I explained that this was simply not true and told them our queries , after they accessed who would have had to of done a runner they were extremely understanding of our situation and were not at all happy with the manager of this excuse of a restaurant. I won’t lower myself to put into words exactly how I would like to describe the manager , but I would like to say how brilliant the two police officers were and what a credit to the service they both are. I apologised to them that their time has been wasted on what ( in their words was not a law / legal issue ) and I suggested that somebody in the area could of been in real danger and the police were wasting their time with us . The manager just grunted at the officers when they suggested that the bill was revised after which I would happily pay . Arrogant and rude are the two words that I will use ( although many more could be added ) . He reluctantly took the service and the overcharge on the spirits off . So the moral of the story is , if you go to Fumo please do not complain if anything is wrong . If it doesn’t go their way they just call the police . I have been to many restaurants all around the world of all levels and standards , I have to say this is the worst experience I have ever had , and the first time the police have been called to help me pay my bill . Avoid this restaurant at all costs !More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?5  
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Fantastic food fantastic service and fantastic price a I cannot rate this highly enough. So much so that I was tempted not to leave a review in case it made it too busy for me to be able to visit again

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Guest Relations, Guest Relations Manager at Fumo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good Morning, thank you for sharing your 5 star rating and review. It was a pleasure to read. We're so pleased you enjoyed visiting us and hope we can welcome you again soon. Team San Carlo

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Beef short ribs and spaghetti carbonara were quite good. However, the other dishes we ordered were rather average. Bread was hard and dry.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Guest Relations, Guest Relations Manager at Fumo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good Morning, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit. We are very sorry that some of our dishes were not to the usual standard, we have addressed this with our kitchen team as we wish to only deliver the highest standard...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I was looking forward to this meal and the food was good. We arrived around 10 mins early and were sat briefly at the bar then to our table. Unfortunately the food was served all together (which doesn’t work for Italian food in my opinion)...around 5-10 mins after we arrived which is far too quick I’m for those wishing for an evening out. After 1h 10 mins we were ready to ask for the dessert menu and the server came and put the bill on our table, mumbled something and left. We asked him back and he said we had to pay our bill soon and leave as the booking was only for 90 mins. We asked for the manager who did apologise but also said the information about the length of the booking was in the email - I have checked and it wasn’t. We felt dismissed, we paid and left without dessert but a sour taste nonetheless. Initially the service seems good at Fumo but these events, all in the interest of getting people in and out as quickly as possible, did not feel good. We won’t be back.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Guest Relations, Guest Relations Manager at Fumo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Max We are incredibly sorry that you found our designated time slot too restrictive. This is company practice and guests are made aware on their confirmation email. We are incredibly sorry if this was not your experience. Should you wish to make a booking...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very nice experience other than being overcharged at the end. Went with my mother and wife/child today. A mixup which got confusing and we ended up paying £151 instead of the £141 (which did include 15% service charge already). The extra tenner left a bitter...taste but other than that the restaurant and indeed the service was very very good. A lot of 'It's not Italian' snobs reviewing on here - don't listen to them! This is one of those buzzy, touristy-but-so-what, lively places that we all really enjoyed. Just watch the bill if you pay cash :-IMore

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Guest Relations, Guest Relations Manager at Fumo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good morning, Whilst is great to hear you enjoyed your time with us. We are incredibly sorry to read your feedback regarding your bill. If you would like to discuss this matter further please get in touch with us at GuestRelations@sancarlo.co.uk Warmest Regards, Team San...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Covent Garden
Whether you're headed here to check out the multitude
of shops, theaters, cafes, pubs, and restaurants, or
simply to be among the multitude of people who pass
through this pretty part of town, you'll love soaking
up the festive and historic atmosphere in and around
Covent Garden. Even if you don't have tickets to the
opera or a show at one of the many famous theaters
here, don't be surprised if find yourself captivated
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
hub by Premier Inn London Covent Garden hotel
4,325 reviews
.01 km away
St Martins Lane London
3,348 reviews
.04 km away
Page8
60 reviews
.09 km away
Assembly Hotel London
434 reviews
.13 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Rosetta
227 reviews
.07 km away
The Harp
541 reviews
.09 km away
Koshari Street
300 reviews
.09 km away
Prezzo - St Martins Lane
1,262 reviews
.05 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
National Portrait Gallery
5,723 reviews
.10 km away
London Coliseum
1,172 reviews
.03 km away
Garrick Theatre
778 reviews
.06 km away
Duke of York's Theatre
383 reviews
.02 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Janeffery
8 October 2019|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from WINSTON S | Reviewed this property |
I would recommend Fumo
1
Vote
Evie S
27 November 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Steve P | Reviewed this property |
I'm a veggie and there was lots of meals to pick from. However I'm not sure about actual vegan. I suggest you phone the restaurant or look on the website. It certainly was a good meal and good atmosphere.
0
Votes
Angela D
15 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from geofff753 | Reviewed this property |
Yes, I took my three on a Saturday night, went quite early though at 6pm
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Fumo

Fumo is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4