We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Auctioneer

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
235-237 Lytham Road | South Shore, Blackpool FY1 6ET, England
+44 1253 346412
Website
Today
08:00 - 00:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 08:00 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

195 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 194: English reviews
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

poor food and greasy menus.staff talking behind bar.you could hear everythig.chef behind bar when he could be cleaning kitchen.i presume they dont have a kp.good job we only went in for breakfast.wouldnt entertain going in for a proper meal.will travel the extra mile to go to weatherspoons on the prom.just no excuse for this poorly run place

Helpful?
1 Thank davidcheetham1996
AuctioneerBlackpool, Manager at The Auctioneer, responded to this review

Let me apologise if you were not happy with your recent visit to us we always pride ourselves on good customer care and good food so obviously something was not right on that particular day. If there is a problem with the food always let us know and we will correct it straight away as for the staff I will... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

I did not realise that this had been sold to another business, so I went in expecting Wetherspoon quality and service. What a let down, very poor customer interaction, the standard breakfast was ordered and although we were the only people who had ordered food, it still took them nearly 20 minutes for it to arrive. 'We had trouble with... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Graham B
AuctioneerBlackpool, Manager at The Auctioneer, responded to this review

I am so sorry you had a bad experience here I wish you had said something on your check back so we could of rectified the situation as we do not like any customer to leave unsatisfied, please do pop in and give us another chance I am sure this was a one off. More 

Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
411 reviews
235 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Was a Wetherspoon pub ; not sure who has taken over but the improvements to the WC are noticeable. The fire and other features have been retained - still good value for money, Still worth a visit if you are South Promenade area.Didnt eat on this occasion ; maybe next time,

Helpful?
Thank Michael T
AuctioneerBlackpool, Manager at The Auctioneer, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and so glad you enjoyed it and your popping back hopefully to eat, we will look forward to your visit. More 

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2017

thought it was time i left a review on here , go down for a breakfast on a sunday morning the staff are always friendly and polite and serve you with a smile so top marks there . i've really enjoyed the breakfasts over all 3 visits the quality never changes and is cooked very well , really impressed that... More 

Helpful?
Thank dranubis59
AuctioneerBlackpool, Manager at The Auctioneer, responded to this review

Thank you for such a lovely and positive review of our pub, we are so glad you enjoy your breakfast here and look forward to your visit next week why not pop in at other times so you can taste our full menu see you soon. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2017

Good real ale pub with friendly staff and prompt service. Food order taken quickly and served with no delay. No complaints, and would recommend this pub to others.

Helpful?
Thank Ged E
AuctioneerBlackpool, Manager at The Auctioneer, responded to this review

Thank you so much for recommending our pub to others and we are so glad you enjoyed your visit to us please come again soon. More 

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
410 reviews
246 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2017

We have visited this pub on numerous ocassions when it belonged to Wetherspoons and as it is a good pit stop on our walk back to the Premier Inn, we decided it deserved a visit now it has been sold on. The pub was pretty much the same and that included the staff and the prices! Didn't eat at all... More 

Helpful?
Thank JandK2
AuctioneerBlackpool, Manager at The Auctioneer, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our venue and giving us such lovely feedback we are so glad you still enjoyed it here and will look forward to your next visit to Blackpool and here. More 

Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2016

we decided to have a meal out for one of our friends birthdays, and we were looking for somewhere that had good value,so we decided to try the auctioneer menu, we found the food was tastier than ever before and was extremely good value with fast service, were were most satisfied with the drinks offers available there on ciders

Helpful?
Thank timmason1972spinish
AuctioneerBlackpool, Manager at The Auctioneer, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review we are so glad you enjoyed your friends birthday with us here and you enjoyed your food and drinks. Hopefully you will all pop in again for a catch up soon we will look forward to it. More 

England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
355 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2016 via mobile

We stopped off for a late night drink after having a delicious curry next door at the Taj Mahal. We had a brilliant hour or two at The Auctiobeer in excellent company. The Auctioneer is an old Wetherspoons pub, now owned by a different company. It has a great selection of drinks on offer, the staff were very friendly and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dan B
AuctioneerBlackpool, Manager at The Auctioneer, responded to this review

So glad you popped in to us to finish your night and very pleased you had a great experience here It is always good for the staff morale to have positive feedback Thank you for taking the time to write a well appreciated review More 

Old Warden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

Stopped by for beers. The range of beer was extensive, unusual and well conditioned. The CAMRA member discount added to my enjoyment.

Helpful?
Thank Terry G
AuctioneerBlackpool, Manager at The Auctioneer, responded to this review

Thank you for your review We do try to cater for everybody's taste and for CAMRA members we aim to supply a wide range of ales, we are so glad you enjoyed them as we are very proud of our place in the Good Beer Guide and with a bit of CAMRA discount we hope it adds to your experience... More 

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2016

We have popped in the Auctioneer many times, but it is now time to review it. Yesterday we called in for breakfast, the food was hot and very tasty, served on a hot plate. The pub was full of people enjoying themselves. A relaxed atmosphere. The staff are polite and friendly, the place is clean and well presented.

Helpful?
Thank Danny G
AuctioneerBlackpool, Manager at The Auctioneer, responded to this review

Sorry for the late response but we are very glad you took the time to review our pub so highly and thank you for the compliments they mean a lot to us we hope you visit us again soon More 

Travellers who viewed The Auctioneer also viewed

 
Blackpool, Lancashire
 
Blackpool, Lancashire
Blackpool, Lancashire
 

Been to The Auctioneer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Waitstaff
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 00:00
Monday
08:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 00:00
Thursday
08:00 - 00:00
Friday
08:00 - 00:00
Saturday
08:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 235-237 Lytham Road | South Shore, Blackpool FY1 6ET, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lancashire  >  Blackpool
  • Phone Number: +44 1253 346412
Description
pub well known for our vast range of cask ales background music an interactive quiz on Wednesday evenings from 9pm opening hours Monday - Sunday 9am till midnight Food Served 9am - 9pm Daily. Children until 9.30pm Guide dogs only.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Auctioneer and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question
sheffield
4 months ago
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Auctioneer staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?