We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Gurkha Restaurant Blackpool

148-154 Waterloo Road, Blackpool FY4 2AF, England
+44 1253 344292
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent76%
  • Very good14%
  • Average5%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“lamb curry” (7 reviews)
“cheesecake” (4 reviews)
Closed
All hours
CUISINES
Chinese, Indian, Thai, Nepalese, Vegan Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
148-154 Waterloo Road, Blackpool FY4 2AF, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago

Came here for the first time in years on impulse. Read a few of the reviews on here and the negative experiences tend to stem from people not booking ahead so I did (booked a table for 6.30pm) we showed up at 6.20ish and were...More

Thank Daniel F
TheGurkhaBlackpool, General Manager at The Gurkha Restaurant Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Daniel, Thank you very much for your kind review. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed our food and service. Unfortunately due to space issues and us being a small family business, we do not have the space to add more bain maries (and...More

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

I can't review the food as we weren't given any! The restaurant is off the beaten track so we took a taxi from the town centre, getting there at 9.25 (5 minutes before last entry) only to be told they didn't have a lot of...More

Thank debbie b
TheGurkhaBlackpool, General Manager at The Gurkha Restaurant Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Debbie, Thank you for your review. Unfortunately, most of our customers had left by then and we could not take in any more customers as our food has to be cooked fresh for the number of customers we receive and as it was a...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had not been here for awhile. Then it was good. Now its even better. Newly refurbished and the choice of food amazing. From indian,nepalese,chinese. The starters ribs samosas all freshly cooked. Staff very friendly and helpful. Its part of the alpine hotel so there...More

Thank Alanrush
TheGurkhaBlackpool, General Manager at The Gurkha Restaurant Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Alan, Thank you very much for your kind review. We're so pleased to read you liked our refurbishment and that you found our food and service to be even better than before! We really hope this means you'll visit us more often now! Kind...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited blackpool for a few days and was recommended to try here for a meal. Omg I was delighted. Very friendly and helpful staff. The food choices. Well spoilt for choice. And plenty of everything. And the best chicken korma me and my partner have...More

Thank Philip W
TheGurkhaBlackpool, General Manager at The Gurkha Restaurant Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Philip, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review - it was great to read such lovely comments about our food, staff and service. I'll make sure to pass on your compliments to the staff. We hope you'll visit us again...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Called in yesterday on our way home, sat down and ordered our drinks that were on our table very quick, not been since the refurb and how nice and fresh the refurb is, food was great which was kept topped up, duck was nice and...More

1  Thank Tango953
TheGurkhaBlackpool, General Manager at The Gurkha Restaurant Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear customer, Thank you for your kind review. It's great to hear you were happy with our food and service. We will pass on your comments to the staff and we do hope you visit us again soon! Kind regards, The Gurkha

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have been coming here several times every summer for the past 6 years. Will NOT be going back! On arrival we were told we had to be out within an hour as we had not booked. Everything we tried was awful. Some undercooked, overcooked,...More

Thank Linda A
TheGurkhaBlackpool, General Manager at The Gurkha Restaurant Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Linda, Thank you for your review. We would like to apologise for your experience and we are sorry to hear you will not be coming back. The 1 hour time slot was the only slot we could offer you in that circumstance unfortunately as...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Visited here with my partner last Thursday evening. The place looks good after a refurbishment and the food was of a good standard. All dishes were hot, fresh and regularly topped up. Good variety and definitely value for money. Very attentive staff clearing the plates...More

1  Thank nic3452
TheGurkhaBlackpool, General Manager at The Gurkha Restaurant Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear customer, Thank you for your kind review. It's great to hear you were happy with our food and service. We will pass on your comments to the staff and we do hope you visit us again soon! Kind regards, The Gurkha

Reviewed 21 August 2017

Great food, great service, and brilliant value for money, we were in a party of four of which all really enjoyed our meal, it was all you could eat at £10-95 per head.

Thank STEPHEN B
TheGurkhaBlackpool, General Manager at The Gurkha Restaurant Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Stephen, Thank you very much for your kind review. We're so pleased to hear your overall experience with us was positive. Your comments are greatly appreciated and we do hope you visit us again in the near future! Kind regards, The Gurkha

Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

Was stunned from the moment I went in!!! Loved all the Ghurkas history and regalia on display. The food was faultless and what a choice, all freshly cooked and steaming hot. Staff extremely polite and attentive. Great value for money. The restaurant itself is bright...More

1  Thank Mandy C
TheGurkhaBlackpool, General Manager at The Gurkha Restaurant Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2017

Dear Mandy, Thank you so much for your extremely kind words. We're very pleased to hear you enjoyed all aspects of your dining experience at The Gurkha, from the decor to the food and service. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Kind regards,...More

Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

Its a nice buffet type of place. Great atmosphere, helpful staff and not bad food. Admitedly not a massive choice and some trays were empty, not refilled often enough but the food was tasty. Separate sections with different foods and small desert part with ice...More

Thank kami2011
TheGurkhaBlackpool, Front Office Manager at The Gurkha Restaurant Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Thank you for your kind review and thank you for visiting us. Unfortunately as we are a small family business we do not have the space in our restaurant to provide a vast variety of dishes but our main focus is quality over quantity at...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Taj Mahal Blackpool
668 reviews
.38 km away
Brewers Fayre Yeadon Way
424 reviews
.45 km away
The Auctioneer
209 reviews
.38 km away
Nearby Attractions
Sandcastle Waterpark
3,618 reviews
.98 km away
Paris Casino
92 reviews
.51 km away
Bloomfield Road
9 reviews
.62 km away
The Evolution Of Magic
171 reviews
1.00 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
donna s
10 September 2017|
Answer
Response from TheGurkhaBlackpool | Property representative |
Hi Donna, No, I'm afraid this is incorrect. There's a children's playground/park a minute's walk from the hotel but not in the premises. There is no seperate entertainment for hotel guests unfortunately, however we do... More
0
Votes
Donna S
8 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from TheGurkhaBlackpool | Property representative |
Hi Donna, yes there is. At £5 per person per morning, we serve a full English breakfast with tea, coffee, juice and cereals included. Simply inform us when booking or notify the staff at check-in. Kind regards, The Gurkha
1
Vote
bezray44
6 June 2015|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from AshandKate1616 | Reviewed this property |
Sorry Ignore what I said they have just put one on there website ! - it's been updated from last time I looked
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 14 - USD 14
Meals
Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Seating, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Reservations, Waitstaff, Buffet, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
17:30 - 22:30
Tuesday
17:30 - 22:30
Wednesday
17:30 - 22:30
Thursday
17:30 - 22:30
Friday
17:30 - 22:30
Saturday
17:30 - 22:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 148-154 Waterloo Road, Blackpool FY4 2AF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lancashire  >  Blackpool
  • Phone Number: +44 1253 344292
  • E-mail
Description
All-you-can-eat Nepalese, Chinese, Indian and Thai buffet restaurant at a fixed price including desserts, fresh fruit and hot beverages. Under new management. Newly renovated and refurbished. Prices: Tuesday - Thursday £10.45. Friday - Sunday £10.95. Bank Holidays £10.95. Children (between 4-8 years) £4.95. All prices inclusive of VAT. CLOSED ON MONDAYS. Takeaway service not available.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing