We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lakeland Pedlar - CLOSED

Hendersons Yard Bell Close Main Street, Keswick CA12 5JD, England
+44 17687 74492
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good28%
  • Average6%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible5%
30 Dec 2014
“What a shame.”
25 Dec 2014
Restaurant Hours Closed
Mediterranean, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Hendersons Yard Bell Close Main Street, Keswick CA12 5JD, England
All Details
Reviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

11 - 20 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014

We visited on a night time and used to go for lunch frequently so assumed the night would just be as good, proved wrong. The service was appalling, the girl was on her phone behind the counter majority of the time, didn't inform us there...More

3  Thank Katherine9018
PaulMax M, Owner at The Lakeland Pedlar, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Sorry to hear about your experience & not too sure about the date & time you were in but we don't open up on a night time untill April!! All food is made to the same excellent standard that you would expect. Our average foot-fall...More

Reviewed 26 January 2014

We love this little restaurant and have had some great lunches here. The food is wonderful with a good range to suit all ages from Grandma's Soup and Bread to a child's portion of Nachos and everything in between. It is always our first choice...More

1  Thank Jen C
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We came across this wonderful little café completely by chance - having parked in the car park behind the town. I'm vegetarian but my partner isn't. I wanted café but she wanted pub. The Pedlar suited both of us...although she didn't get the steak sandwich...More

2  Thank AshnVic
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I can't say I visited the Lakeland Pedlar with any great regularity, but when I did I always had a great food experience. Not today. The first change was to discover that The Lakeland Pedlar is no more and in its place is The Pedlar...More

2  Thank Jane G
PaulMax M, Owner at The Lakeland Pedlar, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Sorry to hear about your experience but there is always a member of management in the kitchen to talk to if there are any issues. Tues to thurs at this time of year are very slow hence the scaled down menu that said today Saturday...More

Reviewed 9 January 2014

Popped here for a snack on our first day of our stay during the afternoon. The place was fairly busy downstairs but seating was very quiet upstairs and we were served fairly quickly. Food took a little while to arrive but that's because it was...More

1  Thank HubbysNumpty
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Good food, good service from lovely staff. Lovely atmosphere, especially on an overcast, rainy day. Good value.

1  Thank Geraldine H
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We ate here at lunchtime and in the evening - early evening as they said the last orders were at 7.30pm. There were lots of choices of lunch - less so in the evening. The tapas plate I ordered in the evening was enormous and...More

Thank LesleyHedges
Reviewed 3 December 2013

called in for lunch as i thought i could remember trip advisor reports saying it did gluten free food. the menu does cater. I had the soup and a brie,grape and walnut sandwich and my husband had the soup and a gluten free cheese and...More

Thank TripMember03312015
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We have been visiting the Pedlar on our many trips to the Lakes for almost 20 years. This time we immediately noticed the changes - not for the better in our opinion. The décor cannot make up its mind whether its rustic or contemporary. Whilst...More

2  Thank Anne F
PaulMax M, Owner at The Lakeland Pedlar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

We now understand we cannot please everyone but will always endeavor to try, that said , all food from via the menus or the specials board is made fresh to serve and the majority of our customers leave happy & return, regardless if the decor...More

Reviewed 30 November 2013

I have been eating here for many years and, though I miss the old management,the new owners have kept the ambience and the quality of food to the same high standard.The chilli bowl is excellent and the accompanying salad is very tasty and inventive.It would...More

Thank Pamela M
PaulMax M, Owner at The Lakeland Pedlar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Thank You.

Nearby Restaurants
Java Coffee Shop
427 reviews
.05 km away
898 reviews
.07 km away
Old Keswickian
1,149 reviews
.09 km away
A Taste of Thailand Restaurant at Shemara Guest House
346 reviews
.09 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Puzzling Place
1,143 reviews
.10 km away
KONG Adventure
104 reviews
.16 km away
Moot Hall - Keswick Information Centre
151 reviews
.08 km away
Keswick Outdoor Markets
39 reviews
.03 km away
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Hendersons Yard Bell Close Main Street, Keswick CA12 5JD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cumbria  >  Lake District  >  Keswick
  • Phone Number: +44 17687 74492
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing