We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Gateway Inn

$$ - $$$, British,
Crook Road, Kendal LA8 8LX, England
+44 1539 724187
Call
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good28%
  • Average11%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“burger” (17 reviews)
“fish and chips” (14 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Crook Road, Kendal LA8 8LX, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 433 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2018 via mobile

Got to the hotel and they had up upgraded free of charge as they had noticed I put romantic night way .The service was excellent and the manager could not do enough, the food was fantastic with everything home-made will definitely be returning. Would recommend...More

Thank Emily L
Stephen T, Owner at The Gateway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Dear Emily, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're all really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we're glad we could help you have a lovely night away. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind...More

Reviewed 26 December 2017 via mobile

I booked two rooms for my husbands 60th birthday treat. ( Two couples) Rooms 1 & 3. On arrival we received a warm welcome and we instantly felt relaxed. We had a journey from Manchester up to Windermere then onto Stavely ( where we enjoyed...More

Thank Miller0460
Stephen T, Owner at The Gateway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2017

Dear Mrs Miller, Thank you much for taking the time to leave us a lovely review. We're pleased that you and your companions enjoyed your stay with us and that we could add something extra to your husbands birthday treat. Thanks also for pointing out...More

Reviewed 25 December 2017 via mobile

Xmas day in the lake district, as locals we always go to the gateway for afternoon drinks. Not this year we were turned away as the gateway would only server food during Xmas day. Absolute joke, the fact we are regulars there, live local and...More

Thank Darren S
Stephen T, Owner at The Gateway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2017

Dear Darren, We do sincerely apologise about being unable to accommodate you on Christmas Day. As you may already know, being a local, we recently took over the business and had to adhere to the previous owners commitments on Christmas Day and due to their...More

Reviewed 24 December 2017 via mobile

We met here Saturday evening for a pre Christmas get together .We travelled from Leeds , others from Wales some from the lakes .We were greeted warmly and seated at a cosy corner table near an open fire. The staff here very welcoming efficient and...More

Thank Margaret Y
Stephen T, Owner at The Gateway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2017

Hi Margaret, Thank you very much for leaving us a lovely review, we're really pleased that we helped kick off your festivities in a great way. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Steve

Reviewed 18 December 2017

We live in Kendal but haven’t been to the Gateway for a long time because of poor reviews. We noticed that it was under new management so decided to give it another go. We were very pleased that we did. The difference is noticeable as...More

Thank Evelyn P
Stephen T, Owner at The Gateway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Dear Evelyn, Thank for so much for taking the time to leave us a review and for your kind comments about the difference under our new ownership. We are constantly working very hard to improve The Gateway Inn so that it can be at its...More

Reviewed 18 December 2017 via mobile

The Gateway Inn was recommended to me by my daughter and it didn't disappoint us. The welcome we got was warm and friendly, thank you Sally! We had roast beef and it was really lovely, everything about our visit was great and I would recommend...More

Thank sallyp994
Stephen T, Owner at The Gateway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Hi sallyp994, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're thrilled you enjoyed your visit and your lunch too and thank you also for highlighting the efforts of our team, Sally in particular. We look forward to seeing you again soon....More

Reviewed 8 December 2017 via mobile

Very pleasant and quiet stay here the other month whilst i was up working in the area, comfortable and clean rooms for a good price. Enjoyed a particularly good burger which great pub chips and onion rings on one night. Couldnt always catch breakfast in...More

Thank tom l
Stephen T, Owner at The Gateway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2017

Hi Tom, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We have recently taken over the business so i believe you stayed under the previous ownership but we are glad nonetheless the you enjoyed your stay. If you come to stop again please...More

Reviewed 7 December 2017

This is a lovely little hotel, very clean and comfortable. Dinner was very tasty, I had rump of lamb and my friend had a steak, washed down with a lovely red wine. Atmosphre was relaxed and cosy. Breakfast next morning was also very good too.More

1  Thank maryon59
Stephen T, Owner at The Gateway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2017

Hi Maryon59, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely 5* review. We're thrilled you enjoyed your visit and appreciate your comments as we and our team work very hard in making sure our guests do enjoy themselves and we're all glad...More

Reviewed 1 December 2017

Great service, friendly people, good food at a reasonable price, just can’t work out why it’s not more popular. Easy parking and great ambiance finish he package.More

Thank Colin D
Stephen T, Owner at The Gateway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2017

Hi Colin, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We're thrilled you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Having recently taken over the business reviews like your will surely help us take The Gateway Inn to where...More

Reviewed 29 November 2017 via mobile

We visited here for lunch and found a lovely re furnished pub beautifully decorated but very expensive and lacking in atmosphere. I chose the pea and ham soup which at £4.95 was very reasonable, unfortunately there was not a piece of ham anywhere in the...More

Thank Sharon M
Stephen T, Owner at The Gateway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2017

Hi Sharon, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and we're sorry that you found our prices to be expensive. We do try to be competitive in the local market and do offer quality, locally sourced food but we will of course...More

PreviousNext
12345644
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 13 hotels in Kendal
Travelodge Kendal
459 reviews
.69 km away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
1,264 reviews
2.49 km away
Riverside Hotel
1,139 reviews
2.83 km away
County Hotel
305 reviews
2.86 km away
Nearby Restaurants
2 Sisters Cafe at Plumgarths
501 reviews
.07 km away
Deja Vu
687 reviews
2.54 km away
Slate Bar and Cafe
108 reviews
2.67 km away
Carus Green Golf Club
165 reviews
1.71 km away
Nearby Attractions
Brewery Arts Centre
339 reviews
2.94 km away
The Quaker Tapestry Exhibition Centre
136 reviews
2.85 km away
Kendal Museum
94 reviews
2.78 km away
The Antiques Emporium
34 reviews
2.30 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Clare D
26 October 2017|
Answer
Response from TheGatewayInnKendal | Property representative |
Yes we have a children menu
0
Votes
Redfox6475
8 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from VicarNigel | Reviewed this property |
Yes - as far as I am aware
0
Votes
Dan W
29 August 2015|
Answer
Response from TheGatewayInnKendal | Property representative |
Hi Dan W! we start serving food at 12 and serve all day until 9 we serve coffees and drinks from 1030 Dale
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 11 - USD 35
Meals
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, View, Kids, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Crook Road, Kendal LA8 8LX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cumbria  >  Lake District  >  Kendal
  • Phone Number: +44 1539 724187
  • E-mail
Description
Quality home cooked meals served everyday. (Please note that our opening hours do not necessarily represent our food service times. Please contact us to confirm food service times)
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing