We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Traveller's Rest

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
A591 road, Grasmere LA22 9RR, England
+44 15394 35604
Website
Today
11:45 - 21:30
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:45 - 21:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

282 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 280: English reviews
N Ireland
Level Contributor
278 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Driving past we stopped for our Sunday night meal. Service was very quick the starter lead us to believe we would have a good meal. The main course can out the roast beef was dried up and covered in gravy. The wife had the chicken and said it was very dry. I was given a bit. Never before have I... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ian F
Sandyhills, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stopped off for dinner. Looked a lovely place from the outside. Had 2 course from the steak menu. I asked for my steak to be extra well done. When brought to the table, the steak was basicly burnt on the outside an extremely pink on the inside. The chips that accompanied the steak were frozen burnt and tasteless. My partner... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank H M
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have looked at this hotel several times but never stayed . Big mistake. we stayed overnight on our last lakes visit . the traditional lakes pub interior has been maintained - Fabulous. the bedrooms have all been refurbished to a very good standard, bed very comfortable bathroom top quality. the restaurant and breakfast were also excellent. All topped by... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul A
Alicja Z, Manager at Traveller's Rest, responded to this review

Thank you for this fab review Paul! We're very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, great to ready your comments about our newly refurbished bedrooms :) We hope the rest of your stay in the area was just as good and we look forward to seeing you again soon! More 

Sevenoaks District, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Really friendly and comfortable pub. Beer very good, as was my T-Bone steak. My daughter loved her burger, which looked great, and I also sampled the pulled pork and chorizo, which was very tasty indeed. Reasonably priced for the location/quality - approx £20 per head with a drink. Staff very friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Steve B
Alicja Z, Manager at Traveller's Rest, responded to this review

Thank you very much for this great review Steve! I'm very happy to hear you enjoyed your meals at our Inn, I see you've made some great food choices :) Thank you for your kind comments on our team and atmosphere too, that's much appreciated! We hope you enjoyed the rest of your evening and we look forward to seeing... More 

Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went there after having a lovely day around lakes, thought it looks lovely from the outside, went in for a meal for a birthday meal. BIG MISTAKE the food was horrible the staff has no idea what they were doing and it was not as if they were busy there was only about 3 tables being used at the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank valkenward
Alicja Z, Manager at Traveller's Rest, responded to this review

Hello valkenward, I'm very sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your meals with us. I'm not sure what you mean when you say staff didn't know what they were doing, if there is any specific feedback you'd like to pass on to me, please email me on stay@lakedistrictinns.co.uk or call us on -17687 73331 - we take all comments very... More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I stopped for lunch on a Saturday afternoon. The staff while friendly was slow and the food wasn't worth it. Ordered a hot ham and cheese panini with red onion relish. Not knowing if anything came with it or not as the menu didn't state. A little piece of lettuce and a slice of tomato comes with... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Lissa T
Alicja Z, Manager at Traveller's Rest, responded to this review

Hello Lissa, Oh no! I'm so sorry to hear you were't happy with your meals, as you can probably see from our reviews, it doesn't happen often and we take all feedback very seriously. I'm surprised you didn't mention any issues to any of the staff at the time, we would have done everything to make sure this is resolved... More 

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2017 via mobile

Meal out with friends. None of us had visited previously. It was exactly what we wanted. Not extortionate. Great food. Astonishingly efficient and fast service. I will visit again. Think we all would. Menu had 2 courses from 'steak' list for 17.95. Steak Inc salmon steak, pork as well as sirloin etc. Starters Inc soup, ham hock terrine or melon.... More 

Helpful?
Thank EFW_12
Alicja Z, Manager at Traveller's Rest, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this fab review! We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your food, Sticky Toffee Pudding in undeniably the king of all puddings and our steak menu is really great value so I'm glad you all found something you liked on it. Thank you for your kind comments on our team and service, we really appreciate... More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2017

A 5 minute walk from our Grasmere hotel, we walked in without booking and were fortunate to be offered a table straight away. The team are very helpful and within minutes we were served drinks and had ordered food. Both our starters and mains were great, my main was a T bone steak cooked to perfection.

Helpful?
Thank PhilnSal
Alicja Z, Manager at Traveller's Rest, responded to this review

Thank you very much :) It's great to hear you enjoyed delicious food and great service at our Inn! I hope you had a lovely holiday in the Lakes and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. More 

Dursley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2017

Have just returned from having a lovely meal at this excellent pub, Hunters Skillet followed by Stuffed Chicken breast, really delicious.

Helpful?
Thank Thelma C
Alicja Z, Manager at Traveller's Rest, responded to this review

Thank you very much Thelma! Stuffed Chicken breast is one of my personal favourites of our menu and I'm glad to hear you enjoyed it too :) We hope you had a lovely evening and we look forward to seeing you again! More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2017 via mobile

Beautiful pub on the outskirts of Grasmere. All three courses were delicious, great value for money, amazing hosts and great service! Would definitely recommend and would certainly come back!

Helpful?
Thank Sophiemaenaylor
Alicja Z, Manager at Traveller's Rest, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this fabulous review! We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your meals at our Inn so much, thank you for your kind comments on our team, food and atmosphere! We hope you enjoyed the rest of your evening and we look forward to seeing you again :) More 

Travellers who viewed Traveller's Rest also viewed

Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 
Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 

Been to Traveller's Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Free Wifi
Good for
View, Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:45 - 21:30
Monday
11:45 - 21:30
Tuesday
11:45 - 21:30
Wednesday
11:45 - 21:30
Thursday
11:45 - 21:30
Friday
11:45 - 21:30
Saturday
11:45 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: A591 road, Grasmere LA22 9RR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cumbria  >  Lake District  >  Grasmere
  • Phone Number: +44 15394 35604
Description
This is already listed as an Inn/B&B but I want to write a review for the food only, as I just had a meal there.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Traveller's Rest and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
8 months ago
9 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Traveller's Rest staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?