We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Harvester

Computer Centre 154 St. Albans Road | AL1, St Albans AL4 9NH, England
+44 1727 855053
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent15%
  • Very good23%
  • Average16%
  • Poor16%
  • Terrible30%
Travellers talk about
“sundae” (5 reviews)
“gammon steak” (2 reviews)
“mixed grill” (3 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 - 23:00All hours
CUISINES
British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Computer Centre 154 St. Albans Road | AL1, St Albans AL4 9NH, England
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2017

A mixed age group; all of whom found a meal from the menu that they enjoyed. The service was attentive, pleasant and punctual throughout. The children were well-catered for.

Thank Noel and Verena Y
Reviewed 4 May 2017

Went to the plough at smallford stalbans . We were welcomed so warmlyandhad lovely lunch. It is an old country pub with nice garden and patio to sit under. The food was very good and theserviceexcellent. Shall go again.

Thank Joyce K
Reviewed 29 April 2017 via mobile

Decided to go to this harvester as we had been given a free voucher after having a bad experience at the stevenage harvester and was definitely worth the drive. Staff were all friendly, service was good and food was yummy. The refill drinks machine wasn't...More

Thank Charwii
Reviewed 25 April 2017

After visiting the Ancient Briton for a family meal on Saturday 22nd April, I feel I must make some observations, firstly we were waiting for what seemed an age before being shown to our seats, it wasn't that busy, the staff were friendly and helpful...More

Thank Jackie T
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2017

Jackie T, we regret to hear that you had this experience with us. we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one. I hope that you'll...More

Reviewed 17 April 2017

8 of us visited for a 90th birthday. The staff were really helpful in giving us a table which was easy for older people to access and sit at. Our waiter, Liam, could not do enough for us. He impressed us that he did not...More

Thank Suzina B
Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

We was served by Andrew, his been amazing and made our time extra special and we will deffo return soon

Thank Bartek K
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2017

Bartek K, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. You really made our day today.

Reviewed 30 March 2017

A very surprising pleasant tasty lunch. Having the early bird menu consisting of Grilled chicken and scampi with chips was served hot and with plenty of accompaniments including the famous salad bar. The waiting staff were very polite and helpful . The restaurant was clean...More

Thank Mike D
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2017

Dear Mike D, Thank you very much for your positive review. It means a lot to us that you have taken the time to write your lovely comments. We will look into improving the comments mentioned about the cutlery and hopefully we can turn your...More

Reviewed 28 March 2017 via mobile

Great value. Our deal included a free voucher for Mother's Day Main Meal. They were rushed off their feet but service with some smile We were half an hour late getting to table having booked on line. It gave us the opportunity to drink send...More

Thank oakhart
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2017

Dear Oakheart. thank you for your kind words and yes Mothers day was spectacularly busy for us and I'm glad that although you had a wait for your booked table ,you managed to still enjoy yourself in the bar area. We hope to see you...More

Reviewed 17 March 2017

Oh dear. We wanted a reasonably priced, non Christmassy meal and popped in here. Clearly it was busy, and we had to wait for table for about 20 mins. That was fine, it was in the run up to Christmas. We were overcharged for our...More

Thank ScotlandWeelass
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for leaving us your feedback and all of the points mentioned shall be looked at in more detail. We pride ourselves on taking on board any feedback so that we can make continuous improvements wherever possible. We hope to see again...More

Reviewed 16 March 2017

i had never visited this Harvester before and I must say that I was pleased with the cleanliness and general atmosphere of the place, although there were not many other customers in there at the time. The food, Sea Bass fillet with mash and green...More

Thank mrst148
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2017

Thank you for your kind words on our restaurant and I will feed them back to the team members. Hope to see you again Soon. Kind Regards Kirsty White Assistant Manager

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Anastasias Greek Restaurant
670 reviews
1.18 km away
Paprika
426 reviews
1.17 km away
Bar Meze
720 reviews
1.22 km away
The Meating Room
227 reviews
1.17 km away
Nearby Attractions
St Albans Farmers Market
16 reviews
1.19 km away
Alban Arena
61 reviews
1.38 km away
Champneys St Albans
62 reviews
1.55 km away
Mokoko
65 reviews
1.52 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Chris M
Do you allow dogs in the restaurant
28 August 2016|
Answer
Response from General Manager A | Property representative |
Unfortunately at this time we only allow assistance dogs in the restaurant. However we do have a large garden area where we do allow all dogs.
0
Votes
Chris M
Do they allow dogs in the restaurant
28 August 2016|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from Chris M | Reviewed this property |
Thank you
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 4 - USD 19
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 23:00
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
09:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Computer Centre 154 St. Albans Road | AL1, St Albans AL4 9NH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  St Albans
  • Phone Number: +44 1727 855053
Description
At The Ancient Briton Harvester in St Albans food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing