We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Den

17A West Street, Hereford HR4 0BX, England
+44 1432 268666
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent69%
  • Very good20%
  • Average6%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“guinea fowl” (16 reviews)
“steak” (44 reviews)
“black pudding” (11 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
British, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
17A West Street, Hereford HR4 0BX, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (549)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 548 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Really disappointed. Came in for breakfast with my friend who happens to be vegan. She order mushrooms on toast but half way through the meal discovered lumps of beaf mixed in with the mushrooms. Not sure how this could of happened especially as she specifically...More

Thank Mark H
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a really good meal here. Both had a crab and langoustine starter which was lovely. For main a Hereford beef steak which was really delicious, and a game dish for partner which was also lovely.Very friendly and attentive staff but not in a...More

Thank Kathleen M
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very friendly ambiance.Quality produce,we enjoyed great steaks.Awell balanced wine list of reasonable price.

Thank 657charles
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Looked like a good place for a quiet coffee and we weren't disappointed, lovely and peaceful, music wasn't too loud... nice pitstop. The flat white I had was delicious, and my expectations are always high.

Thank Adam R
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A welcoming restaurant with a great selection of meals. Served with care by friendly staff. It was great to find a proper vegetarian lunch with gravy. The nut loaf kept on giving as stuffing and a parsnip were hidden underneath. Nice vegetables with a delicious...More

Thank JulieLawson7
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great food, loads of choice, good prices, friendly welcoming staff. Good for any type of visit, from solo to groups!

Thank India L
Jade O, Owner at The Den, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your review. We really appreciate it. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I was looking forward to going to the den as haven't been for about 9 months. Very disappointed. Sat at the table for about 20 mins and still no sign of a waitress to ask if I wanted a drink! They were too busy sat...More

1  Thank here4duk
Jade O, Owner at The Den, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi, I'm sorry to hear you had such a disappointing visit. I have passed on your comments to all of the team as this does not reflect the standards we aspire to. We completely understand what you have said here and We are working on...More

Reviewed 11 November 2017

Went in for lunch expecting good things as friend recommended the Den. Not many in but still had a long wait to order. Pricey. Ordered cheese and chutney sandwich on brown with side of chips. Must have a special knife to cut the cheese so...More

1  Thank Silvercycler
Jade O, Owner at The Den, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Please accept out sincerest apology for the standard of food you received on your visit. Our quality of food is what we pride ourselves on so we let ourselves down last week. We are focusing on improving things going forward. I really hope this does...More

Reviewed 11 November 2017

I took friends to The Den for lunch two weeks running. It was fairly quiet but the drink and food was great. Their sourdough open sandwiches are winners and the Meatball Pomodoro is excellent. Their burgers were enjoyed by three of the diners and the...More

1  Thank BoogieBopBruce
Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

My friend and I went here to try it in our lunch break. Apart from us there was one old chap on his own and a table with a couple of girls. The woman who was waiting brought over a menu promptly and came back...More

2  Thank SMC0904
Jade O, Owner at The Den, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

I am so sorry for the dreadful experience you had with us. It was the opening day of our new restaurant so everything was very chaotic. This is not an excuse though and we feel terrible that we painted ourselves in such a poor light....More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
A Rule of Tum Burger Shop
536 reviews
.04 km away
The Bookshop
156 reviews
.06 km away
Lichfield Vaults
226 reviews
.18 km away
Cafe at All Saints
275 reviews
.09 km away
Nearby Attractions
Hereford Cathedral
1,403 reviews
.25 km away
Mappa Mundi & Chained Library Exhibitions
541 reviews
.24 km away
The Black and White House Museum
198 reviews
.27 km away
Hereford Cider Museum
235 reviews
.53 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
alisonHereford
4 November 2017|
Answer
Response from Neil P | Reviewed this property |
lol
0
Votes
John D
13 November 2015|
Answer
Response from Jade O | Property representative |
We are indeed. We are open 10-10 mon-sat and 10-4 sun.
0
Votes
Katfish80
24 September 2015|
Answer
Response from Jade O | Property representative |
Hi there. We're serve it all day from 10am.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 am - 4:00 pm
Monday
10:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
10:00 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
10:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday
10:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday
10:00 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday
10:00 am - 10:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 17A West Street, Hereford HR4 0BX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Herefordshire  >  Hereford
  • Phone Number: +44 1432 268666
  • E-mail
Description
Using the best, locally sourced ingredients, The Den Restaurant serves hearty portions of British continental style food, with lashings of sauce and flavour! All who enter enjoy a bright and bouncing atmosphere, topped with a friendly & welcoming service.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing