We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bishop on the Bridge

1 High Street, Winchester SO23 9JX, England
+44 1962 855111
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent27%
  • Very good46%
  • Average15%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“burger” (43 reviews)
“fish and chips” (24 reviews)
“roast dinner” (14 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1 High Street, Winchester SO23 9JX, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (560)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 544 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

We asked if it was ok for my 3 old to eat here as it was early evening and i was so pleased to see they catered children to such a great level. Colouring for them and a specific menu. All food was incredible and...More

Thank Sophie P
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Came here for a drink and a meal. Had fish and chips. The chips were honestly some of the best that I have ever tasted! The only thing I thought needed improving was the fish. There was too much skin and it made the entire...More

Thank Jack S
Reviewed 1 week ago

We dropped in here after a meeting in Winchester for some lunch. It was a lovely day so we sat out the back and got a table overlooking the river. I think this help make the experience a good one. The food was OK and...More

Thank DoozeUK
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great evening with friends on the spacious rear patio. Plenty of tables available with extra large canopies over half of them, meaning that even a little light drizzle couldn’t dampen the mood. Lovely setting right above the fast flowing river. Even for a Saturday night...More

Thank Richy65
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Alas, the best seats in the house - on the terrace overlooking the river - were taken up by smokers. That said, the fish and chips were delicious - a real piece of fish, not something unidentifiable. Those used to regular fish and chips may...More

1  Thank Ruhu61
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A friend and i stopped for lunch on the terrace midweek. Firstly the food was good, i had the burger and it was excellent.. chips were average All staff members we encountered were friendly and helpfully and the overall service was good. I would have...More

Thank airtrack
Jane D, General Manager at The Bishop on the Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review.... hmmm always a tricky subject when it comes to smokers outside. It is definitely something we will consider following our refurbishment this Autumn.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Popped in for lunch and had fish and chips and a tuna mayo sandwich and 2 glasses of wine for £30 Very poor value small piece of fish with hard over cooked batter and with the skin still on! Where on earth did the so...More

Thank Ianinwinchester
Jane D, General Manager at The Bishop on the Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your experience here with us. However the 230-270gm piece of 'skin on' fish is the Fuller's way and absolutely definitely with 35 years of experience the most preferred. Also crispy is always preferred to soggy. The tuna has spring onion...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Previous experience of the evening menu, which has been good, was the reason the four of us stopped here for a coffee and lunch. Four coffee's took 15mins to make - ran out of milk - and were just above lukewarm when eventually ready. Chose...More

1  Thank smartyplants2018
Jane D, General Manager at The Bishop on the Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Not a great visit by your account, Having investigated we had not ran out of milk, it was simply a trip to the back fridge to get another bottle...we never serve boiling coffee, as fresh coffee should only be served hot, as it scalds the...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stopped her for lunch with friends on a beautifully sunny afternoon. The setting was nice, not far from a busy main road, but once on the sunny terrace next to the river you feel a mile away from the hustle and bustle. Great menu...More

Thank 834md
Jane D, General Manager at The Bishop on the Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We look forward to seeing you, and thank you for your lovely review.

Reviewed 14 May 2018 via mobile

Obviously a very popular pub/restaurant. Always busy when I visit so must be a popular place. Beer good and decor good. To be honest though, perhaps a little too busy for me!

Thank Tim P
Jane D, Front Office Manager at The Bishop on the Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Haha... too be honest... a little too busy for me too....sometimes! When the sun is shining the world goes crazy!!!

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 12 hotels in Winchester
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
1,584 reviews
.28 km away
The Wykeham Arms
988 reviews
.52 km away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2,186 reviews
.56 km away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
716 reviews
.69 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Diya
212 reviews
.08 km away
Palm Pan Asia
660 reviews
.16 km away
Chesil Rectory
1,349 reviews
.06 km away
Chococo
234 reviews
.25 km away
Nearby Attractions
Winchester Cathedral
3,490 reviews
.45 km away
Winchester College
152 reviews
.57 km away
Winchester City Mill
586 reviews
.03 km away
Winchester City Museum
187 reviews
.49 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Vegigal
11 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Nickyhants | Reviewed this property |
Lots in Winchester but not next to pub that I'm aware of.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Groups, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, View, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 10:30 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Saturday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 High Street, Winchester SO23 9JX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Winchester
  • Phone Number: +44 1962 855111
  • E-mail
Description
Perfectly placed to explore beautiful Winchester, The Bishop on the Bridge is elegantly situated on the bank of the River Itchen. Try a craft beer from a seat in our garden and enjoy our freshly prepared seasonal food while dining al fresco in the sunshine.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;