We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pitcher & Piano - Winchester

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
57 Colebrook Street, Winchester SO23 9LH, England
+44 1962 856301
Website
Today
12:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 22:00
Mon - Wed 12:00 - 23:00
Thu - Sat 12:00 - 02:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

261 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 258: English reviews
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My husband & I often go to Winchester but normally don't venture right down to where this amazingly friendly pub is . On this occasion we decided to visit the pub / Resaurant for a couple of drinks maybe some food ! We came across this beautifully charming young lady ( Lauren ) who amazed us with her attitude &... More 

Helpful?
Thank DIANA T
PandPWinchester, Manager at Pitcher & Piano - Winchester, responded to this review

Hello Diana, Thank you for your review, I have passed on your kind words to Lauren and she is hugely appreciative. I am very happy to hear how exceptional she was during your visit as we pride ourselves on our service. I look forward to seeing you soon, Kind Regards, Fiona Anderson Assistant Manager More 

Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2017

We ate on a Saturday late afternoon and the place was packed to the rafters yet the service and food was very good and resonably priced

Helpful?
Thank steve L
PandPWinchester, Manager at Pitcher & Piano - Winchester, responded to this review

Hello Steve, Thank you for the kind words about our service and food, I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us. Looking forward to seeing you soon! Fiona Anderson Assistant Manager More 

Windermere, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2017

Walking into the place looks really promising. But that is where the positive comments stop. We had lunch there and I ordered a chicken wrap. This consisted of a very oily battered coated bit of chicken with a cherry tomato. The pudding which was a cheesecake was inedible, a lump of cream and cream cheese mushed together in a bowl... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nude_jude
PandPWinchester, Manager at Pitcher & Piano - Winchester, responded to this review

Hello Nude_jude, Thank you for your review. It seems that your recent experience with us wasn't up to scratch. I am pleased to hear your complaints were dealt with correctly, however we would love a chance to make this right. Please contact Winchester@pitcherandpiano.com so we are able to discuss this further and hopefully find a resolve. Kind Regards Fiona Anderson... More 

Cullompton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2017 via mobile

Visited on a quiet Thursday evening. Very friendly service, shown to a table and offered a drink. Had a bacon burger that was very good and tasted home made. The staff were very attentive but not overly. Would visit again, liked that they had booths that were quite private

Helpful?
Thank Andrew_howitt
PandPWinchester, Manager at Pitcher & Piano - Winchester, responded to this review

Hello Andrew, Thank you for your review, we appreciate the time you have taken to give your feedback. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your bacon burger, as it was homemade! We pride ourselves on using all fresh ingredients to create our menu. Thank you for your kind words, I look forward to seeing you soon. Kind Regards,... More 

Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2017

The waitress was having a bad day! A smile would not have gone amiss. The food was variable. Some people loved theirs some people didn't. I would return again if I was with a large group. A lunch of a wrap fries and drink was only £6.50 so worth a visit if you're on a budget.

Helpful?
Thank Amanda H
PandPWinchester, Manager at Pitcher & Piano - Winchester, responded to this review

Hello Amanda, Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the options on our lunch menu, and I think they are really popular with large groups as well. Kind Regards, Fiona Anderson Assistant Manager More 

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

We have just had lunch at the pitcher and piano. It wasn't particularly crowded and we found a table for 4 adults and 4 children. It was still covered in glasses which we assumed would be cleared eventually; they werent. After a long wait we were asked if we wanted a drink. After ordering to a v disinterested waitress she... More 

Helpful?
Thank 555gilbert2015
PandPWinchester, Manager at Pitcher & Piano - Winchester, responded to this review

Hi 555gilbert2015. Hope all is well. After reading your review, I would personally like to look into your experience further as this does not sound like the service we offer. If you could contact me I would very much appreciate it. Our email address is: winchester@pitcherandpiano.com Kind regards, Mathew Wright (General Manager) More 

London
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2016

I really enjoyed our meal here. The food was good and freshly prepared. The menu was varied and interesting, with a good choice of beers,wines and cocktails. Service was first class.

Helpful?
1 Thank Don M
PandPWinchester, Manager at Pitcher & Piano - Winchester, responded to this review

Hi Megamoha, Hope all is well. Thank you for you kind words about our venue. We really appreciate feedback and enjoy hearing that we hit the spot. We look forward to seeing you next time. Kind regards, Mathew Wright (General Manager) More 

Farnborough
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2016 via mobile

A warm and welcoming pub from the outside, we decided to give the Pitcher and Piano a go. We were given a nice table by the window, which wasn't cramped either, and ordered our drinks. The waitress took ten minutes to get our drinks. We then ordered our food and waited for it, a steak and chips, a jerk chicken... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Pravin S
Berkshire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2016

We arrived for lunch with baby in tow. Staff friendly. The restaurant was quiet so we ordered drinks and food quite quickly. The drinks were slow to arrive and the food seemed to take forever. nearly 45 minutes when they were half empty. We needed the baby change which was in the disable toilet. unfortunately a further wait ensued because... More 

Helpful?
Thank UKlady56uk
PandPWinchester, Manager at Pitcher & Piano - Winchester, responded to this review

Hi UKlady56uk Hope all is well. Thank you for you review of our establishment. Although you didn't have the best of experiences with us, we do appreciate all feedback. Regarding the waiting time, we do serve fresh food from our kitchen which of course would add time onto orders. However, if you were not informed of this waiting time then... More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2016

Table with insufficient elbow room laid out on the 'runway' to the toilets, next to the over populated bar area which meant nobody could hear a word anyone said! Much grumbling by one waitress, whilst the other waitress tried to be helpful and an extra table was supplied. Admittedly some of our group were late, but the standard of food... More 

Helpful?
Thank Angie814
PandPWinchester, Manager at Pitcher & Piano - Winchester, responded to this review

Hi Angie, Hope all is well. Thank you for your recent review. After reading your review, it has left me extremely disappointed. To hear that you were not asked how you would like your steaks cooked is baffling to me. I sincerely apologise for this. Regarding the booking as a whole, it seems that we were well below par and... More 

Travellers who viewed Pitcher & Piano - Winchester also viewed

Winchester, Hampshire
 
Winchester, Hampshire
 
Winchester, Hampshire
Winchester, Hampshire
 

Been to Pitcher & Piano - Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
USD 6 - USD 25
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Highchairs Available
Good for
Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:00
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 02:00
Friday
12:00 - 02:00
Saturday
12:00 - 02:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 57 Colebrook Street, Winchester SO23 9LH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Winchester
  • Phone Number: +44 1962 856301
Description
Our beautiful Grade II listed building is home to the best food, drink , music and staff that Winchester has to offer! Come and check us out for a nice quiet evening beverage, a spot of lunch or a fun-filled weekend night...

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Pitcher & Piano - Winchester staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?