We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Horse & Jockey

Botley Road | Curbridge, Southampton SO30 2HB, England
+44 1489 796654
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent44%
  • Very good28%
  • Average7%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“sunday roast” (18 reviews)
“pie” (9 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
DETAILS
Botley Road | Curbridge, Southampton SO30 2HB, England
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stopped as I had time to kill and had a lovely meal, food was great. Service excellent. Good old fashioned pub! Eat by the river and enjoy the English countryside.

Thank Nicola T
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just had lunch here today after a walk in the countryside. The blue cheese burger was well presented and absolutely melt in the mouth delicious. The fish and chips that my wife had was a generous portion which also went down very well. This was...More

Thank Ian O
Wendy T, Owner at The Horse & Jockey, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you to the Horse and Jockey again soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Having eaten here on several occasions in the past we were extremely disappointed when we ate here last week. The menu was very plain. There were no specials and when the food arrived, the presentation was non-existent. To top it off one of us requested...More

Thank mail245
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a lovely walk along the river hamble , and popped into the Horse & Jockey ,made very welcome by staff, very pleasant and helpfull . Had a good roast dinner plenty of meat and vegetables ,well cooked , Would eat there again and recommend...More

Thank Linda S
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I stopped in here today with my daughter and our dog after a walk in the woods. Sadly it was absolutely awful, sausage and mash with veg for my daughter and chilli for me. Honestly it was the worst food I have had in a...More

Thank hannahmj32
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This has to be the worse pub food in a very, very long time. My family and I walked through the bluebell woods and thought it would be nice to finish with lunch at the pub alongside. How wrong we were! I ordered a jacket...More

Thank Samantha W
Wendy T, Owner at The Horse & Jockey, responded to this review

I'm sorry that you feel this way. All of our food is freshly cooked, we do not serve "re heated muck'. It is a shame that you did not speak to someone while you were here, so that any problem could be addressed on the...More

Reviewed 16 April 2017

Just had a delicious Sunday roast. Brilliant service and friendly staff. They have a gluten free menu which was lovely to see. The food is not the cheapest in the area but the quality and size portions cannot be beaten. Will definitely be returning. Thoroughly...More

Thank Christine J
Reviewed 11 April 2017

This is the first time I have felt obliged to write a poor review. We booked lunch for four at the Horse & Jockey two days ago. It was a very warm Sunday so the pub was busy which may account for the very slow...More

2  Thank S G
Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

Lovely, welcoming environment in a lovely location. Quiet but clearly popular. Service was efficient and with a smile. Gentleman serving ensured we had everything we liked. Great range in the menu and food was delicious! Presented beautifully too. 10% off next visit within 28 days....More

Thank SouthWestFoodie7
Reviewed 10 April 2017

Just went here today with my partner and two friends. They all opted for a Cheddar or ham ploughman's which consisted of some sweaty cheese, limp salad leaves, some red cabbage slaw, a tiny pot of chutney, half an apple and two small cherry tomatoes...More

Thank sare1
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Jewels
437 reviews
1.13 km away
Master Builder
130 reviews
.86 km away
West End Brewery
53 reviews
1.05 km away
Southampton Arms
74 reviews
1.24 km away
Nearby Attractions
Go Ape Southampton
67 reviews
.41 km away
Itchen Valley Country Park
118 reviews
.33 km away
SS Shieldhall
117 reviews
1.52 km away
The Master Builder
20 reviews
.86 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Sandra C
Is it best to book a table for two or can you just turn up on a Saturday evening?
15 May 2016|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from Bevster73 | Reviewed this property |
Give them a ring, they're really friendly!
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi
Good for
View, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 22:30
Monday
08:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 23:00
Thursday
08:00 - 23:00
Friday
08:00 - 23:00
Saturday
08:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Botley Road | Curbridge, Southampton SO30 2HB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Southampton
  • Phone Number: +44 1489 796654
  • E-mail