We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Talbot

) #13 of 26 Restaurants in Stow-on-the-Wold $$ - $$$ , British,
The Square | Stow-on-the-Wold, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1BQ, England
+44 1451 870934
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent55%
  • Very good28%
  • Average6%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (20 reviews)
“kedgeree” (4 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
The Square | Stow-on-the-Wold, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1BQ, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago

Set in the centre of town the Talbot seems to be a popular place to eat. I find it difficult to understand why as the fishcakes were dry, tasteless and overpriced. Will not visit againMore

Thank gjpeg
Martin C, Landlord at The Talbot, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for your review. As you have used this forum for comment we can assume that you have read the previous posts and are aware that our food is normally of high quality so it is a shame that you are not intending to...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

They were very busy (it was a festival day), but we all had excellent food and service. The baked potatoes with ham and brie were some of the best I have ever had.

Thank Tom B
Martin C, Landlord at The Talbot, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your kind words. Agree the baked potatoes are delicious. My current favourite being the cheese and beans. Cheers

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Everything about this pub is outstanding. There is a great menu which is served with efficiency and style. All of the beers are served perfectly and are delicious in taste. Cate and Martin are brilliant hosts and make The Talbot an ideal place to spend...More

Thank SingaSomers
Martin C, Landlord at The Talbot, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much for these kind words. Much appreciated. The quiz nights are proving to be very popular and a lot of fun. Glad you enjoyed your time with us. Hurry back soon. Cheers.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We recently attended after looking at plenty of pub menus in the square but settled on here as it was a sunny day and they had large windows opened on the front and plenty of space. It is decorated lovely inside and we were welcomed...More

Thank HenL87
Martin C, Landlord. at The Talbot, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you. We appreciate your kind words and future recommendations. Do come back soon. Cheers.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went last month for a 3 course meal with friends, the food was all lovely, the staff were great - Was surprised at the speed in which the food came out - But tasted fresh.

Thank Lucy M
Martin C, Landlord at The Talbot, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Pleased you enjoyed your visit. We pride ourselves on our home-cooked food. Glad you had a great time. See you back again soon?

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was a good find for lunch. Small and friendly and good food. We had a window seat so could watch the world passing by.

Thank FatCat60
Martin C, Landlord at The Talbot, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review. The window seats are very popular. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Cheers

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

... The food was delivered fast and was very tasty. The service was brilliant - we were made to feel very welcome and they loved our 9 month old son. The decor inside is standard old style pub but it was the service staff that...More

Thank Gilesheaton
Martin C, Landlord at The Talbot, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

As the old saying goes; 'Never judge a book by its cover'. So glad you enjoyed your time with us and appreciated our great food and service. Hurry back soon. Cheers.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very typical kind of pub, seemed quite small in side but we were able to stop by for dinner on a Friday night without booking. Food very good at good prices and were served quickly.

Thank Jessica L
Martin C, Landlord at The Talbot, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind words. Glad you enjoyed your time with us. Cheers.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Loved the Pub Food, atmosphere and waitressing! A very enjoyable evening and very good value! Recommend a meal here anytime!

Thank Di L
Martin C, Landlord at The Talbot, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Short and sweet. Straight to the point and very much appreciated. Thanks for your kind words. Cheers.

Reviewed 15 June 2017

Arrived with my wife just after 11 o'clock in the morning and lingered for several hours supping several pints of Wadsworth's ale and thoroughly enjoying hot beef and pork sandwiches with chips! A great cheerful welcome as soon as we walked through the door and...More

Thank Donovan W
Martin C, Landlord at The Talbot, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review. We appreciate your kind words. Glad you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Cheers.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Hive
94 reviews
.15 km away
The Old Bakery Tearoom
543 reviews
.14 km away
Lucy's Tearoom
596 reviews
.10 km away
New England Coffee House
303 reviews
.07 km away
Nearby Attractions
St. Edward's Church
158 reviews
.07 km away
Stow Visitor Information Centre
11 reviews
.07 km away
The Borzoi Bookshop
11 reviews
.02 km away
Peter Martin Gallery
6 reviews
.09 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
garbeb
8 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Martin C | Property representative |
Hello there, we do smaller sizes of most of our meals, for children or those with smaller appetites. Sunday roasts included. Cheers.
0
Votes
Katday2007
13 February 2015|
Answer
Response from SteveBBBB |
Apologies for slow response, as new landlords it had taken us a little time to get the website, wifi and phone lines sorted. The phone is now operational and we have managed to retain the previous number which had been... More
0
Votes
Katday2007
12 February 2015|
Answer
Response from SteveBBBB |
See the reply to your most recent question. The previous landlord had disconnected all the phone and Internet lines so we have had to start from scratch to get our communications online.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 7 - USD 16
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Television
Good for
Groups, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 18:00
Monday
11:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Square | Stow-on-the-Wold, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1BQ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cotswolds  >  Stow-on-the-Wold
  • Phone Number: +44 1451 870934
  • E-mail
Description
Newly refurbished and taken back to a beer & cider old-style pub serving traditional British food in a relaxed atmosphere.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing