We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Greedy Goose

Salford Hill | The Cotswolds, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0SP, England
+44 1608 646551
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good25%
  • Average8%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“pizza” (59 reviews)
“beef” (29 reviews)
“fish and chips” (27 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, International, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Salford Hill | The Cotswolds, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0SP, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (522)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 518 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Found this pub/restaurant whilst searching Google Maps for a place to lunch after a walk around Adlestrop. A lovely welcome, friendly service and a great menu, nicely presented food that tasted brilliant. Six very satisfied customers on Saturday - thank you.

Thank Starnurse2
Samantha R, Owner at The Greedy Goose, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Many thanks for letting us know how much you enjoyed your meal with us. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Enjoyed our 2 course dinner Myself and my wife enjoyed the Christmas roast from the new menu on Saturday night the only thing that let it down was the Brussels they were like cutting and eating golf balls as they were rock hard

Thank MrBlackshaw
Samantha R, Owner at The Greedy Goose, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for for using Trip Advisor and for letting us know you enjoyed a festive meal with us. We will pass on your Brussels alert to the kitchen team. Many thanks.

Reviewed 1 week ago

The GG's Cotswold Burger used to be the best ever but last nights was just terrible. Instead of the usual delicious beef it was just a disc of what looked and tasted like cheap sausage meat. The fish and chips was a child size portion...More

1  Thank David M
Samantha R, Owner at The Greedy Goose, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I am so sorry your recent meal was a disappointment. Thank you for alerting us. We will discuss your feedback with our Kitchen Team to find out exactly why you were not offered our usual, high quality dishes.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just home from a lovely lunch at The Greedy Goose. Felt at home and very well looked after. We were a big party with lots of kids. Food was lovely. Thank you.

Thank jeanemiller
Samantha R, Owner at The Greedy Goose, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Many thanks for using Trip Advisor to let us know you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely fab Sunday lunch, great service and a lovely atmosphere, with wood burner to warm things up, definitely will be returning.

Thank Leigh G
Samantha R, Owner at The Greedy Goose, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are really pleased to know you plan to come back to eat with us. Thank you for using Trip Advisor.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It was trip advisers reviews that led us to call in for lunch midweek. Perhaps it was because we were early doors that caught the staff unawares.Our appetisers, olives etc are not rocket science to serve, but the attempt to breath life into bread,clearly by...More

Thank Bob M
Samantha R, Owner at The Greedy Goose, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for coming to see us. We hope you will be reassured to know that we do not re-heat food using a microwave and bake fresh bread every day. Your bread was still warm from the oven. We also try to offer as quick...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Upmarket pub food, good quality and reasonably priced compared to some in Moreton. All the food was enjoyable particularly the lamb tagine and the venison steak. The wine list was small but very reasonably priced. The red we had was good for £16 in a...More

Thank Malc N
Samantha R, Owner at The Greedy Goose, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for coming to see us and for taking the time to write a review. We are grateful for your feedback and hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went here for Sunday lunch last weekend. Nine girls on a relaxing weekend break and we always have a Sunday lunch out wherever we are. This was our first time in this area and I have to say this is by far the best...More

Thank Belinda L
Samantha R, Owner at The Greedy Goose, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are so pleased you enjoyed your special gathering here at The Greedy Goose. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Reviewed 1 November 2017 via mobile

A quiet lunchtime visit, but a warm friendly welcome. We decided to try the lamb and pork burgers and both were superb, and the chips absolutely tremendous. I think sometimes it can be harder to keep up standards when it is very quiet but that...More

Thank mtbhll
Samantha R, Owner at The Greedy Goose, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Many thanks for dropping by to see us and for taking the time to write a review. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

Simply the best roast beef dinner we’ve ever had. The staff were fantastic and made us all very welcome. Will definitely make the 2 hour trip again. Thanks for having us. See you again. The Millgate’s

Thank chairyhest
Samantha R, Owner at The Greedy Goose, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Our team will be so pleased you enjoyed your time with us. Many thanks for taking the time to write a review and we hope to see you again.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Red Lion Inn
211 reviews
1.83 km away
The Red Lion
383 reviews
3.97 km away
Daylesford Organic Farm Cafe
549 reviews
3.99 km away
Wild Thyme Restaurant and Rooms
502 reviews
4.61 km away
Nearby Attractions
Rollright Stones
253 reviews
3.25 km away
The Cookery School at Daylesford
25 reviews
3.88 km away
St Nicholas Church
26 reviews
4.89 km away
The King’s Head Inn
6 reviews
6.70 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
amy1333
13 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Samantha R | Property representative |
Dogs are very welcome guests in The Greedy Goose's bar and snug (but not in the main restaurant).
1
Vote
28 October 2016|
Answer
Response from chefmarek | Property representative |
Hi, that shouldn't be a problem, could you call Matt on 01608 646551
0
Votes
Hoolab
31 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from mintyWarwickshire | Reviewed this property |
Sorry Hoolab, I am not the owner only a satisfied customer!! I only noticed in the menu that they offered to discuss their menu incase of any allergies - but didn't notice an actual 'gluten free' section. Check out their... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Private Dining, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Salford Hill | The Cotswolds, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0SP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cotswolds  >  Moreton-in-Marsh
  • Phone Number: +44 1608 646551
  • E-mail
Description
The Greedy Goose is a perfect retreat for anyone wanting to enjoy good quality food and drink. You can expect a very warm welcome whether you are meeting family, friends or need a unique venue in which to host an event. Inside this pretty Cotswold pub, you will find a space to suit every social occasion from cosy corners, a private dining room and a stylish restaurant. Good food is available for lunch and dinner and parties, celebrations and receptions can be catered for. There is a delicious selection of beers and wines to choose from and a lovely walled garden in which to enjoy a drink outside. If you love nights under the stars, the 25-pitch campsite and four custom-made cabins make The Greedy Goose an ideal base from which to tour the beautiful Cotswolds.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing