We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Greedy Goose

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Salford Hill, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0SP, England
+44 1608 646551
Website
Today
12:00 - 21:00
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 21:00
Mon - Sat 12:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

410 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 406: English reviews
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We picked the Greedy Goose for it's location and because there aren't all that many choices for Sunday evening meals, but we would go back any time we were so impressed with the food and the service. We were a party of ten, celebrating my daughter's birthday. We couldn't fault the friendly and attentive service and the food was great... More 

Helpful?
Thank Becky J
Samantha R, Owner at The Greedy Goose, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to celebrate your daughter's birthday here at The Greedy Goose. We are so pleased to know you were all happy with your special meal. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visit the Greedy Goose when we meet up with our friends from the North! Today we had a lovely lunch,I had the roast pork (encouraged that they serve free range pork)!and it was delicious. My Husband ravished the cottage pie..The homemade sticky toffee pudding didn't disappoint..lovely staff,good service and overall a lovely place to spend time..

Helpful?
Thank Mark G
Samantha R, Owner at The Greedy Goose, responded to this review

It is so good to know your catch up with friends went well. Thank you for using Trip Advisor and we hope to see you again soon. More 

Evesham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

My family and I visited the goose on Monday night. We had a selection of the sharing platters to start with and were very impressed. The burger I had for my main was the best burger I've ever had. My family were all equally happy with their food. The American waitress was very friendly and welcoming. We were seated in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sarah_Ptr1968
Samantha R, Owner at The Greedy Goose, responded to this review

It's lovely to know you plan to return to the Greedy Goose. Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. More 

Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited here very much as a sudden decision- we had gone to a dog friendly pub in Broadway that we had booked on the same evening however when we arrived this pub hadn't sorted us a table and had nowhere for the dog- so I rang the Greedy Goose after a quick google and it turned out it must... More 

Helpful?
Thank DHM999
Samantha R, Owner at The Greedy Goose, responded to this review

Many thanks for letting us know you enjoyed your meal at The Greedy Goose. Thank you for using Trip Advisor. More 

Bourne End, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff at the Greedy Goose were so welcoming and helpful and really made us feel at home. The bar area was cosy with the open fire on, and the food was delivered quickly and was delicious. I can honestly say that any burger and chips I have now will be compared to the ones we had there - the... More 

Helpful?
Thank LShippo
Samantha R, Owner at The Greedy Goose, responded to this review

Many thanks for your feedback. Our hard-working team will be really pleased to know how much you enjoyed your visit. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The nicest people ever! Great food! We were stranded in the area with no fuel what so ever! Proper panicing and anxious about getting home late at night... greeted us with some great food. We were 150 miles LOST from home and Matty (the owner) took us to the nearest fuel station and even paid some money towards the petrol!!... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Eddie L
Samantha R, Owner at The Greedy Goose, responded to this review

We were so pleased to be able to help. We hope you are able to visit us again. More 

Long Itchington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2016

Great food, good beer, great service. We decided on a last minute night away here, as they had a campsite next to the pub, so we could stop over after a day out walking in the Cotswolds. What a great find it was, we parked up and headed out from the pub for a lovely 2 hour walk, enjoying fantastic... More 

Helpful?
Thank howarthtw
Samantha R, Owner at The Greedy Goose, responded to this review

What a lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and very much hope you are able to return in the future. More 

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2016

Waiter service and food were very good Atmosphere was nice and relaxing. We can recommend the battered fish with chips and the sausage with mash.

Helpful?
Thank gourmet961
Samantha R, Owner at The Greedy Goose, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review and for letting us know you enjoyed your special meal. We hope to see you again. More 

Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

Shame, I have reviewed this place before and it was great so not sure if this is an off day?. My husband and I frequently travel to this pub every couple of months (about a 40 mile round trip). Cheese, onion and tomato sandwich- this appeared to be cheese mixed with spring onions and mayonnaise a couple of reasonably thick... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jo_Peck12
Samantha R, Owner at The Greedy Goose, responded to this review

I am so sorry the sandwich we served you was not to your taste. Thank you for alerting us. More 

Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2016

We were passing the Greedy Goose in an attempt to avoid traffic when we decided to stop for lunch. I liked the decor, the service was friendly and the food was very good. I was torn between dished and the waiter assured me to go for the burger which I did and was not disappointed. The menu is not huge... More 

Helpful?
Thank walts82

Travellers who viewed The Greedy Goose also viewed

Bourton-on-the-Hill, Moreton-in-Marsh
Moreton-in-Marsh, Cotswolds
 
Longborough, Moreton-in-Marsh
Little Compton, Moreton-in-Marsh
 

Been to The Greedy Goose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, International, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Private Dining
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Cheap Eats
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 21:00
Monday
12:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 22:00
Saturday
12:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Salford Hill, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0SP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cotswolds  >  Moreton-in-Marsh
  • Phone Number: +44 1608 646551

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Greedy Goose and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question
Crewe, England, United Kingdom
3 months ago
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Greedy Goose staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?