We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Spice Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Indian, Asian, Thai, Balti, Halal
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Montpellier Drive, Cheltenham, England
+44 1242 226300
Website
Today
12:30 - 14:00
17:30 - 23:00
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:30 - 14:00
17:30 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

491 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 487: English reviews
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

A cracking evening at a brilliant venue. The best chicken tikka dansak I have eaten!! Everyone had a brilliant time.

Helpful?
Thank derek7755
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Wonderful high classy restaurant with 5 star service. Food was incredible, although I am not a spice fan, I couldn't eat the starter soup way too spicy, but everything else was perfect and friendly service for the work due.

Helpful?
Thank jgfinchy
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

I ate here with my family of teenage boys today at lunchtime. The Spice Lodge does a different menu for Sunday lunchtime, more traditional curries in comparison to their evening menu like dansak, bhuna, dopiaza etc. A few Thai dishes, red and green curry, etc. It's not a traditional buffet, as you order from the menu and they serve up... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ellen J
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Waited over an hour for our food. This other table got seated after and had the bill before we even had our food. Waiter was very pushy for drink or food sales at any opportunity. Others enjoyed food but my balti was very poor. Good atmosphere though.

Helpful?
Thank Jamie B
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were a party of 10 for an impromptu meal. Even though it was the November race meet we were accommodated upstairs at a great circular table. Mohamed welcomed us with huge warmth, and helped me to find the least spicy dish in the menu. Pathetic I know but I am unable to tolerate hot food, the only one out... More 

Helpful?
Thank Christina H
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Spice lodge is set in a nice former Georgian style mansion with nice decor. The service is very good and there are plenty of options to choose from the Indian or Thai menu. The food is quite good, I wouldn't say outstanding for a British Indian restaurant but possibly one of the better Indians in the area. Also a little... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bhups1980
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We went for the Sunday buffet where you order dishes, and when you have finished you can order more but they wait between orders was 45 minutes +. No apology from the waiters and the food was below average curries, the spicy dishes lacked flavour and it was oily.

Helpful?
Thank Gemma L
spicelodge11, General Manager at The Spice Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Gemma. We were most concerned to read about your buffet experience with us. I can only apologise that the meal was not up to your expectation and took too long to arrive between dishes. Even with our Sunday buffet all meals are cooked fresh upon order by our experienced Indian/Thai chefs. We were very busy that day and would... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had an excellent meal. Both Indian and Thai. Pleasant ambience. Busy on a Thursday night. Excellent but discreet service.

Helpful?
Thank Ian J
United States
Level Contributor
161 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I visited as part of a large party, almost two dozen, and we ate in a private upstairs room. The whole experience was positive. The food was excellent. For us, we had a selection of dishes that just kept coming until literally no one would eat more. I especially liked the lamb curry, but it was all good. We then... More 

Helpful?
Thank Deborah F
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Something fishy going on here with this restaurant, no idea how they achieved the TripAdvisor rating or nominations for the Curry Awards - Friends booked this restaurant and I joined them. A brusque maitre D' ushered us from our pre-dinner drinks at the bar to our table. The menu is split into Indian and Thai dishes. I ordered thai fishcakes... More 

Helpful?
Thank CotswoldGourmet A
spicelodge11, General Manager at The Spice Lodge, responded to this review

Dear CotswoldGourmet A When someone writes a negative review we investigate to see how we can rectify the problem that arose and give our customers a better dining experience. However, when a review is written that is 9 months after the event we are not able to check and actually cannot validate any of it. We have checked through our... More 

Travellers who viewed The Spice Lodge also viewed

Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Spice Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
USD 19 - USD 32
Cuisine
Indian, Asian, Thai, Balti, Halal
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:30 - 14:00
17:30 - 23:00
Monday
12:30 - 14:00
17:30 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:30 - 14:00
17:30 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:30 - 14:00
17:30 - 23:00
Thursday
12:30 - 14:00
17:30 - 23:00
Friday
12:30 - 14:00
17:30 - 23:00
Saturday
12:30 - 14:00
17:30 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Montpellier Drive, Cheltenham, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cotswolds  >  Cheltenham
  • Phone Number: +44 1242 226300
Description
Located in the former old mansion house on Montpellier Drive, Spice Lodge- Cheltenham's premier Pan Asian restaurant - provides you with a new and exciting taste of Asia. The restaurant is divided into separate areas and dining rooms, each having its own unique style and atmosphere, giving you and your guests as much privacy as you like. We are also able to provide the following services: conferences, wedding receptions, banquets, private parties.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Spice Lodge and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Spice Lodge staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?