We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Lewesiana Florist & Tea Room

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
85 High Street, Lewes BN7 1XN, England
+44 1273 480822
Website
Today
11:00 - 17:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 - 17:00
Mon - Sat 09:00 - 17:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

166 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 158: English reviews
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2016

The shop is attractive and smelled well of fresh flowers. The cafe area was smart and clean, the coffee good but the man serving was too busy talking to the florists to speak much to me.

Helpful?
Thank Chris P
christianhopper, Owner at Lewesiana Florist & Tea Room, responded to this review

Dear Chris Thank you for your valued custom and review. I apologise that the staff were distracted -regrettably, due to the end of my lease and property redevelopment of the building, the Lewes Tea Room will be closing its doors on October 29th 2016 and most staff are being made redundant. Sad times for us all. We appreciate all the... More 

Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2016

We were looking for a light lunch/early tea and came across this place. The menu had the basic tea shop fare plus one or two more interesting choices. My daughter chose a ploughmans which comprised a good selection of cold fare. My wife and I chose a "selection platter" which included a wide range of cold foods such as chesses,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Appleman55
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

No way will I ever be returning, it was Saturday so was busy around 2.30 in the afternoon. We waited as some people were just leaving! I said to a waiter could we sit there and he replied no I've got too many things to do, and wouldn't clear the table for us! Absolutely appalled by the service! Won't even... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank leahloo0818
christianhopper, Owner at Lewesiana Florist & Tea Room, responded to this review

Dear Leah and colleague As is our practice, I always speak with our team on every review, and have investigated this and feel that you have been unfair. You have also not mentioned that you work for a competing Lewes restaurant. I left the business premises around 40 minutes before your visit, and every table was booked and the new... More 

Lewes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2016

We went here on the basis of previous reviews but were disappointed. The cakes were rather dry and very overpriced. The tea was fine. Service was not friendly. I doubt we'll return.

Helpful?
1 Thank b0bby199
christianhopper, Owner at Lewesiana Florist & Tea Room, responded to this review

Dear Bobby Thank you for your visit, and I'm sorry that you didn't experience the Lewesiana level of service and satisfaction we aim for and usually deliver. I'm glad you enjoyed the tea, and sorry you thought the cakes were dry. At this time of year we generally have new staff, and I suspect that having recently started and being... More 

England
Level Contributor
189 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2016

We turned up at 3.20 and were turned away because "we close at 3.30". Well when do you think people have afternoon tea may I ask?

Helpful?
3 Thank Brighton9
christianhopper, Owner at Lewesiana Florist & Tea Room, responded to this review

Dear reviewer I am sorry for your disappointment, but upon checking with our manager who was present and spoke with you, your review appears to be inaccurate and misrepresents us in an unfair negative light. We do usually finish serving earlier on Sundays if not busy, but not before 4pm. On this occasion, you visited at 3.20 and were informed... More 

Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2016

Came here for my birthday afternoon tea. The staff were friendly. I had an afternoon tea, which was delicious and fresh and exceptional good value. I would highly recommend. My daughter had the salmon & spinach quiche which was also very tasty.

Helpful?
2 Thank Linda G
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2016

Convenient location on the High Street and interesting decor. Popped in at breakfast time for coffee. Unfortunately no pastries available; but non the less an interesting experience.

Helpful?
1 Thank ri0jaman1
Surrey
Level Contributor
158 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2016

Located in one of the oldest building in the town and a barber shop in Victorian times, it now shares the premises with a florist. Have a cuppa while you wait for your bouquet to be made up! It offers a good range of light meals, jacket potatoes, sandwiches, quiche and ploughmans. The portions are very generous, and freshly prepared.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank lizanneSurrey
Eastburne
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2016 via mobile

I had been promising my son a return visit to this friendly tea room. Visited today and were not disappointed! Fantastic High Tea, lovely range of sandwiches and cakes and a warm freshly baked scone! Just perfect! Planning a return visit soon.

Helpful?
1 Thank KarenRough
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2016

A great traditional English tea room with home made cakes scones and a long Liston teas all traditionally brewed The tea room also serves as a florist! The cream teas are excellent!

Helpful?
1 Thank paulquill

Travellers who viewed Lewesiana Florist & Tea Room also viewed

 

Been to Lewesiana Florist & Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
USD 6 - USD 18
Cuisine
British, Healthy, Cafe
Meals
Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations
Good for
Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 17:00
Monday
09:00 - 17:30
Tuesday
09:00 - 17:30
Wednesday
09:00 - 17:30
Thursday
09:00 - 17:30
Friday
09:00 - 17:30
Saturday
09:00 - 17:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 85 High Street, Lewes BN7 1XN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Lewes
  • Phone Number: +44 1273 480822
Description
A traditional licensed English Tea Room near Lewes Castle on the High Street set within our fragrant florist boutique, offering elegant setting, friendly service, a dozen varieties of loose leaf tea, Fairtrade Organic coffee, wide variety home-baked cakes and fantastic (customers tell us!)Scones, and Sussex made ice cream as well as delicious local Sussex fayre for platters and healthy/organic/gluten free options. 30 seats(22 back, 8 front) Open 7 days, food served 10am to 4.30, Limited menu after 4pm. Please note wheelchairs can access the tea room but not the toilet facilities due to old building.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Lewesiana Florist & Tea Room staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?