We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
1-3 Brighton Place | The Lanes, Brighton BN1 1HJ, England
+44 1273 775477
Website
Today
11:30 - 23:30
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:30 - 23:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

2,088 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,006: English reviews
Indian Rocks Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
165 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Like the title great food and service as always at Donatello's this visit let down by seating position. On arrival we were seated by a large group with children who were enjoying dinner as much as the adults seemed to be. Once we had ordered and had our wine and starter two of the children became difficult one running around... More 

Helpful?
Thank MartynG_11
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Basically this place is good for groups or couples. Big enough, staff is welcome and kind. However being in many places so far I can't say I would like to come back. Italian dishes should taste better. Unfortunately I have not been satisfied. As for the kitchen I'd like to make a note that mussels should be cleaned better as... More 

Helpful?
Thank Delia_Suvari
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

A lovely Italian restaurant in the lanes, very friendly welcoming staff on arrival. They've not long refurbished it have to say looks very smart. I had a very tasty minestrone soup, followed by a pizza margarita and I opted for the fruit salad for dessert but have also in the past had the apple tart which is tasty would highly... More 

Helpful?
Thank Micky S
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We were a group of 16 hungry lads on a stag do. We booked ahead and the restaurant were really happy to take our booking. I believe they can seat up to 400. Got in at 7 just as the restaurant was getting busy. As we left there was a queue of around 30 waiting to get in. The food... More 

Helpful?
Thank Matthew S
donatello-brighton, Public Relations Manager at Donatello, responded to this review

Wow what a lovely review thank you so much! It was great to see you and we welcome you and your family back any time. We hope the rest of your stag do was fun! More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

The food is always good here. Been lots of times over the years and it is always consistent. It's a busy restaurant so don't expect to get in without a reservation.

Helpful?
Thank warwickst
donatello-brighton, Public Relations Manager at Donatello, responded to this review

Thank you for your review; we are glad you enjoy your experiences each time you come and we hope to see you again soon! More 

South East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

You get what you pay for here, service was polite and prompt and the food was more than decent. They have a good range of alcoholic drinks again at reasonable prices, no complaints here

Helpful?
Thank Lee M
donatello-brighton, Public Relations Manager at Donatello, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review; we are glad you enjoyed your experience and we hope to see you again soon! More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The restaurant was very busy even at 9.30pm but the food was amazing! We had a pizza and fried Calimari and it was so tasty! The price was great also, paid £22 and had a glass of win! The waiters were very friendly and really energetic. Would definitely go back.

Helpful?
Thank Lily P
donatello-brighton, Public Relations Manager at Donatello, responded to this review

Thank you for your review; we are glad you enjoyed your experience and we hope to see you again soon! More 

Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Probably the worst pizza I have ever eaten. The crust was thick and inedible, the filling sparse and the taste bland. To add to problems I had to wait for a spoon to be replaced by a knife. Not that this improved matters much as the knife hardly cut through it. On removing our plates the waitress asked if all... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank _barrose2
donatello-brighton, Public Relations Manager at Donatello, responded to this review

Thank you for your review; we are very sorry you didn’t find your experience with us enjoyable but we will take your comments on board. More 

Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Dined here many times. Always good in all respects. Dined here 22nd April to celebrate my husbands 60th birthday (group of 12 people). Food and service met usual good standards despite my main being a little cool follow a wait of over 10mins for a knife. What did however spoil the dining experience was a nearby table of screechingly loud... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Keith09
donatello-brighton, Public Relations Manager at Donatello, responded to this review

Thank you for your review; we are sorry you didn’t find your experience with us enjoyable this time but absolutely we will take your comments on board. We look forward to seeing you another time. More 

Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

2 course meal for only £10, so reasonable! Been here twice & had great service each time. Hard to choose between pasta or pizza, both lovely! Had a great cocktail too, a few to choose from. Overall a tasty Italian.

Helpful?
Thank elw32
donatello-brighton, Public Relations Manager at Donatello, responded to this review

Thank you for your review; we are glad you enjoyed your experience and we hope to see you again soon! More 

Travellers who viewed Donatello also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Donatello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
USD 11 - USD 22
Cuisine
Italian, Pizza, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 23:30
Monday
11:30 - 23:30
Tuesday
11:30 - 23:30
Wednesday
11:30 - 23:30
Thursday
11:30 - 23:30
Friday
11:30 - 23:30
Saturday
11:30 - 23:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1-3 Brighton Place | The Lanes, Brighton BN1 1HJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Brighton and Hove  >  Brighton
  • Phone Number: +44 1273 775477

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Donatello and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Buckingham

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Donatello staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?