We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Bartholomew Square | Bartholomew Square, Brighton BN1 1JS, England
+44 1273 719195
Website
Today
12:00 - 22:30
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 - 22:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

614 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 595: English reviews
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Really horrible experience. We went there to have dinner a couple of days ago. Poor customer service. We waited for ages to be asked if we wanted any drinks (we actually stopped a waitress who clearly didn't have intention of coming to our table). Different members of staff were giving us different information so it was confusing and annoying. Staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank Odile G
MOSHIMO, Owner at Moshimo, responded to this review

Poxy design? Very funny! Nicky co-owner PS Are you a competitor? It's just that you've opened two profiles (one here and one on Google Reviews) to leave just one review... Hmm.. More 

Kennesaw, Georgia
Level Contributor
631 reviews
382 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This restaurant has a sushi belt with small plates sushi, salads, noodles, desserts priced per plate. I ordered a Chirashi off menu with rice topped with salmon, tuna, red snapper, octopus, squid, shrimp, tamago egg. Average quality. I ordered s bento box with 3 items: chicken teriyaki, pork ribs, and cod cheek tempura (appeared some pieces were just cod body).... More 

Helpful?
Thank Thomas V
MOSHIMO, Owner at Moshimo, responded to this review

Thomas, I can assure you that the cod cheek tempura is made from fresh cod cheeks. Looking forward to seeing you here again soon, Nicky co-owner More 

Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

The food at Moshimo was delicious as ever! I find it a little overpriced but so is most sushi. Be very careful with what you pick off the conveyor! The building is lovely and ideally located and the atmosphere is overall good. However, if you are wanting to order something off the menu rather than pick a sushi plate, it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Becca R
MOSHIMO, Owner at Moshimo, responded to this review

Oh, Becca! Did you know that one of the two owners of MOSHIMO sits on the boards of various LGBT charities - and we hosted an evening for the Allsorts LGBT charity which became their most successful fundraising event ever? We often get very busy and so have to reserve the larger tables for groups of four or more. On... More 

Lewes, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

I have visited Moshimo four or five times a year since the days it was called Moshi Moshi, for vastly different occasions and with vastly different groups of people. I have quickly popped in for a few kozara for lunch, and I've had huge platters of freshly cooked food for large groups of people and I have never been disappointed.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ckhrt
MOSHIMO, Owner at Moshimo, responded to this review

What a lovely review, thank you! As far as I know, we're the only Japanese restaurant serving Loch Duart salmon, which is by far the most sustainable salmon on the market. It costs much, much more than the salmon used by our competitors here in Brighton, but it's worth it - both in terms of taste but perhaps more importantly... More 

Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

After a very unsuccessful visit last month I decided to visit again. I used to be a regular prior to living overseas for a year. However, it was a shame to see that things continue to be relatively poor. The restaurant isn't clean, the staff don't appear to know what is on the menu, the food is very fresh still.... More 

Helpful?
Thank KarlHedges
MOSHIMO, Owner at Moshimo, responded to this review

Hi Karl, we'll take your comments on board, thank you. All the best, Nicky co-owner More 

1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

If you have hours to wait to be served then it's a good place - fresh fish, classic range of dishes. Otherwise try something else.

Helpful?
Thank Galina S
MOSHIMO, Owner at Moshimo, responded to this review

Galina - MOSHIMO is a conveyor belt restaurant, which means that you can start eating as soon as you sit down....was it the drinks you had to wait too long for? I'd like to think that you'd give us another go. All the best, Nicky co-owner More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2017

We had our first dinner here yesterday and it was definitely a good experience! Firstly, the staff working there was very nice and friendly, also the overall atmosphere very cosy. However, what's the most important - our meal. It was a delicious food from fresh and well-prepared ingredients. Only downside the noise and the slow service but it was really... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael D
MOSHIMO, Owner at Moshimo, responded to this review

Thank you, Michael, for the nice review. All the best, Nicky co-owner More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2017

The environment is enjoyable... The food however proved average at best but otherwise disappointing. The chicken from the order only menus was poor but the conveyor sushi made up for this, however keep an eye out for when dishes are placed on the conveyor and grab them while fresh... Some truly did the rounds.... Service was also a letdown, as... More 

Helpful?
Thank My_Frank_Reviews
MOSHIMO, Owner at Moshimo, responded to this review

Thank you, Frank, for your frank review. Much appreciated. Please give us another go soon, Best Nicky co-owner More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

I visited this place twice on a three-day trip to Brighton. It was super impressive that an independent could feel so professionally run. I really liked the conveyor belt food, with fresh and tasty dishes (although a relatively limited selection on the conveyor belt). There was a menu for things we could order aside from the food coming round on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Taz R
Hitchin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2017

This is an unpretentious and accessible way to enjoy Japanese food. Sensible prices for dishes and drinks add to the enjoyment. A clever use of discount loyalty cards keeps the place busy on a Monday and Tuesday nights, so we have only ever been here when it is busy. This is at least the fourth time we have dined here... More 

Helpful?
Thank Peter T
MOSHIMO, Owner at Moshimo, responded to this review

Nice. Thank you. Nicky co-owner More 

Travellers who viewed Moshimo also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Moshimo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 15 - USD 32
Cuisine
Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Delivery, Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 22:30
Tuesday
12:00 - 22:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 22:30
Thursday
12:00 - 22:30
Friday
12:00 - 22:30
Saturday
12:00 - 22:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Bartholomew Square | Bartholomew Square, Brighton BN1 1JS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Brighton and Hove  >  Brighton
  • Phone Number: +44 1273 719195
Description
Moshimo is one of Brighton's most popular restaurants, with a fiercely loyal customer base: 35% of its customers dine at the restaurant at least once a week. They visit regularly because they know the staff, and know how good the food is.The restaurant's 50% MOSHIMO MONDAYS & TUESDAYS, where members receive 50% off their food, is a sell-out. Check the restaurant out in the summer, when the entire front of the restaurant dramatically slides open like a shoji screen.Moshimo is behind FISHLOVE, the global photographic campaign to end over-fishing, has received a PETA award for its promotion of restorative eating, and its homemade teriyaki sauce is a sensation.......but don't it from us - go to our Facebook page to see what our regulars have to say.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Moshimo staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?