We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar

199 Kings Road Arches | The Fishing Quarter Brighton Beach, Brighton BN1 1NB, England
+44 1273 958242
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent77%
  • Very good18%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“shellfish” (49 reviews)
“cockles” (34 reviews)
“fresh seafood” (25 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Fast food, British, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
199 Kings Road Arches | The Fishing Quarter Brighton Beach, Brighton BN1 1NB, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

Four of us stopped off here on our way back to our hotel...we all had half a dozen oysters each...all shucked to order & incredibly fresh...we also had cockles, anchovies & home prepared chilli & coriander prawns...all top notch...and great value...friendly staff too...highly recommend &...More

1  Thank cynic999
BrightonShellfish, Owner at The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Wow, great review. It would seem we have done what we always aim to do . Impress Thanks Cliff

Reviewed 5 September 2017 via mobile

This is the second time we have visited the Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar and now know why we returned. Not only are the seafood pots tasty but top that off with the various vinegars and seafood dressing you are in for a treat. The...More

Thank 700kat
Cliffbrighton, Owner at The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Great review. Thank you very much. We look forward to see you very soon Regards Cliff

Reviewed 3 September 2017

I've consumed a lot of lobster rolls in a lot of places and this was decidedly one of the worst. Burnt on the top of the bun and the bread was totally the wrong consistency for the meagre amount of lobster in there. It was...More

Thank cag2012
Cliffbrighton, Owner at The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Thank for reviewing us. I do find it a shame that didn't take the time to bring your roll back so we could attempt to rectify the problem. It could have saved you having to leave a bad review & leaving us ,we would hope...More

Reviewed 29 August 2017

Great array of cold seafood beautifully displayed and excellent friendly/helpful service with lots of smiles. We tried the lobster, dressed crab, prawns and the two types of oysters available and that sent us straight to seafood heaven! We were told the lobsters are called Brighton...More

Thank skeppy
Cliffbrighton, Owner at The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

WOW, what a great review, thank you very much for taking the time. We appreciate all your praise & comments. Getting to the wet wipes, they are a bit of a damp squid aren't they. What we slipped up on, was you are quite welcome...More

Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

Friendly staff who couldn't have been more helpful. I had a small helping of cockles but what my friend had was truly special - a cacophony of sea food: mussels, king prawns, squid, octopus. The lovely lady even topped it off with more for her!...More

Thank GeeGeeS8
Cliffbrighton, Owner at The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Your review is a little gem indeed. Thank you very much from all of us. Regards Cliff

Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

Enjoy good seafood and oysters with a glass of wine on the beach. Simple as that. A must visit in brighton

Thank Gaidro
Cliffbrighton, Owner at The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit Regards Cliff

Reviewed 14 August 2017

Stopped here a couple of times, during our weekend stay in Brighton, for oysters. The staff are lovely, a real credit, and the Oysters, oh my!! They were delicious. Shucked right there in front of you, fresh and very tasty. At £8.50 for 6 Jersey...More

Thank dollyxdimple
Cliffbrighton, Owner at The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

What a wonderful review. Our girls loved the compliments. Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. Regards Cliff

Reviewed 6 August 2017

Enjoyed seafood rolls(one prawn, one crab) Friendly service, tasty seafood, delicious rolls. Able to sit at table on beach and seagull deterrent works!More

Thank saltdean2017
Cliffbrighton, Owner at The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

We love good news & reviews that verify them. I am so pleased that you liked our new addition to our menu this year. The fresh filled rolls have gone down a storm. So pleased we impressed you & look forward to seeing you again...More

Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

Visited today as my children wanted to try the mixed seafood. I was curious about Oysters and decided to try one. A lovely lady served me and the man who was there advised on choice of vinegar and how to eat it....my first oyster and...More

Thank Sarahsinshine
Cliffbrighton, Owner at The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

I remember you well. Thank you for taking the time to review us. It looks like we have some budding seafood customers on the way. Regards Cliff

Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

Me and my partner came here last year on our visit and had the crab mayo & prawns absolutely loved them! Visited it again this year and thought exactly the same! Best fish stall in Brighton!!

Thank epxox
Cliffbrighton, Owner at The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

We have done it again. Thats great to hear . Please keep visiting Regards Cliff

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Petit Pois Restaurant
118 reviews
.16 km away
Jack and Linda Mills Traditional Fish Smokers
143 reviews
.02 km away
Lucky Beach
588 reviews
.05 km away
Nearby Attractions
Brighton Beach
3,423 reviews
.19 km away
Old Police Cells Museum
81 reviews
.17 km away
Fishing Museum
80 reviews
.03 km away
Mechanical Memories Museum
65 reviews
.06 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
HannahMarie93
17 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Cliffbrighton | Property representative |
We are open usually days a week from 10am until 6ish.We close at the end of October until mid February . Sometimes rain stops play . We will tell you on the front page of our website if this occurs. Regards Cliff
2
Votes
Wid36
7 November 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Cliffbrighton | Property representative |
Thanks for getting in touch.but sorry we are now closed for the winter .we return mid February
1
Vote
MacM874
22 July 2015|
Answer
Response from Cliffbrighton | Property representative |
We have both local and food from far away places.all are from sustainable sources. I hope this helps Regards Cliff
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 8
Meals
Lunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Local cuisine, View, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 am - 9:00 pm
Monday
10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Tuesday
10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Wednesday
10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Thursday
10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Friday
10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Saturday
10:00 am - 9:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 199 Kings Road Arches | The Fishing Quarter Brighton Beach, Brighton BN1 1NB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Brighton and Hove  >  Brighton
  • Phone Number: +44 1273 958242
  • E-mail
Description
It’s nearly that time again. The end of our season, holidays are looming. Please check to see if we are open now on our website. Throughout October we will be open on the weekends only and then we close on the 29th. Until mid February 2018..
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing