We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
11 Black Lion Street, Brighton BN1 1ND, England
+44 1273 915480
Website
Today
12:00 - 22:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 12:00 - 22:00
Fri - Sat 12:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

2,252 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,151: English reviews
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Gimmick meal , poor service . Then 20% service charge automatically added to bill . Give this a miss

Helpful?
Thank Mgtracey
Tadley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

Ate here the night before last with L. We'd booked for 7pm and the restaurant was not particularly busy and the kitchen was a bit slow. However, L and I were in absolutely no rush at all and we were determined to enjoy ourselves. The waiter knew the menu and was able to advise on what to go for. L... More 

Helpful?
Thank DocSleaty
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Visited the restaurant on the evening of the 19th Feb with my husband and daughter. We visit the birmingham restaurant regularly. Our meal was fabulous and staff very attentive. Our waiter couldn't do enough for us. A lovely restaurant with a great atmosphere. We will definitely be back when we visit brighton next. Well done!

Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
Margate
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Visited with colleagues for dinner. The waitress was very attentive in get our order right but the rest of the service was awful. It took 45 minutes to get our drinks to the table and that was after I got up to go to the bar to chase. The resturant was packed but good service should be practiced and dependent... More 

Helpful?
Thank HabourMaster
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

It's amazing how lack of attention to detail and failing on the basics can spoil a meal out. Menu items as basic as nachos and apple juice not available, but we only find this out when trying to order rather than when we were given menus. Waitress more interested in hanging up coats than taking an order. Such a poor... More 

Helpful?
Thank dignity2017
Jamie's Italian R, Manager at Jamie's Italian, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am very sorry about the missing items on the menu and the poor service we gave you. Please email us at brighton@jamiesitalian.com, quoting your user name and date of review and we will get back to you promptly. With kind regards, More 

Brighton
Level Contributor
91 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

When was Jamie Oliver last in Brighton ??? This restaurant is beyond a joke and needs a complete overhaul. It looks dirty and tired and certainly doesn't deliver on taste.... that's if what you order is available anyway! 3 things ordered weren't available and what arrived had to go back as both meals were inedible. Settled for pizza thinking that... More 

Helpful?
Thank North-South-Belle
Jamie's Italian R, Manager at Jamie's Italian, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am sorry about the many things you mention that ruined your experience on your last visit. If you like to further discuss the issues about cleanliness, lack of choice and food quality, please email us direct at brighon@jamiesitalian.com quoting your user name and date of your review and we will get back to you... More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

When I think of Jamie's I think of quality, warm and comforting food for friends and family. On Valentine's day, we visited Jamie's and found a packed restaurant, clearly enjoying good business during very busy service. Considering we pre-booked a table for two, I had half expected a nice little spot, however ended up in a very cramped area that... More 

Helpful?
Thank JackFarquad
Jamie's Italian R, Manager at Jamie's Italian, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a detailed review of your most recent experience with us. It pleases me to hear that you enjoyed the majority of your Valentines meal with us. Unfortunately it seems we didn't quite live up to expectations with the rest of your special evening. To discuss the problems that arouse on your... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We always visit this restaurant when we go to Brighton. It was disappointing, waitress was charming but just too busy. We ended up cancelling our drinks as we hadn't received them half way through our second course. Waitress extremely apologetic, but she was so very busy. Food was nice. Shame 😕

Helpful?
Thank banner1234
Jamie's Italian R, Manager at Jamie's Italian, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us a review. Its nice to hear that you enjoyed your food and your server was charming. However, I must apologise that the rest of your visit was not as smooth. Please do contact us quoting your TripAdvisor name and date of visit, so we can speak with those involved to investigate the issues you raised.... More 

East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had the two course deal, the platter for starter and chicken for main. The platter had hams cheese etc and was delicious and perfect size for a starter. The main was disappointing, it was flattened out chicken over cooked in a tiny amount of almost puréed aubergine. The meal didn't come with any potatoes or side veg and we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca H
Jamie's Italian R, Manager at Jamie's Italian, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable feedback. It's great to hear that you enjoyed our famous antipasti meat plank. I am sorry to hear that your main courses were not up to your expectation, and that you were not offered any side dishes. If you would like to discuss your visit with us further please do contact us quoting both your... More 

Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

The place is cool the staff is cool, food is really good, all in all definately worth eating here if you are in Brighton.

Helpful?
Thank Skiffy73
Brighton B, Manager at Jamie's Italian, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review. Look forward to seeing you again soon in Brighton! Big Love xx More 

Travellers who viewed Jamie's Italian also viewed

Crawley, West Sussex
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Jamie's Italian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
USD 19 - USD 31
Cuisine
Italian, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:00
Monday
12:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 11 Black Lion Street, Brighton BN1 1ND, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Brighton and Hove  >  Brighton
  • Phone Number: +44 1273 915480
Description
JAMIE'S ITALIAN BRIGHTON A partnership between Jamie Oliver and his Italian mentor, chef Gennaro Contaldo, Jamie's Italian has won thousands of fans for its delicious and affordable food since launching their first restaurant in Oxford in May 2008. The Jamie's Italian menu is based on dishes you'd find people eating all over Italy, made with care but delivered without fuss. The family-friendly restaurants are all about serving up rustic, Italian food made using the best possible ingredients, plus fresh pasta that's made on-site every day, and an award-winning children's menu, too. The lovely Brighton restaurant is located on Black Lion Street, a stone's throw from the seafront, nestled within Brighton's famous Lanes. The rooftop terrace is a great spot to enjoy a drink and a bowl of our freshly made pasta or a burger after a trip to the beach, or relax in one of the cosy booths and watch the chefs at work in their beautiful open kitchen. There's something for everyone here, whatever the occasion - a quick bite with friends or a big family dinner - come in and soak up the atmosphere while you tuck into some delicious Italian food.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Jamie's Italian and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Jamie's Italian staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?