We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Alfresco

26 Kings Road Arches | The Milkmaid Pavilion, Brighton BN1 2LN, England
+44 1273 206523
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent55%
  • Very good24%
  • Average9%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“pizza” (124 reviews)
“ravioli” (20 reviews)
“sea bass” (15 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
CUISINES
Italian, Pizza, Mediterranean, European, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
26 Kings Road Arches | The Milkmaid Pavilion, Brighton BN1 2LN, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1,240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 1,205 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

Been eating here on and off in the restaurant and bar for at least 12 years. It’s a great spot and the food and service are usually decent. Today however the service was appalling. It started off with waiting outside until someone came to let...More

Thank wanderer080
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Following a friends recommendation we visited pre marathon, the pizza was on a par with the best one I’ve ever had. Service and atmosphere brilliant, felt like a Mediterranean holiday. The avocado special started was great too. Friendly staff

Thank Dudley G
AlfBrighton, Manager at Alfresco, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for your great review. As a family run restaurant it is great to see and hear!!! Hope to see you soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had dinner here on our first night in Brighton. The location is amazing and the staff were extremely welcoming and attentive. However, the food was distinctly average, which is a shame. My husband was unimpressed with the risotto here as it was not cooked...More

1  Thank Julie M P
AlfBrighton, Manager at Alfresco, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, as a family run business we appreciate feedback from our customers. I am pleased to hear your positive experience with the staff and location. In terms of the risotto, like the majority of restaurants we part cook and then finish...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We held my birthday party here and it was great. My guests loved the food and the venue. The staff were great and very accommodating. Thanks to you all

Thank kimwing55
AlfBrighton, Manager at Alfresco, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, as a family run business we appreciate feedback from our customers. I am pleased to hear your positive experience and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Food average, nothing special, but the location is excellent and very crowded with people wanting to watch sunsets.More

Thank jaybee233
AlfBrighton, Manager at Alfresco, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, as a family run business we appreciate feedback from our customers. I am pleased to hear your positive experience with the staff and location.I am sorry you were disappointed and I have passed on your comments to our chef. We...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

An attractive looking restaurant/bar at an ideal location, unfortunately, completely lacking the service and staff conduct to match the environment. I entered with the intention to have a lazy drink here after walking on Brighton beach. I decided to use the toilet which is right...More

1  Thank ComdtNexus
AlfBrighton, Manager at Alfresco, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, as a family run business we appreciate feedback from our customers. I am sorry you had a poor experience. Unfortunately there are very few lavatories along Brighton seafront, especially at this time of year when the council keep them closed....More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Service: Wine not cold, slight animosity from waiter about this but did bring a cup of ice and offered to put it in the freezer. Still wasn’t cold enough when returned but was adequate. Would not have complained but it was nearly 30 quid a...More

Thank James P
AlfBrighton, Manager at Alfresco, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, as a family run business we appreciate feedback from our customers. All our wine is served chilled at a recommended fridge temperatures. Some customers do prefer colder wine and therefore we are more than happy to provide ice or put...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went here for dinner and it was lovely, the service was really good and the atmosphere is nice. Food arrived in good time and was super tasty.

Thank Arianne P
AlfBrighton, Manager at Alfresco, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review. We are a family run business. We hope to see you soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had lunch there on a Saturday and we both were kind of impressed. Location is excellent and we were lucky enough to get a table by the window overlooking the beach and the ocean. Service was fast but sometimes if felt a bit "too...More

Thank Aggelos K
AlfBrighton, Manager at Alfresco, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review. We are a family run business. We hope to see you soon.

Reviewed 17 March 2018

Alfresco is great for a family meal. 3 generations of my family ate here in the week - as there is always something for everyone. Pizza, pasta dishes, steak, fish & lots of lovely deserts. Great views of the West Pier & the i360. The...More

Thank bl0ndie72
AlfBrighton, Manager at Alfresco, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review. We are a family run business. We hope to see you soon.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 43 hotels in Brighton
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
561 reviews
.07 km away
West Beach Hotel
378 reviews
.08 km away
Kings Hotel
1,751 reviews
.11 km away
Beach Hotel
247 reviews
.12 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Adelfia
387 reviews
.14 km away
Ephesus Brighton
692 reviews
.14 km away
Goemon Ramen Bar
147 reviews
.14 km away
Bucket and Spade Cafe
129 reviews
.07 km away
Nearby Attractions
British Airways i360
2,341 reviews
.12 km away
Genting Casino Brighton
68 reviews
.12 km away
West Pier
333 reviews
.15 km away
Museum of Penny Slot Machines
11 reviews
.07 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
James P
7 April 2018|
Answer
Response from IanSeph | Reviewed this property |
No, and yes
-1
Votes
CharlHerbie
6 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Eleni P | Reviewed this property |
No dress code, would definitely pass.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, View, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Thursday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Friday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Saturday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 26 Kings Road Arches | The Milkmaid Pavilion, Brighton BN1 2LN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Brighton and Hove  >  Brighton
  • Phone Number: +44 1273 206523
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing