We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Star Inn Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
High Street, Alfriston BN26 5TA, England
+44 1323 870495
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

97 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 91: English reviews
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

I have visited the Star Inn a few times with my family and it never disappoints. The menu is always great and the quality of the food is excellent!! I cannot eat gluten and the staff are very accommodating of this.

Helpful?
Thank Eleanor's S
StarAfriston, General Manager at The Star Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Eleanor's S, Thanks very much for your comments about our food, and we are delighted that the quality and service was so high. We are a close team and this means a lot to all of us. Kind regards, Julie Garvin, General Manager More 

Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

Right in the middle of Alfriston, which incidentally is tiny, great parking behind the hotel, nice efficient reception staff, and bar and breakfast management staff. Room was slightly old fashioned but very nice. Lovely linens, both in the bathroom, and bedroom. My only slightly negative comment, and they are dealing with it in the refurbishment in January, is that the... More 

Helpful?
Thank jennykenny
StarAfriston, General Manager at The Star Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear jennykenny, I totally appreciate and understand your comments regarding the lighting in the rroms and we will be addressing this. We wanted to ensure that the lighting is in keeping with a cosy inn, and isn't too bright, but of course it needs to also be practical for our guests. We are delighted that you found the towels and... More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
167 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We came across the Star Inn by chance wanting to walk the South Downs. From the moment when we arrived we felt warmly welcomed. Our room was fine, quite inexpensive, comfortable bed clean neat bathroom. The bedroom carpet could do with a clean and the rooms lighting was quite dark. Dinner and breakfast was excellent. Breakfast on all three days... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MicheleColette
StarAfriston, General Manager at The Star Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear MicheleColette, Thank you for your review, and we will certainly feedback your comments to all concerned. I am sorry that your carpet wasn't clean enough and we will look into why this happened and rectify the situation. With regard to the darkness of the rooms, we are reviewing our lighting across the inn's 37 bedrooms. It is important to... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great atmosphere! Food was lovely and service was quick and friendly. Would definitely recommend for dinner or lunch!

Helpful?
Thank savage101
StarAfriston, General Manager at The Star Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear savage101, Thank you for your very positive review of our historic inn. We are delighted that our service, food and atmosphere were of a high standard and that you enjoyed yourself! Please do visit us again, we have a range of offers for accommodation over Christmas including Party Night packages, Festive Dining and New Year's Eve tickets. We look... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great staff, friendly and accommodating, good selection of drinks, great atmosphere. Whilst an old pub, the rooms are in a newer block at the back, and are clean, comfortable, and well equipped. A very pleasant stay. Booked through trip adviser the day before our stay, we got upgraded to room 7, the Smugglers Den, which had an interesting bed. Made... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alan Barry M
StarAfriston, General Manager at The Star Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Alan Barry M, Thank you for taking the time to send in a review of our much-loved inn. We are very pleased that the drinks choices, atmosphere and condition of our rooms was to your taste and met with your approval. Also, very glad that you enjoyed the 'Smugglers Lair' with its 'stock bed'! It certainly is an intriguing... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed at the Star Inn on a walking weekend, and loved the food. I booked a table when I arrived, as it was the weekend, but it may not have been necessary. Nice little pub restaurant; excellent dinner and breakfast.

Helpful?
Thank HollyWorton
StarAfriston, General Manager at The Star Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear HollyWorton, We are very pleased that you enjoyed our food and the bar itself, and we look forward to you returning to us again soon! Kind regards, Julie Garvin, General Manager More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2016

Whilst staying with good friends in Burgess Hill it was decided that we would try this restaurant for one of our meals out. We were not disappointed. Everything was spot on. The quality of the beers according to my husband was top notch. We were looked after by the Deputy General Manager who was a lovely lady. The meal itself... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sawdust17
StarAfriston, General Manager at The Star Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Sawdust17, Thank you for the lovely review of our inn, and we are delighted that you considered the food, ambience, and attention of our Deputy General Manager to be of such quality! We very much look forward to you visiting us again very soon when you are next in the area. Kind regards, Julie Garvin, General Manager More 

Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

We came here for a quick lunch whilst on our way through the village. We had dined at the Star two years ago and had a terrible experience with the food, however we thought we would try again! I'm pleased to say the food was excellent, we both had a starter and a main and both really enjoyed our food.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Tom J
StarAfriston, General Manager at The Star Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Tom J, Thank you for your review, and I am very pleased that you enjoyed your meals! With regard to the service, I apologise on behalf of the team, but this was solely down to one issue: a very rude group of people in our function area who took up the time of several of our bar staff causing... More 

Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2016

The locals, for miles around, know of the great food at the Star and Garter. For such a small cozy place you just don't expect such a complete and tasty menu-- and it is very reasonably priced. If you want a friendly pub atmosphere this should not be missed. If you like to walk in the old English countryside you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bob O
StarAfriston, General Manager at The Star Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Bob O, Sorry Sir but you have reviewed the wrong inn! We are not The Star & Garter and we have 37 rooms not 6! We do hope you can locate the pub you are looking to review so favourably! Kind regards, Julie Garvin, General Manager More 

Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2016

We had decided to drive into Alfriston, from Birling Gap, as it was full of visiting coaches of german students & the N.T. cafe was not serving hot food!!! we decided to try the Star Inn, were warmly welcomed by a young lady, & served drinks, we ordered the locally sourced beef burgers & chips, these were fantastic, served with... More 

Helpful?
Thank grumpyexec
StarAfriston, General Manager at The Star Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear grumpyexec, We are delighted that you enjoyed the burger and chips and the welcome! We try very hard to give a warm welcome to our guests and to serve excellent food and drinks. We hope to see you again very soon! Many Thanks, Julie Garvin, General Manager More 

Travellers who viewed The Star Inn Restaurant also viewed

Alfriston, East Sussex
Alfriston, East Sussex
 

Been to The Star Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Private Dining, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Bar Scene, Groups, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: High Street, Alfriston BN26 5TA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Alfriston
  • Phone Number: +44 1323 870495

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Star Inn Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?