We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Waterside Bistro

The Plains, Totnes TQ9 5YS, England
+44 1803 864069
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good32%
  • Average12%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“pizza” (58 reviews)
“oysters” (9 reviews)
“fish pie” (24 reviews)
Open Now
9:00 am - 11:00 pmAll hours
CUISINES
Mediterranean, European, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
The Plains, Totnes TQ9 5YS, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (564)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 559 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very relaxing cafe especially when you can sit in the sun overlooking the river. Nice atmosphere. Food is fresh and local.

1  Thank Rockhouse190802
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Pleasant surroundings and impressive Menu. Unfortunately Service and food did not live up to expectations. Food overpriced for quality and shell fish poor quality and not served properly by waitresses who were clearly willing but obviously not experienced. Definitely not value for money and would...More

1  Thank slat9
matt b, Owner at Waterside Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello there, thanks for your visit to Waterside, sorry you only deemed to give us a 3 out of 5. Our aim is to serve simple stylish bistro cuisine and a friendly relaxed atmosphere at a reasonable price. Our menu has always contained a healthy...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Dropped on the restaurant when driving through the area and stopped off because of the location it over looks the riverside and had plenty of outside seating. All Food was excellent half a pint of prawns and antipasti starter with wood fired pizza for mains,...More

1  Thank hughdeedaa
matt b, Owner at Waterside Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for your visit and great review. We hope to see you again next time you are passing through. Matt

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We called early one evening on spec. We were quickly served pizzas by friendly staff. The place filled up very quickly.

1  Thank Tony S
matt b, Owner at Waterside Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi there, thanks for your quick visit and review. Next time make sure you have time to collect a loyalty card which gives you up to 5% or more back on your purchases with us. Matt

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We celebrated my birthday here and it was worth being 73 to go there! We splashed out on a whole lobster each and, when I was worried that I could not eat it all, the waitress suggested we share a starter in a way that...More

1  Thank 195margaret70
matt b, Owner at Waterside Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for celebrating your birthday with us at Waterside and for your lovely review. I hope you don't leave it so long until the next time you visit for a lobster dinner! Kind regards, Matt

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited for lunch. Food very good and staff friendly. Sat inside but outdoor seating by the river looked nice. Will visit again when in Totnes.

1  Thank Lee K
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Friendly bistro with an excellent menu. We loved the freshly made pizza. Would recommend it without hesitation.

1  Thank bkescape
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited at lunchtime, nice day so had a table on the terrace. Good choice of food and drinks, staff friendly and food was fine. Service was no problem and a good place to go as it is just on the edge of the centre of...More

1  Thank Martin H
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The table was booked for 5.00 very warm welcome, and the six of us sat with our drinks chatting until time to order. Three of us had soup (make no mistake, this comes in a small Soup tureen with lots of add on bits and...More

1  Thank dtilbury
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Came in out the rain for a quick lunch. Really good pizza, tremendously helpful staff and very quick service. I would recommend eating here for lunch to anyone that's interested. Some of the other items on the menu looked interesting, shame we only had limited...More

1  Thank John D
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The King William IV
187 reviews
.23 km away
Fat Lemons Cafe
187 reviews
.12 km away
Maisie's Cafe
146 reviews
.20 km away
Nearby Attractions
TIMEHOUSE Muzeum
426 reviews
.34 km away
Totnes Elizabethan House Museum
62 reviews
.32 km away
Totnes Guildhall
66 reviews
.38 km away
Totnes Market
92 reviews
.51 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Dionysis R
Hi Matt B, I am sorry for giving a bad review but I was really disappointed with your food. As I said the service was great, and the environment was great. You asked me what did I order? -prawn and crab salad starter -Grilled Sardines -Steamed Mussels -Olives - bread The food quality was indeed very bad. I was hoping to eat at a restaurant, but I eventually ate pub-quality food. This is fine, and I like eating in pubs, because I don't order seafood, and I also pay 8 pounds (not 47 for two people). In Plymouth we have a Japanese Restaurant (Yukisan), in which if you pay 47 pounds for 2, you will eat food that will remain in your head for ever. I was not expecting that from your restaurant, but certainly I was not expecting such disappointment. As I am a Chef myself, I will give you a few tips, of what went wrong: --prawn and crab salad starter = the prawns were the typical small Chinese boiled prawns that you get them from Tesco. The crab was smelly. Recommendation: you go to the fish monger, and you get fantastic fresh prawns, half price and way more tasty. Regarding the crab , if you keep it in your fridge more than 2 days, I am sorry , it was a but investment, through that away. Offer fresh crab! -Sardines were not crispy (from BBQ/griller) and were dehydrated. Both means the chef cooked them in low heat for long. As a Chef, I am telling you that it needs maximum heat for minimum time. -Mussels: my dear owner, the mussels were fresh, because they were actually alive (otherwise they would not open). So this great alive shell, how did they manage to destroy the easiest dish. Let me tell you the real recipe: garlic in hot olive oil for 45 seconds, you add half a glass of white wine, you add mussels, you cover them and cook for 7 minutes (or until all open), you add pepper/parsley and serve. Instead do you know what your Chef did? he boiled Onions , yes indeed, his recipe is boiling onions, then not steam but actually boil the mussels. Then it was a tasteless watery soup of onions and mussels. The mussel itself has very fade taste, which means it was boiled in water. The only reason why I spend my time to improve your restaurant that I will never visit again, is because if you were investing in a fantastic Chef, you would be packed non stop , and you would have seen only smiley faces. Do something, the restaurant by the river deserves good food. PS: please ask your chef to cook 10 mussels with his recipe , and 10 with the recipe above... best D
14 February 2017|
Answer
Response from dawn h | Reviewed this property |
Hi, I'm not certain that you have published an actual review? I think you have just asked a question on my review? Also, I think your review is a little over the top patronising if I'm honest. I'm not exactly sure why you... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 21 - USD 44
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, View, Child-friendly, Romantic, Local cuisine, Groups, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Plains, Totnes TQ9 5YS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Totnes
  • Phone Number: +44 1803 864069
  • E-mail
Description
Waterside Bistro at the riverside heart of Totnes, is relaxed and comfortable with a wonderful terrace next to the River Dart with covered seating for perfect alfresco dining whatever the weather. It is open from 9am until 11pm every day it serves breakfasts, coffee, lunches & dinners. It has built a reputation for fine local, fresh, seasonal food with an emphasis on great fish and shellfish. As a proud member of Food and Drink Devon, it has a super wine list and great selection of local beers and ciders. From Spring to Autumn there is fabulous Salcombe Dairy ice cream served on the terrace with lots of homemade toppings. It is owned and run by chef/proprietor Matt Buzzo and his wife Delphine.Waterside Bistro has a sister venue called New Walk Restaurant which is located not far away on The Plains in Totnes.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing