We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rumour

30 High Street, Totnes TQ9 5RY, England
+44 1803 864682
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent59%
  • Very good27%
  • Average8%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“pizza” (130 reviews)
“steak” (60 reviews)
“pork belly” (4 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Pizza, European, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
30 High Street, Totnes TQ9 5RY, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (400)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 398 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We chose Rumour basically because it looked popular and there was a spare table… and we like a wine bar that offers an interesting menu. On entering we seized the only spare table towards the back of the busy room and wedged ourselves into seats...More

Thank suemissb
Luna_Rumour, General Manager at Rumour, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear suemissb Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. It's a shame you felt it necessary to rate us as 'average' despite enjoying your lunch - it is clear the presence of a dog ruined the experience for you. We are open...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I visited Rumours twice in the last week, once for morning coffee with my family and once for dinner with a group of friends. I always enjoy the cosy atmosphere and the food is generally very tasty, the only thing that really lets it down...More

Thank Laura S
Luna_Rumour, General Manager at Rumour, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Laura S Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. As you don't go into more detail I am unable to investigate, but I would like to apologise that you felt you were treated unwelcomingly on both your visits. We never intentionally...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good food, bit noisy, service ok. Good choice of food, burger best We've tasted since Florida. Bit pricy

Thank Jacqueline M
Luna_Rumour, General Manager at Rumour, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Jacqueline M Thanks for the review. See you again

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

FOod's always on point here. I recommend booking as they get booked up quickly! Compliments to Barney for looking after us so well :)

Thank Liv J
Luna_Rumour, General Manager at Rumour, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Liv J Thanks for the lovely review. I'll pass your comments on to Barney - he'll be very happy!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We happened on this lovely place by accident and so pleased we did. It was super busy, with all table reserved for multiple service, a good sign we thought. We weren't wrong. The service was impeccable, pizzas delicious at great value. We are only very...More

Thank MeGB77
Luna_Rumour, General Manager at Rumour, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear MeGB77 Thank you for the glowing review! We're really pleased we ticked all the boxes. We hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I'm local and I haven't been in Rumour for a while and now I remember why. Exactly the same reasons still apply. Great situation - at the top of the main street through Totnes, really well situated for shops, the market, the castle etc. The...More

Thank Jane P
Luna_Rumour, General Manager at Rumour, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Jane P Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a cutting review, both here and on our Facebook page. I apologise that you felt you were treated rudely on your last visit with us. Unfortunately we will not be taking your...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

For £20 ,to include peppercorn sauce with an8 ounce steak one doesnt expect from this really good restaurant such a tiny ,tough portion ,cut up(just as well,as almost impossible to chew)into tiny clices.Everything else was great it wasnt Sunday so maybe better value then .This...More

Thank 617polly
Luna_Rumour, General Manager at Rumour, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear 617polly Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're really sorry you didn't enjoy your steak with us on your last visit. I hope you raised your disappointment with the staff on duty who would have been only to happy...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This is a very relaxed place for lunch. You can share a pizza plus rumour fries and salad with modest drinks for £25. It's worth booking at busy times. The pizzas are on the level of Pizza Express. Main dishes are rather more expensive and...More

Thank TheArtLark
Luna_Rumour, General Manager at Rumour, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear TheArtLark Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! We hope to see you again soon - perhaps on a Sunday, where as you say we run our fantastic steak and wine offer.

Reviewed 5 October 2017

On a river-trip visit from Dartmouth, we walked the main street of Totnes as usual and came across this wine bar-restaurant. It was quite busy at lunchtime and obviously was well used by locals. Jean and I just needed a snack lunch so we shared...More

Thank Terry L
Luna_Rumour, General Manager at Rumour, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Terry L Thanks for the great review! We aim to have all our customers leaving sated and happy - please do visit us again when you're feeling a bit more hungry for a bigger meal, we'd be more than happy to impress again! Thank...More

Reviewed 3 October 2017

Reliably excellent. They have a great menu with lots of imaginative dishes on the menu. The staff are very welcoming and service is relaxed and professional creating a wonderful atmosphere. Steaks were well cooked and the fish dishes always taste fresh. Would highly recommend.

Thank DavidMansbridge
Luna_Rumour, General Manager at Rumour, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear DavidMansbridge Thank you so much for the glowing review! We're so pleased you frequently enjoy meals with us. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Pie Street
239 reviews
.02 km away
The Wild Fig Deli & Cafe
380 reviews
.19 km away
Woods Bistro
295 reviews
.20 km away
Jano A Taste Of Sunshine
170 reviews
.07 km away
Nearby Attractions
TIMEHOUSE Muzeum
436 reviews
.13 km away
Totnes Guildhall
68 reviews
.11 km away
Totnes Elizabethan House Museum
62 reviews
.14 km away
Totnes Castle
201 reviews
.17 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
susiem10
1 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Catherine T | Reviewed this property |
I'm not sure, but the tables are quite small and close together, so not ideal for doggies.
1
Vote
Neil W
13 May 2017|
Answer
Response from Luna_Rumour | Property representative |
Hi Neil. We don't make our own - but some customers bring their own and we add our sauce, cheese and toppings to it. Please note we bake often twice daily on site so can never guarantee no cross contamination.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 7 - USD 24
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Takeout, Highchairs Available
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 30 High Street, Totnes TQ9 5RY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Totnes
  • Phone Number: +44 1803 864682
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing