We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Drum Inn

) #82 of 247 Restaurants in Torquay $$ - $$$ , British,
Cockington Lane, Torquay TQ2 6QT, England
+44 1803 690264
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent32%
  • Very good26%
  • Average13%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible16%
Travellers talk about
Open Now
12:00 - 21:00All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Cockington Lane, Torquay TQ2 6QT, England
Write a Review
Reviews (861)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 861 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

As a qualified chef of many years I was very disappointed as the state of the premises.The food order was 2 mushrooms garlic and one so called prawn cocktail.The mushrooms were just warm not hot.The prawn cocktail was made with cabbage so called salad lettuce.However...More

Thank covewy25
Reviewed 5 days ago

Take a walk back in time through Cockington village and stop in The Drum Inn for Sunday roast like we did. We have booked for 6 and had an excellent meal and a table with a view of Cockington Mill. Combined with great service and...More

Thank Michaela M
Kesosborne, Manager at The Drum Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Michaela M Thanks for your kind and great review we was very busy Sunday but as you sampled we had a amazing team working hard to ensure all guests was well looked after. We look forward to your next visit. Matthew

Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked a table for 7.30 pm. No problem, arrive to be told that there only taking cash, no cards as the machines are down, ok, then told that pizza,s and chicken dishes are off the menu. Ok so we ordered drinks and we're told to...More

Thank Jill C
Kesosborne, Manager at The Drum Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Good Morning Jill C Thanks for taking the time to write this review,firstly I was the manager on duty on this afternoon. We did have nationwide issues with our card payment system,internet,tills and kitchen equipment as this is all linked into one system I understand...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

One of the loveliest days of the year - where shall we go for a family meal? The Drum Inn at Cockington is always among the top choices in our list. At this time of year, without a cloud in the sky, Cockington itself couldn't...More

Thank Writenote
Kesosborne, Manager at The Drum Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Writenote Thanks for your kind review and I am delighted your recent visit was a great one and our food was great with the sticky duck being a massive hit during this heat-wave. We have had a few weddings on and have been extra...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Another fantastic lunch at one of my favourite places. The Drum Inn is in the most beautiful location and on a sunny day eating in the garden is a must. Today there was a wedding party and the staff were busy but this didn't stop...More

Thank Helen Y
Kesosborne, Manager at The Drum Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks Helen Y for another cracking review and taking your time to say how your recent visit was. We have had an amazing week with over 5 wedding and have made sure all our guests are well catered for and once again Kyra has been...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I recently ate at The Drum, Cockington after many previous visits and, as usual, weren't disappointed. As locals, we tend to opt for midweek lunch or evening indulgence here, as weekends can get very busy. The location is so beautiful and perfect...More

Thank Nikki W
Kesosborne, Manager at The Drum Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Nikki W I feel I dont even need to respond to this review as it hits the 'nail on the head' as we are a very busy place and guests on occasions can and do wait for there food and can drink one or...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked last minute for visiting family. Last time we visited we were forgotten and walked out - however my daughter wanted to try again as it is in such a lovely place and we are glad we did. The food was very good, extremely tasty...More

1  Thank Toni C
Kesosborne, Manager at The Drum Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Cheers Toni C What a great review and we love it when our team members are mentioned especially Kyra who is a massive asset to the team being recently promoted and now running shifts and taking our team forward. We are do portion control our...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Fab fab fab. Lovely food, great staff, reasonably priced and very dog friendly in the one dining area. Thank you for a lovely meal. Great visit. A little gem

Thank littlealp
Kesosborne, Manager at The Drum Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks Littlealp for your great review and I am delighted that your visit was as we expect and your time spent at the Drum was well worth it. Thanks Macca

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Drum Inn is in the very quaint village of Cockington only a few miles from the very bustling seaside town of Torquay but in terms of time it is a visit to bygone times. I have lunched at many different Pubs/ Restaurants in the...More

Thank Magpiehouse
Kesosborne, Manager at The Drum Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good Morning Magpiehouse Thanks for your great review and taking your time to let us know how your visit was . I am delighted our service was spot on along with our amazing roasts which are famous throughout the bay. We have a great atmosphere...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were originally going to lunch out elsewhere. But as the weather was so good and we live on the Cockington Parish and close to Occombe Farm. We thought that we would take in the ambiance of the Drum Inn surroundings. It is for only...More

Thank suzannehall2017
Kesosborne, Manager at The Drum Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Suzannehall2017 Thanks for your feedback regards your recent visit and I find it so disappointing when we read reviews like this I can say this was our busiest bank holiday in 6 years and we did run low on certain items and we did...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Weavers Cottage Tea Shoppe
253 reviews
.10 km away
Torre Abbey Tea-Room
281 reviews
1.36 km away
The Ocean Drive Restaurant
577 reviews
1.31 km away
Chelston Manor
184 reviews
.95 km away
Nearby Attractions
Cockington Country Park
1,931 reviews
.10 km away
Torre Abbey Historic House and Gardens
570 reviews
1.41 km away
Cockington Court
655 reviews
.24 km away
Cockington
120 reviews
.27 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
stevebrown0210
Hello, could you let us know if you allow well behaved small dogs into the bar please? We will be tourists in Cockington for a week shortly. Thank you Steve
31 January 2017|
Answer Show all 6 answers
Response from George D | Reviewed this property |
Yes you can well behaved dogs are always welcome
0
Votes
Peter S
How do you justify charging your prices (or anything at all) for such poor food and abysmal service?
18 December 2016|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from antmax2015 | Reviewed this property |
Sorry we had poor service poor food so why should we go back
0
Votes
davisx4
Just tried to book the steak and supper menu for £20 per head on Saturday from 5pm and told it's Monday to Friday, I find it very hard to believe this is true and if it is you need to update your website as it's completely opposite to what your advertising. Also not impressed whoever answered the phone would not check when I said this was quoted on the website
25 April 2015|
Answer
Response from Kesosborne | Property representative |
Thank you for your question. I will forward of to the IT department as it looks like a cross over between the lunch time menu which is Mon to Friday. Apologies for the way this was handles I will certainly brief the team... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, View, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 21:00
Monday
12:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 22:00
Saturday
12:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Cockington Lane, Torquay TQ2 6QT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  English Riviera  >  Torquay
  • Phone Number: +44 1803 690264
  • E-mail
Description
The Drum Inn in Cockington is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing