We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Fish on the Harbour

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
1 Riverside Road | EX35 6EX, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park, England
+44 1598 753600
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

144 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 142: English reviews
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful fresh fish, and chips were so tasty! We had peas and curry sauce which complimented a perfect fish supper watching the river! Highly recommend

Helpful?
Thank Dawnie C
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went to this fantastic town last year as part of our holiday and although my wife always attempts to steer me away from fish and chip shops she failed to stop me going in to this superb eatery. We had take away with the idea of taking them to the car to eat them but having pinched a chip... More 

Helpful?
Thank Donpet
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
500 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2016

Good fish and chips, homemade tartar sauce, nice pot of tea, just opposite harbour. Really enjoyed our lunch and great value compared to London prices.

Helpful?
Thank KAW687
tarkipoo, Owner at Fish on the Harbour, responded to this review

We are very glad you enjoyed your meal, and hope to see you again soon. More 

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2016 via mobile

My partner and I were staying locally for a few nights so popped along for lunch. The service was very friendly and warm but we, having dreamt of seaside fish n chips, were rather disappointed by the cod which was far from freshly caught. Generally you enjoy the fish in its entirely but ours was a small loin (mine without... More 

Helpful?
Thank jemwalk
tarkipoo, Owner at Fish on the Harbour, responded to this review

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your meal,however i am confused as to what it is that you are saying,you state that you normally enjoy a fish in its entirety,all fish and chip shops batter fillets of fish not whole fish. yes it is very quiet this time of year but that does not effect the freshness or... More 

Bungay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2016

Really enjoyed fish and chip meal with my family in the resturant. Lovely meal, couldn't find any faults with it. Fish was great, batter light and even enjoyed the chips (don't normally eat chips). Friendly staff, good service and clean restaurant. We will be back.

Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon C
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2016

Well cooked and tasty food on a wet and windy afternoon. Nice staff and good selection of food. Worth a try

Helpful?
1 Thank Dst45
Newnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2016

Had lunch here today. Lovely pot of crab, salad, bread and butter and side of chips. Staff very friendly and helpful, lots of people enjoying amazing portions of fish and chips and other tasty looking things. Would definitely visit again.

Helpful?
1 Thank wookeroo
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2016

Visited here twice now, and I've always found the fish and chips to be excellent. The fish is cooked in a light and non-greasy batter which doesn't drown out the flavour of the fish like the usual stodgy chip-shop batter. My partner enjoyed his beetroot and goat's cheese burger. Portion sizes are decent and the service was good. We've always... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank kittycatem
Hartley Wintney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

Delicious crab sandwiches and tasty chips. But pricy but great location and ideal if you have dogs. Added bonus of being licensed.

Helpful?
1 Thank SneekyPeek
Westbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2016

We stopped here to get some fish and chips to eat on the beach. There was a bit of a wait for the food, but I guess its cooked fresh to order as it was quite late on in the evening. The food was great and piping hot and resonably priced. No complaints from us or our dogs, who had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Curiousginger

Travellers who viewed Fish on the Harbour also viewed

Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
 
Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
 
Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to Fish on the Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Seafood, Fast food, British
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Wheelchair Accessible, Takeout, Seating, Street Parking, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 Riverside Road | EX35 6EX, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Exmoor National Park  >  Lynmouth
  • Phone Number: +44 1598 753600

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Fish on the Harbour and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Fish on the Harbour staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?