We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Harbour Restaurant

48 The Quay, Clovelly EX39 5TF, England
+44 1237 431237
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent36%
  • Very good27%
  • Average16%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible11%
Travellers talk about
“lobster” (13 reviews)
“plaice” (3 reviews)
“soup” (3 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
British, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
48 The Quay, Clovelly EX39 5TF, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

What a disappointment this was and in one of our favourite places too. All we wanted was a simple fish & chip lunch, surely staple fare at an English harbour village. The service at the bar was all done with no eye contact & very...More

Thank Tom B
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After a lovely meander down the narrow streets of Clovelly a stop for dinner at the pub on the harbour. There are other pubs along the way which also looked good, as well as little 'scones and tea' spots devonshire teas.... real devonshire teas. Dinner...More

Thank ChrisBluSku
Reviewed 28 August 2018

Asked the waitress if food was being served (1415 on a Monday) - answer yes, but we only had 10 mins to order it. Waited at the bar to be served for 15 mins, just one staff member serving, taking other people's food orders, to...More

1  Thank Mark T
sally s, Manager at Harbour Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for leaving feedback, I have checked on the facts and we had a problem with our extractor fans which automatically closed off then gas in the kitchen so they were unable to use any equipment until the problem was rectified.

Reviewed 28 August 2018

It wasn’t a brilliant experience. The starters took 75 minutes to appear, I only had three oysters which must have taken ages! While we were choosing wine a poor couple were standing in the doorway totally unacknowledged for at least five minutes. We should not...More

Thank lindseyknight
sally s, Manager at Harbour Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Thanks for leaving feedback, I have spoken to the kitchen team, I think you may have been part of a large table which is why the other peoples starters were served before yours. They also informed me that the runner beans were actually pickled rather...More

Reviewed 18 August 2018

Great food, lovely atmosphere, warm welcome and friendly staff, but due to the heat and lack of ventilation it was fly city which was a problem as we both wanted to eat my pie :-(

1  Thank thisisaoneoff
sally s, Manager at Harbour Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Thanks for taking the time to leave us feedback - we have had a major fly problem this year due to the heat - we have just last week put in extra fly zappers !

Reviewed 16 August 2018

We didn't actually eat in the restaurant. As it was such a lovely balmy evening we sat outside the harbor bar overlooking the harbor. It was quite busy as It had been Clovelly RNLI day so lots of people still about. We had to wait...More

Thank Duncan P
sally s, Manager at Harbour Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Thank you for leaving such a nice review we are so pleased that you enjoyed your evening spent with us .

Reviewed 13 August 2018

Despite the lack of space inside, it was luckily warm enough to eat outside. We had a lovely meal and the staff were very friendly (and funny). We didn't realise until afterwards that we could have eaten upstairs, but sitting by the harbour was very...More

Thank Tania C
sally s, Manager at Harbour Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Thanks for taking the time to leave such a nice review, hopefully you will visit again

Reviewed 22 July 2018 via mobile

The food was expensive (half lobster £20) and cold. Provably someone likes cold lobster, but I prefer it hot and cleaned (it wasn’t). The beer was good and my boyfriend enjoyed his curry. I was the one unlucky with my meal :(

Thank gabimendes
sally s, Manager at Harbour Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2018

Thanks for leaving a review, our lobster which we serve in the bar is always served cold with a salad.

Reviewed 20 June 2018

The restaurant is on the Quay with good views. Good menu offering something for everyone. We had Fresh cooked lobster, simple with condiments on the side, flavour superb!

Thank Jen W
sally s, General Manager at Harbour Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review - so pleased that you enjoyed your lobster - I dont think you can beat freshly cooked clovelly lobster!

Reviewed 16 June 2018

After arriving at the Quay we were in real need of a drink,we sat outside in the sun and had a real Devon ale.Perfect.

Thank JPerry89
sally s, General Manager at Harbour Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Thanks for leaving us a review, glad that you enjoyed drinking your beer on the harbourside!

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 2 hotels
Red Lion Hotel
686 reviews
.01 km away
New Inn
253 reviews
.18 km away
Hoops Inn
491 reviews
5.89 km away
Penhaven Country House Hotel
11 reviews
7.88 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Cottage Tea Rooms
196 reviews
.07 km away
Woolsery Fish and Chips
41 reviews
4.10 km away
The Old Bakery Coffee Shop
146 reviews
5.94 km away
The Bell Inn
144 reviews
7.88 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Milky Way Adventure Park
1,788 reviews
2.07 km away
Sandymouth Beach
414 reviews
4.66 km away
Clovelly Village
2,086 reviews
.04 km away
Hartland Point Lighthouse
180 reviews
5.76 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Kathy B
16 September 2017|
Answer
Response from SevenoaksSinjun | Reviewed this property |
Hi Kathy I'm not sure if they are open for non-res breakfast or are pet friendly. We just visited for lunch. Probably best if you give them a call on 01237 431237.
0
Votes
titch3637
17 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from nickW27 | Property representative |
No sorry, the limited parking is just for hotel residents. You can park in the main car park and either walk down or take a land rover during the daytime only.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Highchairs Available
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, View, Kids, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 48 The Quay, Clovelly EX39 5TF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Clovelly
  • Phone Number: +44 1237 431237
  • E-mail
  • This restaurant is at Red Lion Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing