We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Three Pilchards

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Quay Road | Quay Road, Polperro PL13 2QZ, England
+44 1503 272233
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

424 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 420: English reviews
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed today NEW via mobile

Staff are amazing and so welcoming, the food is awesome! I am going to miss this place. Recommend Hunters chicken, BLT and crab baguette.

Helpful?
Thank Lisa V
La Gomera, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Great welcome, very attentive staff, good choice of drinks and the Special Fish Pie for which they claim to be famous was THE BEST.

Helpful?
1 Thank H3136WKdavidw
DanKat80, Owner at The Three Pilchards, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review - excellent news you rated our Fish Pie as 'The Best'. We hope to see you again so you can sample another :) Kat, Dan and The Three Pilchards Team. More 

south wales
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Not the first visit, holiday in Cornwall every year and visit Polperro as its one of my favourite places. Called in for lunch, initially sat by the lovely log fire but was too warm for our black lab Toby, moved to other side where he loved the cold floor, but still warm for us. Food! Amazing, the beer battered haloumi... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank kasSouthWales
DanKat80, Owner at The Three Pilchards, responded to this review

Stunning Review - thank you very much for taking the time to write it. We hope you visit us agaon soon, Kat, Dan and The Three Pilchards Team. More 

Lawrenceville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Came here for lunch , food was great and the people warm and friendly ; give yourself time as sometimes it could be busy; place was cozy , clean , lots of locals which I like

Helpful?
1 Thank maril0u211
DanKat80, Owner at The Three Pilchards, responded to this review

Lovely Review - thank you. Really glad you enjoyed the atmosphere of our historic little Inn. We look forward to seeing you again, Kat, Dan and The Three Pilchards Team. More 

Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Stopped for a couple of ales and evening meal. Sat outside on the raised garden behind the pub catching lots of sun. Food was nice, good portions and good selection of drinks.

Helpful?
1 Thank Butch K
DanKat80, Owner at The Three Pilchards, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Brilliant to hear you were able to enjoy some time in the sunshine in our rooftop harbour view beer garden. We hope you visit us again on your next visit to Polperro. Kat, Dan and The Three Pilchards Team. More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great pub,warm and inviting great food and beer. Walked in from a damp afternoon to a lovely warm welcome friendly staff and fresh food served quickly and piping hot.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ian M
DanKat80, Owner at The Three Pilchards, responded to this review

Lovely Review - thank you. Great to hear you enjoyed every aspect of your visit. We hope to see you again soon. Kat, Dan and The Three Pilchards Team. More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Love this pub. Great food, friendly staff Great value. Always fresh and piping hot. Would recommend a visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank Carolynne H
DanKat80, Owner at The Three Pilchards, responded to this review

Great to hear we are always a favourite with you - thank you very much for taking the time to review. We look forward to seeing you again soon, Kat, Dan and The Three Pilchards Team. More 

Trowbridge
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited for lunch to be greeted by a busy pub with nice cheerful staff. Good first impression. Good selection of drinks and substantial menu with special boards. Unfortunately it was a bit too windy to be comfortable in the beer garden. We ordered a crab sandwich and a blt baguette which were nice and plentiful. Bit of a wait... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Phil R
DanKat80, Owner at The Three Pilchards, responded to this review

Thank you for such a complimentary review - we are very pleased you enjoyed your visit from start to finish and glad to hear you will be back :) Best Wishes Kat, Dan and The Three Pilchards Team. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Sunday evening really nice beer followed by some excellent food. Chicken goujons and fish goujons were fresh and delicious. Scallops for main course were amazing. Couldn't reccomend highly enough.

Helpful?
2 Thank Simon W
DanKat80, Owner at The Three Pilchards, responded to this review

Fantastic review - very pleased you were able to try some of our Polperro caught Scallops - they are a firm favourite with our visitors! We look forward to seeing you again Kat, Dan and The Three Pilchards Team. More 

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great atmosphere and great for a drinking pub but food disappointing. Did not like tiger prawns, fish and chips not brilliant and chips like doorstops with skin on. Very disappointed as it had a good write up . Would not go again

Helpful?
1 Thank Janetberry123
DanKat80, Owner at The Three Pilchards, responded to this review

Very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your meals with us. It is unfortunate that the food was not to your taste especially as the two meal choices you had are usually two of our most highly praised. The Prawns cooked in three unique ways have been very popular since we introduced them to our New Menu in January.... More 

Travellers who viewed The Three Pilchards also viewed

 
Polperro, Cornwall
Polperro, Cornwall
 

Been to The Three Pilchards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 3 - USD 21
Cuisine
Bar, Seafood, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
Meals
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, View, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Quay Road | Quay Road, Polperro PL13 2QZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  Polperro
  • Phone Number: +44 1503 272233
Description
Home Cooked, Fresh, Locally Sourced Food. Specialising in hearty meals and fresh fish dishes.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Three Pilchards and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Three Pilchards staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?