We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Toby Carvery Hoole Village

Warrington Road, Chester CH2 4EX, England
+44 1244 301391
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent34%
  • Very good25%
  • Average16%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible13%
Travellers talk about
“custard” (10 reviews)
“roast dinner” (11 reviews)
Open Now
8:00 am - 11:00 pmAll hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Warrington Road, Chester CH2 4EX, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (532)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 531 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked to take a group of 25 people for Sunday lunch following our wedding the previous day and a friend's baptism on the day. The staff were great and doing a good job, but there seemed to be too few of them to cope....More

2  Thank mrmoo2017
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hoole Village, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Mrmoo2017, it is disappointing for us to hear that your experience was anything less than great.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Omg having been out with my family to a firework display we thought how nice it would be to finish off with the best carvery. Oh what a major disappointment the meat was tough fatty an tasteless. The parsnips where cold the gravy well you...More

1  Thank Tracey A
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hoole Village, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Tracey A, we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked a table for 12 people for a Sunday evening at 7pm, however when we arrived we were given two tables apart near the bar which was totally unacceptable, one of the tables was next to a waiter station, which had dirty plates, glasses...More

Thank welshrunner
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hoole Village, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi. We have tried calling you today. we got no answer so will try again tomorrow.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I've stayed several times in the Travelodge next door and have eaten in the carvery each night, each time the beef has been very fatty so I now tend to go for the gammon, veg seemed to take forever to arrive, no gravey and where...More

Thank LivingTheDreamGBR
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hoole Village, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We pride ourselves on providing exceptional service, so we are disappointed to hear that your visit with us was anything less than satisfactory.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This was one of my most favorite places to have good grub with my family and partner but I don't know what's happened lately..... I took my mother in law and partner for our usually lovely carvery but it did not fill me with much...More

Thank Ojoj3333
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hoole Village, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We regret to hear that you had a negative experience with us, but would appreciate the chance to turn your experience around.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We've had some excellent meals here with a large group who meet a couple of times a year. The last visit (in September) wasn't so good, even though we were booked in well in advance. We had to wait ages for a chef to arrive,...More

Thank Dazzoh11
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hoole Village, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had booked but had to wait for our table, then queued for 30 minutes at the carvery. Meat was dried out and overcooked; vegetables were a soggy mess. Complained to manager and got platitudes

Thank 152pigeon
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hoole Village, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi, we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one.

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We went here whilst on our way to pick up our daughter up from Chester, and it was lovely. Food was hot, plentiful and tasty and the staff were great. We seemed to have had a totally different experience to the negative comments on here....More

Thank maruott
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hoole Village, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Maruott, thank you so much for the positive review!

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Food appeared fine as expected. Carpets and tables are old. Large accommodation capable of handling crowds of people, although almost empty on the day we visited. Outside areas were rather dirty. I became ill but but do not suspect the food being at fault.

Thank Top_Tourer_2009
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hoole Village, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us.

Reviewed 14 October 2017

Best offers quick service, two roast dinners for a tenner, can,t beat it. Will deffo go back next time we are in the area

Thank 300,147
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hoole Village, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

300147, thank you so much for your high rating!

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Piper
275 reviews
1.13 km away
Meadow Lea Farm Cafe
73 reviews
1.49 km away
Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill Chester
764 reviews
.80 km away
The Bird in Hand
72 reviews
1.59 km away
Nearby Attractions
Chester Zoo
11,256 reviews
2.92 km away
Caldy Valley Nature Park
18 reviews
3.06 km away
Chester Music Theatre
13 reviews
2.52 km away
St. Paul's Church
9 reviews
2.76 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Davepj1963
17 January 2016|
Answer
Response from Amanda_and_Liam | Property representative |
Unfortunately we don't have Sky tv at this time
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 8 - USD 16
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Television, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Buffet
Good for
Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 am - 10:00 pm
Monday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Warrington Road, Chester CH2 4EX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cheshire  >  Chester
  • Phone Number: +44 1244 301391
  • E-mail
Description
Welcome to the Toby Carvery Hoole Village. When it comes to roast dinners, we really know our stuff. Every day our chefs lay on a feast of tender, hand-carved meats with all the trimmings - including towering Yorkshire puds, golden roasties with all those lovely little crunchy bits, and plenty of freshly prepared veg, all crowned with proper gravy. So it's no wonder we're Chester's favourite carvery restaurant. Drop by and you'll find lots more on offer, including cooked breakfasts and tasty specials.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing