We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Shady Rest Waterfront

3109 Island Hwy W, Qualicum Beach, British Columbia V9K 2C5, Canada
+1 250-752-9111
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent33%
  • Very good42%
  • Average14%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“kettle chips” (10 reviews)
“burger” (53 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 - 23:00All hours
CUISINES
American, Seafood, Pub, Canadian, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
3109 Island Hwy W, Qualicum Beach, British Columbia V9K 2C5, Canada
Write a Review
Reviews (650)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 650 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

An unobstructed panoramic ocean view is reason enough to visit. Ample parking on both ends of the building. As usual, I sampled the traditional Bennie. Although the bernaise sauce was lacking in flavor, the presentation was good and the eggs perfect. Average coffee. Service attentive...More

Thank Chris D
ShadyMGMT, Manager at The Shady Rest Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear, Reviewer Thanks for taking the time to leave us a positive review of our products and services. It is our pleasure to serve, and we look forward to having you back again. Cheers, Shady Management

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Real food, real service, down home atmosphere. The view is ocean on ocean sparkling as you munch on garlic mashed potatoes, beef rack o rib falling off bone, herb vegetables and a multitude of drink choices served up in good humour. I had been two...More

Thank shackinthebush
ShadyMGMT, Manager at The Shady Rest Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear, Reviewer Thank you very much for your kind words of support. It's a pleasure to read your contribution, and we hope it will help those who have yet to discover what The Shady Rest has to offer. Here's to you. Cheers, Shady Management

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was my first time here and I was not disappointed. My wife and I were brought here by our relatives that we were visiting and it lived up to the hype. The Clam Chowder is one of the best I have had and was...More

Thank PTCB28
ShadyMGMT, Manager at The Shady Rest Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear, Reviewer Thank you for taking the time to leave us a positive review about your first visit to The Shady Rest! It is very nice to read that your relatives put their faith in us to host their out of town guests and that...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Usually enjoy the food and service and great view. However, this day in the pub, I ordered the spinach salad. 'Was looking forward to a fresh salad which included goat cheese and walnuts. Advertised with a balsamic dressing. Unfortunately the salad was drenched with dressing...More

Thank Lizlizgrafton
ShadyMGMT, Manager at The Shady Rest Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear, Reviewer Thanks for your feedback. It's true that our salads are not prepared until they are ordered, so we can assure you that your salad was fresh made, but we are sorry if you felt that it was better in the past. Next time,...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The views is fabulous ,I wished I can say about the foods ,it is sad to see a great ocean view ,but the style and the quality of the food is very poor ,the B B Q Ribs so dry ,looks had been out whole...More

1  Thank TONY L
ShadyMGMT, Manager at The Shady Rest Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear, Reviewer Thank you (on Mother Nature's behalf), as the view is very fabulous indeed. Though we cannot take credit for the view, we are very pleased that you liked it. To touch on your...shall we say...critique of our food, where does one begin? We...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have been here many times before and generally have enjoyed it. Except, this past Wed. night, they had a jam session, and the music was so loud, we were going to leave. However, a table came available on the back deck so we moved...More

Thank Berthab41
ShadyMGMT, Manager at The Shady Rest Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear, Reviewer We are sorry that you found the music in the Pub too loud. The entertainment in our Pub is never intended to be a burden on any of our guest's experiences; rather, we hope it adds to the overall enjoyment of your time...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The view was lovely. That's where our good fortune ended. My friend had the halibut and I had the oceanburger which is a mixture of shrimp, scallop and crab. The halibut was very dry and barely edible. My oceanburger was very crisp around the edges...More

Thank Mitzy570
ShadyMGMT, Manager at The Shady Rest Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear, Reviewer Your story is troubling, as we always aim to please our guests, and it is never our position to argue or offer attitude when one of our guests gives us feedback. If by some chance we came across negatively, please accept our apologies....More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Beautiful view but food and service are very bad save yourself from disappointment buy sandwich and go to the beach much betterMore

Thank 971brunof
ShadyMGMT, Manager at The Shady Rest Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear, Reviewer Yes. The view is beautiful, and thanks for mentioning that, but your "review" falls far short of being helpful or constructive. For now, we'll simply refer those who read your post to the HUNDREDS of satisfied guests who have taken the time to...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Walked in and we're ignored. Found our own table. Sat down. We're ignored. Finally after a long wait a server brought us a menu and commented as she walked away (without even asking if we wanted drinks), "someone will be right with you." That someone...More

Thank Wayne K
ShadyMGMT, Manager at The Shady Rest Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear, Reviewer Wow. That's quite the story. Hard to imagine a 93 year old establishment that has built a reputation on fresh food, spectacular views, and friendly - available - service could have let something like this happen, right? To be clear, we are a...More

Reviewed 21 May 2017

From the minute we walked in the door, big smiles. the service was fast and friendly, we had the mussels and the clams , both excellent. Place was packed, folks dancing and having a great time. A really good experience, will definetly be back. Parking...More

Thank Fraser M
ShadyMGMT, Manager at The Shady Rest Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear, Reviewer Many thanks for your kind review - and great details by the way. It is always a pleasure to have our guests take the time to spread a positive message about their experience with us. We are here to serve, and we look...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Deez Bar & Grill
321 reviews
1.07 km away
Giovanni's Ristorante & Lounge
308 reviews
1.52 km away
Fish Tales Cafe
269 reviews
.93 km away
Nearby Attractions
Beach Front Park
68 reviews
1.12 km away
Spider Lake Provincial Park
34 reviews
.56 km away
Qualicum Beach Museum
19 reviews
1.23 km away
Little Qualicum River Fish Hatchery
10 reviews
1.24 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
carolinet598
We are planning to come there on July 28th - there will be 18 of us. Do we need a reservation?
2 May 2017|
Answer Show all 13 answers
Response from barenda j | Reviewed this property |
Most definitely make a reservation. July is busy in the area!
1
Vote
Suxyq
Fancy gluten free items?
30 May 2015|
Answer
Response from ShadyMGMT | Property representative |
Thanks for your inquiry regarding our "gluten free" selection. Currently on our menu we feature no less than 10 items ranging from salads and soups to appetizers, main course dishes and deserts. (humble greens and albacore... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 9 - USD 24
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, View
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 3109 Island Hwy W, Qualicum Beach, British Columbia V9K 2C5, Canada
  • Location: Canada  >  British Columbia  >  Vancouver Island  >  Qualicum Beach
  • Phone Number: +1 250-752-9111
Description
The Shady has been a local tradition since 1924!Come see for yourself why we're still having fun after all these years. Great food, friendly service, and a breathtaking oceanfront setting await. We look forward to serving you!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing