We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Prime Chophouse and Wine Bar

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
1089 Braidwood Rd | Access IS Off Braidwood RD, Courtenay, British Columbia V9N 3S1, Canada
+1 250-871-7292
Website
Today
11:30 - 00:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 11:30 - 22:00
Fri - Sat 11:30 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

296 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 296: English reviews
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2016

We had dined at the Chophouse on several occasions, so when a friend invited us as her guests for NYE dinner, we were elated. I seldom have a martini any more, as they are expensive and hit hard. I ordered one for the occasion. It was watery and had minimal "punch". I mentioned it to our server. I had finished... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ian P
Prime-Management, General Manager at The Prime Chophouse and Wine Bar, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations for dinner. Thank you for taking the time to let us know where we let you down, and we would love an opportunity to make this right. Please contact us at info@theprimechophouse.com so that we can discuss your experience in greater detail. Thank you again for leaving... More 

Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2015 via mobile

Always great food my favourite restaurant in Courtenay. Great diverse menu with tonnes of choices for the food connoisseur

Helpful?
Thank Angelcatontheball
Prime-Management, General Manager at The Prime Chophouse and Wine Bar, responded to this review

We are glad to hear that you like our food. Hope to see you back soon!! More 

Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2015

After checking in at a local Bed and Breakfast, the owner recommended the Prime Chophouse. While we did not want a big meal so late in the evening, we saw that they also advertised smaller meals. The restaurant provides a ticket for a free dessert to Bed and Breakfast owners to give to their visitors so off we went to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emily1960
Prime-Management, General Manager at The Prime Chophouse and Wine Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us a review. We were sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time here at the Prime Chophouse. We hope that you will come back and give us another chance to impress you. More 

Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
600 reviews
342 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2015 via mobile

The Prime was the very first review I ever did for Trip Advisor so I was due for a follow up. We had my Christmas staff dinner and we all enjoyed the night with great food, great friendly service and great beverages! We had 3 appys to start, ribs, calamari and chicken wings. - all very good. My wife and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Smoltman
Prime-Management, General Manager at The Prime Chophouse and Wine Bar, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave us such a great review! We hope to see you back again soon! More 

Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2015

First experience at Prime was not great. Server was rude and tried to add his own tip for each bill at our table that paid via debit machine. Pork ribs entree were to die for. Steak was good. Margaritas were also good but flavor was not consistent each time I ordered one. On a second visit back, different server made... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca967
Prime-Management, General Manager at The Prime Chophouse and Wine Bar, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We are glad that you came back and enjoyed our service and food. Hope to see you back soon!! More 

Port Alberni, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2015 via mobile

We had driven by before, it was closed. But we wanted to try it out. I was almost put off by some of the reviews, but I'm glad I wasn't. Service was excellent. We too were here during the boil water time, but we were offered bottled or boiled, we chose boiled. Food was very good, restaurant was relaxing and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Glenn M
Prime-Management, General Manager at The Prime Chophouse and Wine Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for such a great review!! We are glad that you enjoyed your time at the Prime Chophouse. Thank you for your kind words. We hope to see you again very soon. More 

Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2015 via mobile

This is the third time I've tried this restaurant and will not return. We ordered drinks and asked for some water and was told boil water advisory so $2.50 for a bottle of water. Really? One of our party asked for San Pellegrino. Bread came and it is about 5 inches round. There were 6 of us. We did get... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank snow0598
Prime-Management, General Manager at The Prime Chophouse and Wine Bar, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We are sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience at Prime. Thank you for taking the time to let us know where we let you down, and we would love an opportunity to make this right. Please contact us at info@theprimechophouse.com so that we can discuss... More 

Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2015

Good food with some unusual items as well as excellent steaks. Warm, inviting atmosphere. Great service. Noisy in the wine bar but the main restaurant has attractive quiet eating areas. Rooms available for private parties. Luxurious feel to the decor. Thursday night fundraisers good idea for local charities. Fantastic burgers!

Helpful?
Thank Pat D
Prime-Management, General Manager at The Prime Chophouse and Wine Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for such a great review. We are glad that you enjoyed your time at the Prime Chophouse. We have always been in touch with the local community and support local businesses in Comox Valley. See you back soon!! More 

Powell River, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2015

The chop house has a nice atmosphere, we were welcomed at the door and seated immediately. Our server came to the table right away and took our orders....here is where the review results are SHOCKING! We both ordered a bowl of French Onion Soup. I was unable to break the bread up in mine so I let it soak in... More 

Helpful?
Thank LCL22
Prime-Management, General Manager at The Prime Chophouse and Wine Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us a review. We were sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time here at the Prime Chophouse. We hope that you will come back and give us another chance to impress you. Thanks again for taking the time to let us know that we could have done better. More 

Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2015

This chophouse could stand up with any in a larger centre. The atmosphere was divine and the wine list exhaustive. I tucked in to a delicious NY sirloin with a lobster tail right after I devoured the succulent baked garlic shrimp. Great place for a hot date, with plenty of privacy. Aged steaks make for a happy tummy. Wait staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steamer12
Prime-Management, General Manager at The Prime Chophouse and Wine Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for a great review. We would love to see you back again very soon! More 

Travellers who viewed The Prime Chophouse and Wine Bar also viewed

 
Courtenay, Comox Valley
 

Been to The Prime Chophouse and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
USD 7 - USD 22
Cuisine
American, Steakhouse, Bar, Canadian, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Private Dining, Television, Free Wifi
Good for
Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 22:00
Monday
11:30 - 22:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 22:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 22:00
Thursday
11:30 - 22:00
Friday
11:30 - 00:00
Saturday
11:30 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1089 Braidwood Rd | Access IS Off Braidwood RD, Courtenay, British Columbia V9N 3S1, Canada
  • Location: Canada  >  British Columbia  >  Vancouver Island  >  Comox Valley  >  Courtenay
  • Phone Number: +1 250-871-7292

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Prime Chophouse and Wine Bar and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Prime Chophouse and Wine Bar staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?