We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Foresters Arms

$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Pub, Contemporary
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
15 Baldwins Hill, Loughton IG10 1SF, England
+44 20 8602 5087
Website
Today
12:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 22:30
Mon - Thu 12:00 - 23:00
Fri - Sat 12:00 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

141 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 141: English reviews
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great fresh seasonal food on offer, we had a great time. We brought the retriever for a walk in Epping forest. Great time was had by all!

Helpful?
Thank Carel V
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

Went here for post dinner drinks. Staff rude and slow more interested in the mirror.drinks expensive and not good larger flat bottled larger not cold and vodka not Smirnoff as the bottle said. Will not return.

Helpful?
Thank Blub1965
Malchar, Owner at Foresters Arms, responded to this review

Hello Blud1965 the vodka connoisseur, This review sums up TripAdvisor! If you would be as kind as to tell us what day to came to the foresters arms so that I may look into the matter rather than taking your 5 minute of fame on TripAdvisor that would be great? I find it very hard to believe that the staff... More 

Level Contributor
68 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

Lunch at the Foresters Arms on a cold bright Saturday was as relaxing and pleasant a way to spend an afternoon as you would ever want. There is a large menu with food cooked to order so expect a wait while the fresh food is prepared. We had grilled lamb chops with a minted Greek salad, traditional Fish and Chips... More 

Helpful?
Thank Liz H
Malchar, Owner at Foresters Arms, responded to this review

Hello Liz H THANK YOU XX What a lovely review, thank you for taking the time to write such a honest and nice review. We cant wait to have you again!!! More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2017

My mum and I visited for lunch on a Tuesday. It was our first visit and it was lovely. Service with a smile was very welcoming and the food was very tasty. Mum had scampi and chips and I had a veggie burger with chips- a bit tight on the portion of coleslaw considering it was listed as a side,... More 

Helpful?
Thank LVM04
Malchar, Owner at Foresters Arms, responded to this review

Hello LisaManning04, Thank you for taking the time to write this nice review. I am sorry about your small coleslaw but the reason for the small size is only that we throw away a lot so on your return please feel free to ask for extra and we will be happy to accommodate! Regards Lucy More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2017

This pub really is in one of the BEST locations of any pub on outside London. Loughton is a smart Essex town with a reputation for being a "Poser/Towie" place. However, this pub is really the business. Food was bordering on Gastro, average price @£11 a main, starters and puddings all looked nice. We had posh fish & chunky chips... More 

Helpful?
Thank Keith H
Malchar, Owner at Foresters Arms, responded to this review

Hello Keith H Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice honest review. We look forward to seeing you again shortly. Regards Lucy More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2017

A good start and finish point for short walks in the best part of EppingForest . To walk downhill to this pub....take the bus from Loughton towards The Wakes Arms and alight as soon as you are at the top of Goldings Hill.

Helpful?
Thank michael l d
Malchar, Owner at Foresters Arms, responded to this review

Hello michael i d Thank you for accurate review regards Lucy More 

Loughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2016

The view from the outside drinking area is fantastic and the food rather more upmarket than you might expect. We ate there on three occasions, but on the third visit I got food poisoning (hence only 3 stars). Even then, I still like going there for drinks, but I don't eat there any more. I should add though that no... More 

Helpful?
Thank NZinLondonMagic
Malchar, Owner at Foresters Arms, responded to this review

Hello NZinLondonMagic I am very sorry for the late reply but I was waiting to hear from my EHO officer as I guested you would have been to the doctors to have made such a detrimental review against the Forester's. It would appear in fact you haven't been to the doctors to confirm your "food poisoning" Such a strong allegation... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2016

Mediocre food, small portions, non existent atmosphere, indifferent service, poor value. I can only assume we were recommended this place by someone we had offended in some way. There are now so many eating places in Loughton why go here. They say it is fresh home cooked food. It tasted more like mass catering microwaved food.

Helpful?
Thank Michael G
Malchar, Owner at Foresters Arms, responded to this review

Hello Michael G Sorry you didn't enjoy your time at the Foresters Arms, I can assure you that all our food is cooked on site with local produce NOT microwaved mass made or even brought in. I believe you were with a big group of guys that eat in here quite a lot so was a little shocked you felt... More 

woodford green
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2016

After a stroll in Epping Forrest we went into the pub and had a lovely pot of tea each. We were welcome to take the dog inside to. We found the pub to have a good atmostphere and at one end an open log fire, surrounded by sofas. We will be back for a meal one evening as the menu... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tracywillow
Malchar, Owner at Foresters Arms, responded to this review

Hello Tracywillows Thank you for taking the time to write this honest & lovely review. We hope to see you again soon. Regards Lucy More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

Nice setting. Slow service. Roast dinner no the best ,frozen from Iceland shop, over cooked greasy potatoes as it is the manager. Far from being a gastro-pub.

Helpful?
Thank Gold8383
Malchar, Owner at Foresters Arms, responded to this review

Hello Gold8383 I am very sorry you didn't enjoy your meal on Sunday & even more sorry you believed it to be from Iceland. We did not have 1 complaint Sunday so I am sorry about this & it does make me wonder if maybe you came the week before with your children? I can assure you our roast dinners... More 

Travellers who viewed Foresters Arms also viewed

 

Been to Foresters Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Contemporary
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
View, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 00:00
Saturday
12:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 15 Baldwins Hill, Loughton IG10 1SF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Loughton
  • Phone Number: +44 20 8602 5087
Description
A very panoramic and popular Loughton pub overlooking the forest. It serves lunch daily and evening meals on a Wednesday and Thursday night. Events and live music take place through out the year. Caters to all functions.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Foresters Arms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?