We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kathmandu Gurkha Restaurant and Bar

183 High Street, Clay Cross, Chesterfield S45 9EL, England
+44 1246 251674
Call
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent70%
  • Very good16%
  • Average4%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“curry” (31 reviews)
“naan bread” (21 reviews)
“lamb” (15 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Indian, Asian, Balti, Nepalese, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
183 High Street, Clay Cross, Chesterfield S45 9EL, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (409)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 408 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Love it his place. Found it a few years ago on recommendation of a colleague. Fantastic food. Lovely staff. Great location and is easy to find. Not much parking but there’s plenty nearby on side streets. Absolutely cannot fault it. The curry is the best...More

Thank 0798anne
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Eaten in a few times and several takeaways, always good, and a varied menu selection. Only difficulty can be parking.

Thank xscreamsuk
kathmandu G, Manager at Kathmandu Gurkha Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Valuable Guest, Thank you for having a meal with us hope we can serve you again.Sorry about the restricted parking space , we already realise this but we can't do anything about that . Best Wishes, Kathmandu Gurkha

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Have been here a couple of times, fantastic food and excellent service. For those who are unsure about the Nepalese dishes, there are also more familiar dishes. It is always busy when I have visited, a testament to how good it is, so i always...More

Thank KM_Derbyshire
kathmandu G, Manager at Kathmandu Gurkha Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Valuable Guest, Thank you so much for your excellent feedback , which always helps us improve our hospitality. Once again thank you and we hope to see you again very soon. Best Regards, Kathmandu Gurkha

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wow this place is AMAZING. Fantastic food flavours and great service. Delicious choice of curry's and beautiful variety.

Thank Andrew T
kathmandu G, Manager at Kathmandu Gurkha Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Andrew, Thank you so much for your great review , we hope we will see you again very soon. Best Regards, Kathmandu Gurkha

Reviewed 4 January 2018

Had eaten at this restaurant on several different occasions but the last meal we had was just about inedible. The chicken? Was so tough you could not even cut it with a knife no spices or flavour very disappointing will not be visiting againMore

Thank Cris626
kathmandu G, Manager at Kathmandu Gurkha Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Dear Cris, Thank you for your time to write a review. We are really sorry that you did not enjoy your time with us.When the waiter was serving your meal on the table you did inform us that it is a bit tough.At the same...More

Reviewed 31 December 2017

We have used this restaurant quite a lot but unfortunately, it has let itself down in recent months. We have been left waiting for food and they haven't answered the phone when we called to find out why our food is an hour and a...More

Thank MelanieSG
kathmandu G, Manager at Kathmandu Gurkha Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Dear Melanie, We have just read your review and sorry for the late reply , you had your meal in October and you just wrote a review in January.The order you took with our website , we refunded you the next day.The other one you...More

Reviewed 24 December 2017

Absolutely love this restaurant. There is a huge variety of food - good portion sizes and the staff are wonderful. Sunday's all you can eat is unreal!

Thank Julie A
kathmandu G, Manager at Kathmandu Gurkha Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Hi Julie, It's great to hear that you enjoy your time with us.We hope we can serve you again and again. Best Wishes & Happy New Year, Kathmandu Gurkha

Reviewed 22 December 2017 via mobile

Brilliant service but quite pricey. Could be a little more variety of flavour in the food but generally very nice

Thank Katie A
kathmandu G, Manager at Kathmandu Gurkha Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Dear Katie, Thank you so much for your feedback.We hope we can see you again very soon. Best Regards, Kathmandu Gurkha

Reviewed 1 December 2017

This is probably the fifth time that we have visited this restaurant. never had a bad experience yet. We took my sister and brother in law this time as a surprise treat they loved it ,had a real good time. The staff were friendly, polite,...More

Thank pebble1950
Reviewed 27 November 2017

To be clear I must say that the staff were very good - friendly, polite, quick and professional - no complaints. The food was a mixed bag - others in our party enjoyed the food but I think I ordered bad. Royal Duck failed to...More

Thank jim m
kathmandu G, General Manager at Kathmandu Gurkha Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Dear Jim, Thanks for taking the time to write about your experience with us. It's terrible to hear that you didn't your meal. The Royal Duck is a new meal, and so far many people have enjoyed it. It maybe that you didn't pick the...More

PreviousNext
12345641
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Clay Cross Hotels
Santo's Higham Farm Hotel
233 reviews
4.12 km away
The Shoulder at Hardstoft
116 reviews
4.70 km away
Days Inn Chesterfield Tibshelf
307 reviews
6.28 km away
Premier Inn Mansfield-Tibshelf
18 reviews
6.42 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Three Horseshoes
295 reviews
.47 km away
The Six Halts
220 reviews
1.12 km away
Cobs R Us Ltd
9 reviews
.47 km away
Nearby Attractions
Chuckles
13 reviews
.92 km away
The Crispin Inn
117 reviews
4.27 km away
Scotland Nurseries Garden Centre Gift Shop
107 reviews
6.27 km away
Hardwick Hall and Gardens
1,865 reviews
7.14 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
bazatpond
25 December 2014|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from 646johns646 | Reviewed this property |
Well not surprised they got your name wrong.......not very well organised. John
-1
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Delivery, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Highchairs Available
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Monday
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 183 High Street, Clay Cross, Chesterfield S45 9EL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Derbyshire  >  Chesterfield  >  Clay Cross
  • Phone Number: +44 1246 251674
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing