We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bell

) #1 of 1 Restaurants in Alderminster $$ - $$$ British, ,
Shipston Road | Alderminster, Stratford-upon-Avon, Alderminster, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 8NY, England
+44 1789 450414
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good25%
  • Average9%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“sea bream” (8 reviews)
“beef” (18 reviews)
“plaice” (7 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Shipston Road | Alderminster, Stratford-upon-Avon, Alderminster, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 8NY, England
Write a Review
Reviews (530)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 530 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

Fabulous supper, superb "Alscot" suite, delicious breakfast and faultless service. Clearly a huge amount of effort and love has gone into creating this fabulous place, and the result is quite perfect. Very many thanks.

Thank JasonEmrich
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Just back from a lovely weekend in this boutique b&b.A very special weekend for us and so pleased we chose this location.Stayed in the Garland suite which is beautifully decorated. Admittedly very hot and could have done with a fan but that is all that...More

Thank Diane D
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Just a quick review as I do think the previous reviews are praise enough and so they should be this is a stunning country pub with a beautiful restaurant and fantastic garden overlooking fields so what else can I say? ... Well here goes ,...More

1  Thank itsallintheservice
Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked a meal for a family celebration. We ordered 2 glasses of rose wine along with some other drinks. The wine arrived and it was room temperature , not chilled as it should be. We politely asked if we could change it for some...More

Thank Sassyis2
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Bell was recommended to us by locals (strangers) in the next village when we asked if there was somewhere nice for lunch. Boy is it nice! We sat in the garden for most of the afternoon had a very relaxed late lunch. The staff...More

Thank HolidayNan
TheBellOwner, Owner at The Bell, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Really delighted that you discovered The Bell and our garden - such an easy way to spend the afternoon in the sunshine. Watch this space for our new addition to the garden (an amazing shepherds hut bar). Comments duly taken on board and many thanks...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Amazing Sunday roast!! Read the reviews and they weren't wrong! If you are visiting Stratford upon Avon and fancy a drive out go to the Bell! If you like your food try extra veg and I would prefer to get mash pots with my Sunday...More

Thank helsbells16
TheBellOwner, Owner at The Bell, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Always the most popular lunch of the week! Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had Sunday lunch here (well Bank Holiday Monday but you get the idea). Food was excellent, as were the staff. No complaints.

Thank edwowen
TheBellOwner, Manager at The Bell, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Short and sweet. Thank you!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had booked a table for 4 of us a few weeks in advance and rang The Bell to check that all was ok with the booking a few hours before we arrived and all was good and I was told we had a table...More

Thank Anita1967
TheBellOwner, Owner at The Bell, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Please accept our apologies for if there was any misunderstanding on our part, we were expecting 7 people and had a lovely round table ready for you, we do appreciate that this may be a little large for 4 people but with a full restaurant...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked the Bell suite for birthday treat, the suite is really well appointed loads of room twin shower separate toilet , bath in bedroom, very quiet , the food is well worth a visit, s we are both piscaterian the choices are plentiful. Really good...More

Thank malc444
TheBellOwner, Owner at The Bell, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and thrilled that you found the food to your taste. We do pride ourselves on a great menu with a superb choice of dishes to suit all appetites, and being able to cater for all dietry requirements...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have visited this establishment many times over the years, and watched it change, from a village pub that did meals, to a restaurant, that has a bar. The food has always been good no matter who the proprietor has been, and the building lends...More

Thank Gillian M
TheBellOwner, Owner at The Bell, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Many thanks for your comments. It certainly has progressed a lot over the years although we would suggest from taking it on as a pub-restaurant with a tiny bar it has been transformed into a wonderful country gastro-pub, restaurant and luxury b&b. We totally appreciate...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Fuzzy Duck
479 reviews
4.29 km away
The Chequers Inn
469 reviews
4.39 km away
Halford Bridge
90 reviews
4.43 km away
Nearby Attractions
Red Lion
52 reviews
5.53 km away
Whichford Pottery
41 reviews
3.14 km away
Stalls Lifestyle
270 reviews
2.15 km away
Stratford-upon-Avon Butterfly Farm
1,388 reviews
6.29 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Rene H
Can we come with our well behaved Dog?
16 March 2017|
Answer Show all 6 answers
Response from TheBellOwner | Property representative |
Hello - Firstly apologies for this VERY delayed response! We are more than happy to accommodate well behaved dogs in the bar, where you can eat and choose from any menu, however dogs are not allowed in the restaurant or... More
1
Vote
helenet733
is there any parking?xx
19 October 2016|
Answer Show all 10 answers
Response from TheBellOwner | Property representative |
Hi There. We have lots of customer car parking adjacent to the premises. Kind regards.
0
Votes
Deanm1972
Hi, Can you please advise if you provide pool towels. Thanks
27 December 2014|
Answer Show all 7 answers
Response from TedHeath | Reviewed this property |
I do not think that they have a pool. BUT the rooms are lovely and definitely include towels.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 15 - USD 32
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Private Dining, Validated Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar
Good for
Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Kids, View
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Shipston Road | Alderminster, Stratford-upon-Avon, Alderminster, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 8NY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Warwickshire  >  Stratford-upon-Avon  >  Alderminster
  • Phone Number: +44 1789 450414
  • E-mail
Description
Country pub, restaurant and boutique B&B situated about 4 miles south of Stratford upon Avon on the edge of the Cotswolds. Award winning gastro pub with emphasis on taste and flavour, all dishes are imaginative and cooked fresh to order. Menu changes with the season to accommodate fresh, local and seasonal produce. Wines are handpicked and guest ales run alongside Guiness, Alscot Ale and Robinsons cider. Each of the nine rooms are individually styled with en-suite facilities and added luxuries such as L'Occitane toiletries and fresh milk and Monsoon Estates coffee. The perfect retreat for any occasion.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing