We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The George Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Long Street | Wells, Somerset, Croscombe, Wells BA5 3QH, England
+44 1749 342306
Website
Today
08:00 - 20:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 08:00 - 20:00
Mon - Thu 18:00 - 21:00
Mon - Fri 07:30 - 14:30
Fri 18:00 - 21:30
Sat 08:00 - 21:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

296 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 289: English reviews
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Friendly pub and was great that we could eat lunch with our golden labrador quietly sitting beside us. The food was absolutely delicious! Can recommend the omelette or ham, egg and chips. Cheers, really good atmosphere too and great all round experience, really glad we drove home this way.

Helpful?
Thank KatieJane1370
TheGeorgeCroscombe, Manager at The George Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments KatieJane1370, It's good to hear that dogs could be part of a pub life and that The George is this kind of pub. Obviously everything was fine for you and we are pleased to know that. Hope to see you again Best regards Bertrand Livet More 

somerset england
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

9 of us went here for my birthday. All 9 meals were superb, beautifully presented and the service was very good. There is a lovely warm welcoming atmosphere, love the fact that it is dog friendly.

Helpful?
Thank glastontraveller
TheGeorgeCroscombe, Manager at The George Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments glastontraveller, We are pleased to hear that everything went well for you and you're welcome whenever you'd like to come back. Best regards Bertrand Livet More 

Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

An unexpected visit to Wells and being stuck in a traffic jam meant I would not be home in time for lunch so I ended up here. A friendly welcome is always a good start and an interesting selection of real ales were on offer. I tried their own King George ale that was exceptionally good. It was served by... More 

Helpful?
Thank Polemicist
TheGeorgeCroscombe, Manager at The George Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments Polemicist, I'm glad the traffic was important that day ! We try to do our best to accommodate everyone at The George and apparently it worked well for you, and it's good. We will be pleased to welcome you again if one day you're around again. Best regards Bertrand Livet More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited. Here twice during a weekend away and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. It made us wish there was somewhere similar to where we live! We enjoyed a super home cooked meal on the Friday evening (the pork was sufficient to feed two, but I'm proud/ashamed to say I devoured it singlehandedly) and the lasagne was clearly home made and vanished... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dibleygirl
TheGeorgeCroscombe, Manager at The George Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments Dibleygirl, It's always good to hear such good things about The George. We are pleased that everyone finds his place either for food, drinks or entertainments. But we couldn't make it without our lovely customers like you ! Thank you and see you soon. Best regards Bertrand Livet More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Have been lunching here two or three times a year for around 2 years and it gets better every time. There is an excellent and varied menu and good local beer. Competitively priced, good service and a warm and cosy ambience even in the depths if winter.

Helpful?
Thank Alastair B
TheGeorgeCroscombe, Manager at The George Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments Alastair B, It's always a pleasure to welcome you at The George. We are glad that all we did in the pub is working. We enjoy to hear such good things from you ! See you again Regards Bertrand Livet More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
321 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Staying locally this was recommended to us as a dog friendly place to eat. How right they were a fantastic range of beers and ciders with a nice menu. Food well cooked and nice big portions staff very friendly will look in again if ever in the area. Well done

Helpful?
Thank Paul D
TheGeorgeCroscombe, Manager at The George Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for you comments Paul D, It's a pleasure to hear such good things and we're glad that dogs can be part of our pub ! We also proud of what we achieved here with a young staff, you mentioned it and thank you for that. Hope you'll be back soon. Regards Bertrand Livet More 

Burnham-on-sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2017

The food was very overrated & overpriced for the poor quality. Small portions of meat, poorly cooked veg, very little gravy & all served on cold plates. Desert was supposed to be Apple & Blaccurrant Crumble but no Blackcurrents & not informed so that we could make an alternative choice.My family had travelled quite a distance to meet up here... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank bngharrop
TheGeorgeCroscombe, Owner at The George Inn, responded to this review

Dear Bngharrop, I appreciate your frank comments, some of which we spoke about yesterday. I too am disappointed we didn't meet or exceed your expectations, as we have earned (over many years) a very good reputation for our food. The negatives that you mention obviously outweighed the positives we also spoke about, so I can only apologise. I did speak... More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

Great Veg Lasagne! As always. Great selection of beers and guest ales. Friendly pub and fantastic staff, will be back soon

Helpful?
Thank John C
TheGeorgeCroscombe, Manager at The George Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments John C, It's a pleasure to hear such good things. Hope to see you soon Regards Bertrand Livet More 

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2016

6 of us went for food mid-week in the evening. As others have said, a real country pub with a great atmosphere. When we went, it was quite busy with locals & quite a few dogs in the bar area which helped make the overall ambience great. We ate in the small separate dining area and the food was really... More 

Helpful?
Thank David C
TheGeorgeCroscombe, Manager at The George Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments David C, Your perfectly said what we are aiming for "quite busy pub with great atmosphere, food was really good" and we are glad that all our work with a young team is going so well. Hope to see you again soon. Best regards Bertrand Livet More 

Melksham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2016

simple roast meats baguette with a roast spud and gravy at 4.00 pm Sunday, can be very packed earlier, but meats were well rested and very tender the optimum time to enjoy. good ale to wash away the winter sky and warming atmosphere. cannot complain.

Helpful?
Thank Caspar H
TheGeorgeCroscombe, Manager at The George Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments Caspar H, We are glad you enjoyed your visit at the pub and hope to see you again soon. Best regards Bertrand Livet More 

Travellers who viewed The George Inn also viewed

 

Been to The George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
USD 6 - USD 25
Cuisine
British, Pub, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments
Good for
Cheap Eats, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 20:00
Monday
07:30 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
07:30 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
07:30 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:00
Thursday
07:30 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:00
Friday
07:30 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:30
Saturday
08:00 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Long Street | Wells, Somerset, Croscombe, Wells BA5 3QH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Wells  >  Croscombe
  • Phone Number: +44 1749 342306
Description
The George is an award-winning, traditional, family-owned and operated 17th century village pub. We serve fresh food prepared from local ingredients, including game and foraged foods. We grow our own veg, herbs and fruit and make our own ice creams as well (try our damson ice cream with plums from the back garden). We love cooking fresh fish and seafood from the south coast and our locally produced meat is mouth-wateringly good. We have two craft beers produced exclusively for us, three other guest ales and eight local ciders. With a lovely beer garden for the summer and a log fire in the winter, families and dog-walkers are always welcome. We have four en-suite bedrooms for b&b and a multi-purpose self-contained function room and skittles alley. But most of all there is "... ALWAYS A FRIENDLY WELCOME."

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The George Inn and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The George Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?