We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Namaskar Indian Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
10 Joll Road | Hastings, Havelock North 4130, New Zealand
+64 6-877 7208
Website
Today
11:30 - 22:00
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Tue 16:30 - 22:00
Wed - Sat 11:30 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

141 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 137: English reviews
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We were made to feel extremely welcome. The staff were very helpful and were happy to chat to work out exactly what we wanted. The goat shank (Indian hot) was probably the best goat curry I have ever had. Big words but well deserved. Slow cooked to be melt in the mouth and full of flavour. The goat saag (medium)... More 

Helpful?
Thank NickyNoosta
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Never to much to ask when they deliver. Beautiful curry and entrees. Fantastic service and food. Look forward to having a meal in one night

Helpful?
Thank ashley_sarah870
Namaskar I, Owner at Namaskar Indian Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you Ashley & Sarah for your honest review, we really appreciate it and you are most welcome to come in for dine in Thank you Team Namaskar More 

A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My wife and I were so disappointed. Very expensive for not so great food. Really poor service left us waiting for ages.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Namaskar I, Owner at Namaskar Indian Restaurant, responded to this review

it would be great if you could put your real face up than fake one NO COMMENTS !! More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and 12 yr old daughter called in for a table on Monday evening. The only table they wanted to give us was a table for two people with an extra chair added on the side in the aisle, all of this whilst there were other tables and booths empty. They obviously view a child as a poor source... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank andrew K
Namaskar I, Owner at Namaskar Indian Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi Andrew I have investigated about your review. We are really disappointed that you have wrote it with extra stuff and been angry on us without knowing real fact, we always work hard to provide best food and service to our customers, our restaurant was almost fully booked for that night, you walk in without reservation, we offered you a... More 

Hastings, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I am not the reviewing type ... but tonight, my daughter and I, ordered takeaways from Namaskar and I was completely blown away by the flavours, balance, care to detail and kind service ... I just had to say something about it. Rarely do I crave something and then have my imagination exceeded ... and with Indian food, so often,... More 

Helpful?
Thank HawthorneHouse
Namaskar I, Owner at Namaskar Indian Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your nice and honest review and glad your daughter enjoyed it, we always work hard to provide best food and service to our customers and we feel really lucky to having lovely customers like you, once again Thanking you More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The sign said $9.90 lunch special on the window, but in actual fact the lunch special if you sit in the restaurant is $11.90. However, the lunch special also turns out to be vegetarian only, I don't even know any !!!! Seemed like a bit of "bait and switch" to me. We ordered from the quite expensive menu and were... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Msbbls
Namaskar I, Owner at Namaskar Indian Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Msbbls where is the “MISLEADING SIGNAGE”?? Please see above uploaded images again and again, again and again, those images are clearly showing LUNCH SPECIAL COMBO TAKEAWAY $9.90 and DINE IN FROM $11.90 also proofs your false, misleading and unexpected review. You must apologies for that. Our locals are “AWSOME” and they are not blinds “HONESTY IS OUR BEST POLICY”... More 

Havelock North, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

Great food, varied menu selection, friendly yet unobtrusive service, reasonable pricing and pleasant surroundings in a central village location. Definitely somewhere you dine more than once.

Helpful?
1 Thank Rossey12
Namaskar I, Owner at Namaskar Indian Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you Rossey we really appreciates your review and we will always try our best More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2016

Ordered takeaways, was told 30 mins wait. When I arrived, the order had not been actioned. Server was unapologetic, unconcerned and stopped mid sentence twice to talk to other customers. Disappointing.

Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony B
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

Not only is the food fantastic here but 99% of their menu is gluten free. Many curries can also be made dairy free. They understand dietary requirements and went out of their way to accommodate me. Even more important, everything we had was delicious.

Helpful?
Thank 531michelle
Louth, Lincs, UK
Level Contributor
122 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

On the face of it this looks like any Indian restaurant so we were absolutely delighted to find the food was truly superb and the staff were excellent. It's a BYO but their drinks were reasonably priced. The chicken tikka masala which is always ordered by my husband in any Indian restaurant was the best that I've ever tasted. Highly... More 

Helpful?
Thank djcj

Travellers who viewed Namaskar Indian Restaurant also viewed

Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Namaskar Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
USD 4 - USD 18
Cuisine
Indian, Balti, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
16:30 - 22:00
Monday
16:30 - 22:00
Tuesday
16:30 - 22:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 22:00
Thursday
11:30 - 22:00
Friday
11:30 - 22:00
Saturday
11:30 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 10 Joll Road | Hastings, Havelock North 4130, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Hawke's Bay Region  >  Havelock North
  • Phone Number: +64 6-877 7208
Description
Namaskar is a classy Indian Restaurant serving authentic Indian cuisine by using local produce and authentic spices. Each dish is freshly made to order so you can experience the taste and flavour of different spices. Namaskar established in 2012 and has built its strong reputation, a family run Restaurant with a passion for quality food and great service, interior are warmly decorated with glamour wall papers and golden colour, lighting are beautiful and dimmed. This creates a smooth warm lively atmosphere. The Namaskar is a place where you can enjoy a fabulous authentic Indian meal with your friends or family in the warm and friendly surrounding.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Namaskar Indian Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?