We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Seafood, Canadian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (1,219)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
1,152 results
Traveller rating
774
196
101
48
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
774
196
101
48
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brunch tasting menu sablefish halibut bread pasta on the rocks chesterman beach window seat food and wine fine dining bc wines dining experience ocean waves canada chocolate
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

We stayed at the Wickaninnish inn 30 years ago and we had a wonderful experience that we have often recalled as one of our favorite all time places and meals - anywhere. Great food, wonderful service, and truly remarkable setting. We decided it was time...to share the experience with our family so we just brought our adult kids the 6000 km to let them also experience this remarkable place. It absolutely met our high expectations and thrilled our family. A very special place and experience. Hopefully not another 30 years before we come back.More

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

You can charge these prices if you have all the pieces in place. Food 3.5, View 5 plus, but the Knowledge of the Staff is lacking. On the day we had my Birthday (Friday night) there was no Sommelier, which is to bad, because quite...the extensive wine list. And no Maitre d’. Poor Shelby our Server wanted to do a great Job and was trying so hard, but there were no Grown ups in the room to help her when things started falling short. We were also guests of the Inn and we had Reservations to come back the next Night, which we promptly Cancelled. Only 2 choices on the menu 3 course or 5, really tough when you want to return every night in a 5 night stay. So it was to the Bar/Lounge the next night where Darcy our Waiter saved our Day. He started off quiet, but then made a joke, it was then he realized we needed to laugh. From then on a quick snack turned into eating and Drinking for a few hours, and giggling till we cried. Thank you Sir!!! No driving needed we were staying upstairs.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stocker Sandy, Other at The Pointe Restaurant At The Wickaninnish Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear 2534bayview, We appreciate you providing us with feedback of your recent stay with us and we thank you for your wonderful Reviews on our Wickaninnish Inn, On the Rocks Bar and Driftwood Café Trip Advisor pages. We are delighted to read Natalie, Shelby, Callum,...More

Reviewed 1 November 2023

We aren’t food critics and don’t normally post but some reviews of the Point are not consistent with our recent experience. For context, we are in our early sixties, have dined a fair amount in the not-quite-Michelin-Star sphere and we were enjoying a beautiful crisp,...sunny day. We made reservations well in advance and, despite not staying at the Wickaninnish, we had a window table. Our waiter was extremely knowledgeable and attentive - definitely on the upper end of our experiences. We had the Ahi Crudo, Venison Ravioli appetizers, Halibut, Sable Fish mains and Cheesecake, Spiced Apple desserts. We appreciate it when a chef incorporates locally sourced ingredients in their dishes though I, and I’m sure most, couldn’t tell you the provenance of a mushroom or slice of venison in a dish. The flavors and presentation did not disappoint - especially the Spiced Apple dessert which was a work of art as well as delicious. It was not an inexpensive meal but we enjoyed our experience and left happy and comfortably satisfied.More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 October 2023

Pretty dining room in a classic west coast setting. Service was just ok. Felt kinda stuffy and pretentious for no good reason. There was really nothing spectacular about the place. We had spent an evening at Pluvio in Ucluelet a few nights prior, where the...service was top notch, so perhaps that coloured our experience. The food at The Pointe was not good. From the bread to the dessert there wasn’t a single thing I put in my mouth and thought “oh wow! That was really good!” They are trying really hard to cater to the hipster crowd and I think are focusing more on trying to impress you with tales of how the seaweed in your salad was scavenged on the beach, and the mushrooms on your plate were scraped off a tree outside, rather than focusing on creating dishes that actually taste enjoyable. I actually wouldn’t recommend this place based on our experience. Lots of better places to check out!More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stocker Sandy, Other at The Pointe Restaurant At The Wickaninnish Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2023

Dear Brittni W, Thank you for providing us with feedback on your recent visit at The Pointe Restaurant and we certainly agree that Pluvio Restaurant + Rooms does offer its guests an outstanding dining experience. Please accept our most sincere apology that The Pointe Restaurant...More

Reviewed 19 October 2023

The view is amazing for sure - we didnt get a window table as that for guest of resort, however still was great. The staff was good but not great - had to ask for ice, water, etc all the time. The food items are...not great for selection - zero salads and limited choice - plus very pricey. We ordered the Halibut- was so so. The side were not good at all and not worth the price. The coffee drink was good after dinner "the nutty tofitian". Not worth the priceMore

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stocker Sandy, Other at The Pointe Restaurant At The Wickaninnish Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2023

Dear Ottawa2019, Many thanks for providing us with feedback on your recent dining experience at The Pointe Restaurant and we are delighted to read you appreciated the view from your table location. While we do hold our window tables for our in-house guests, as The...More

Reviewed 22 September 2023

Every once in a while it is fun to splurge on an old fashioned pretentious restaurant like the Pointe. You can't even get into the property without checking in with the "ambassador" at the guard shack. The view of the ocean and North Chesterman Beach...is great, the service was professional and pleasant, and the food was good, if expensive (as anticipated). Unfortunately, the portions were small. Even though we are not big eaters, my wife and I had to have a snack when we returned to our cottage. All in all, we were glad we went.More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stocker Sandy, Other at The Pointe Restaurant At The Wickaninnish Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2023

Dear SierraWanderer2013, We are pleased you enjoyed your recent dining experience at The Pointe Restaurant and appreciated the 240° view of the Pacific Ocean, surrounding islands and Chesterman Beach. As you mentioned, we do have a Welcome Ambassador located at the entrance to our property...More

Reviewed 12 August 2023

What an incredible meal and setting. The restaurant is gorgeous with the most incredible view of the ocean and coast line. The ambience is wonderful. We were on our Honeymoon at the time of visiting and they did a lovely touch of making a personalised...menu saying congratulations at the top! The waiters were extremely knowledgeable, efficient and friendly providing an amazing service. It didn’t feel pretentious at all; I felt like it was perfect balance. The food was sublime as well as the drinks. It is on the expensive side, but I think it’s worth it for the quality of the food and the setting.More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 July 2023 via mobile

Not what we thought it would be as we set out for our beach walk but it was far better. Quite expensive but worth every cent. The chowder was superb as were the burgers and the service was the best we’ve experienced in Canada. Find...a reason to go.More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 July 2023 via mobile

Absolutely wonderful staff, view and food - really all must come first but that was how it happened. Attention to detail care - wonderful. Thank you

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 July 2023 via mobile

Had probably the most memorable meal of our holiday when we came for breakfast at this restaurant. It offers an affordable brunch menu, and when we came it was not too busy, so we easily got one of their best tables. The view is absolutely...incredible! Has to be seen in real life… it was a sunny day when we went, which always makes it look more spectacular, although I am advised it is also well placed for storm watching, being so close to the sea. The food was amazing, and our server was very attentive and kind. Would recommend the smoked salmon rosti. We were enjoying the experience so much that we stayed for a breakfast dessert. This was no problem for our server and out came the evening dessert menu. It was rude not to! Would 100% recommend for brunch, really made our time in Tofino!More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 June 2023 via mobile

Very friendly service with a wonderful view of Chesterman Beach. Lunch menu has plenty of options plus a vegetarian menu. Service was attentive and the course selection was very well explained.More

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stocker Sandy, Other at The Pointe Restaurant At The Wickaninnish Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2023

Dear Aproposltd, Thank you for sharing your experience at The Pointe Restaurant for lunch with our Trip Advisor Community. We are delighted you particularly appreciated the service and selections available, including those on our vegetarian menu. We hope to welcome you back to The Pointe...More

Reviewed 15 June 2023 via mobile

Really enjoyable at the Pointe restaurant for my wife’s birthday and our honeymoon special dinner. 10/10 service from the start with personalised menus, excellent recommendations for food and wine and also acocmodating a table move to have a prime spot view! Unfortunately the food didn’t...quite live up to the service for us. Although it was local ingredients, we felt the tasting menu was trying to overcomplicate the food a little too much which didn’t work on a number of dishes both taste and texture wise. Despite this, the service and setting really pulled through (as well as the wine) to make it a very nice evening.More

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stocker Sandy, Other at The Pointe Restaurant At The Wickaninnish Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2023

Dear tomstone9, We are delighted you enjoyed your dining experience at The Pointe Restaurant during your honeymoon in celebration of your wife’s birthday. It is wonderful to read that our team was able to provide you with the best possible view and that you appreciated...More

Reviewed 19 May 2023

We arrived here by accident, we had been directed to the Driftwood Café but that was closed. We had an excellent meal a burger and fries and a roasted carrot salad, quite nice, Cheerful friendly staff, $79.68 for the two of us including drinksMore

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stocker Sandy, Other at The Pointe Restaurant At The Wickaninnish Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2023

Dear PBPG, Thank you for sharing your experience at The Pointe Restaurant with our online community. We're delighted that you enjoyed an excellent meal with a burger, fries, and a roasted carrot salad and thrilled to hear you enjoyed the service provided by our team....More

Reviewed 16 May 2023

Chose The Pointe restaurant primarily based on the location of the Wickaninnish Inn and its reputation. Its situation over on of the Tofino beaches is one of a kind as is the Inn itself. Just visiting the place is an experience but you need a...reason to be there (controlled entry) so lunch is the best option. The restaurant is a fabulous, multisided, wooden structure with full length windows providing 270 degree view of the beach. Given the impressiveness of the building and view, the lunch was secondary. However, we enjoyed a burger meal with impeccable service at a price not much more than a local restaurant. The accompanying fries were said to be house cut but didn't seem so and the burger meat seemed of lesser quality (bits of gristle). As a restaurant guest, we could wander the site and beach. I would recommend going here for sure, not just for the lunch.More

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stocker Sandy, Other at The Pointe Restaurant At The Wickaninnish Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2023

Dear DRG92022, Thank you for sharing your experience at The Pointe Restaurant with our online community and we are thrilled you particularly enjoyed the view from the Restaurant as well as the service provided by our team. As our culinary team utilizes only the best...More

Reviewed 8 May 2023

This is one of the most beautiful places to have dinner. Unfortunately, the food does not quite match the scenery. The service is impeccable as the waitress attended to every detail. We ordered two appetizers and two mains. At the Farquhar end halibut ceviche. Both...were just ok. The lamb dish in one word is stingy. Think I can finish it in 2 bites. But this is not recommended as it’s overcooked and tough. My wife had the duck. That was adequately portioned and tasted good. There is complimentary bread. So I was adequately fed.More

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stocker Sandy, Other at The Pointe Restaurant At The Wickaninnish Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2023

Dear Jerry C, We are pleased you enjoyed the view of the Pacific Ocean and surrounding islands while dining at The Pointe Restaurant and appreciated the service provided by our team. We were, however, most disappointed to read that you did not enjoy all aspects...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Wickaninnish Inn
1,990 reviews
.05 km away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort
2,532 reviews
.49 km away
Ocean Village Resort
1,946 reviews
.70 km away
Best Western Plus Tin Wis Resort
1,933 reviews
.91 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Chocolate Tofino
1,053 reviews
.72 km away
wildside grill
1,127 reviews
.73 km away
Tacofino Cantina
2,469 reviews
.78 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Chesterman Beach
1,543 reviews
.40 km away
Tofino Botanical Gardens
373 reviews
1.44 km away
Henry's Carving Shed
25 reviews
.13 km away
Raincoast Education Society
12 reviews
1.44 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Sari8525
21 July 2022|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from guestrelationswick | Property representative |
Dear DayTrip42957406091, Thank you for your interest in The Pointe Restaurant. At this time we are accepting reservations for dinner exclusively for our hotel guests, however we are welcoming guests not staying with us to... More
0
Votes
H3745ZRsarahj
22 January 2022|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from guestrelationswick | Property representative |
Dear H3745ZRsarahj, Thank you for your interest in dining at The Pointe Restaurant. We do require that both our guests and our team be fully vaccinated. Throughout this Covid-19 pandemic we made a commitment to meet or at... More
0
Votes
Tanya F
7 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from guestrelationswick | Property representative |
Hello Tanya F, Thank you for your question regarding the view from the Rainforest section of The Pointe Restaurant. We have just recently renovated The Pointe Restaurant and our On-The-Rocks Lounge and we no longer have the... More
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE POINTE RESTAURANT AT THE WICKANINNISH INN, Tofino - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Pointe Restaurant At The Wickaninnish Inn

The Pointe Restaurant at the Wickaninnish Inn is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5