We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Seafood, Canadian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (1,223)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
1,156 results
Traveller rating
777
196
101
49
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
777
196
101
49
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brunch tasting menu sablefish halibut bread pasta on the rocks chesterman beach window seat food and wine fine dining bc wines dining experience ocean waves canada chocolate
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

First time back in 14 years. We had the tasting menu with wine pairings, Food was excellent and the wine choices went well with the food. Michael the waiter was exceptional in his knowledge and service. One our best meals of all time and we...have had many through out the world.More

Date of visit: June 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed yesterday

We were very disappointed with our food. For the reviews and price we never thought we would have to send food back to the kitchen. My friend could not eat her dry and tough buffalo tongue sandwich. After the replacement arrived it was tender and...juicy sliced thinly which should have been done the first time. My mushroom risotto was mushy. Definitely over cooked but I did not send it back. One meal at the table was enough embarrassment to return to the chef. The seafood chowder was enjoyed by three of us , however we each had 1 to 2 shrimp and a little fish in each bowl. Great flavor but mostly potatoes. Over all we felt the chef on that day was lazy which was disappointing. We are not fussy eaters either. The view and waiter were fabulous though. Being with good friends made up for the poor quality of food.More

Date of visit: June 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 days ago

Oh my gosh the food and service were first class Everything we ordered was great tasting and very well presented We had the octopus starter Halibut and black cod desert was over the top the chocolate lovers dream

Date of visit: June 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

On the May long weekend we hosted our daughters and son in laws for a special supper to celebrate our 50th Anniversary. The accolades from all involved continue to come in and memories will last forever. Until next visit at least! The view alone is...so so spectacular and can’t be equalled. Shelby (and her crew of helpers) provided a level of service that we have never experienced before. How they coordinated the diversity of our orders will remain a mystery. My wife and I had the five course tasting menu (how could we resist with a personalized menu😀). One other went with the three course and others ordered individual items as desired.. All to rave reviews! The flavours, the quality, the presentation, exceeded expectations. Special thanks also to Jaimee for her follow up service and to all the kitchen staff. We hope to return again and are so proud to have such a perfect destination as the Wickannish Inn in our beautiful country!More

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at the Wickaninnish inn 30 years ago and we had a wonderful experience that we have often recalled as one of our favorite all time places and meals - anywhere. Great food, wonderful service, and truly remarkable setting. We decided it was time...to share the experience with our family so we just brought our adult kids the 6000 km to let them also experience this remarkable place. It absolutely met our high expectations and thrilled our family. A very special place and experience. Hopefully not another 30 years before we come back.More

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 April 2024

You can charge these prices if you have all the pieces in place. Food 3.5, View 5 plus, but the Knowledge of the Staff is lacking. On the day we had my Birthday (Friday night) there was no Sommelier, which is to bad, because quite...the extensive wine list. And no Maitre d’. Poor Shelby our Server wanted to do a great Job and was trying so hard, but there were no Grown ups in the room to help her when things started falling short. We were also guests of the Inn and we had Reservations to come back the next Night, which we promptly Cancelled. Only 2 choices on the menu 3 course or 5, really tough when you want to return every night in a 5 night stay. So it was to the Bar/Lounge the next night where Darcy our Waiter saved our Day. He started off quiet, but then made a joke, it was then he realized we needed to laugh. From then on a quick snack turned into eating and Drinking for a few hours, and giggling till we cried. Thank you Sir!!! No driving needed we were staying upstairs.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stocker Sandy, Other at The Pointe Restaurant At The Wickaninnish Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2024

Dear 2534bayview, We appreciate you providing us with feedback of your recent stay with us and we thank you for your wonderful Reviews on our Wickaninnish Inn, On the Rocks Bar and Driftwood Café Trip Advisor pages. We are delighted to read Natalie, Shelby, Callum,...More

Reviewed 1 November 2023

We aren’t food critics and don’t normally post but some reviews of the Point are not consistent with our recent experience. For context, we are in our early sixties, have dined a fair amount in the not-quite-Michelin-Star sphere and we were enjoying a beautiful crisp,...sunny day. We made reservations well in advance and, despite not staying at the Wickaninnish, we had a window table. Our waiter was extremely knowledgeable and attentive - definitely on the upper end of our experiences. We had the Ahi Crudo, Venison Ravioli appetizers, Halibut, Sable Fish mains and Cheesecake, Spiced Apple desserts. We appreciate it when a chef incorporates locally sourced ingredients in their dishes though I, and I’m sure most, couldn’t tell you the provenance of a mushroom or slice of venison in a dish. The flavors and presentation did not disappoint - especially the Spiced Apple dessert which was a work of art as well as delicious. It was not an inexpensive meal but we enjoyed our experience and left happy and comfortably satisfied.More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 October 2023

Pretty dining room in a classic west coast setting. Service was just ok. Felt kinda stuffy and pretentious for no good reason. There was really nothing spectacular about the place. We had spent an evening at Pluvio in Ucluelet a few nights prior, where the...service was top notch, so perhaps that coloured our experience. The food at The Pointe was not good. From the bread to the dessert there wasn’t a single thing I put in my mouth and thought “oh wow! That was really good!” They are trying really hard to cater to the hipster crowd and I think are focusing more on trying to impress you with tales of how the seaweed in your salad was scavenged on the beach, and the mushrooms on your plate were scraped off a tree outside, rather than focusing on creating dishes that actually taste enjoyable. I actually wouldn’t recommend this place based on our experience. Lots of better places to check out!More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stocker Sandy, Other at The Pointe Restaurant At The Wickaninnish Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2023

Dear Brittni W, Thank you for providing us with feedback on your recent visit at The Pointe Restaurant and we certainly agree that Pluvio Restaurant + Rooms does offer its guests an outstanding dining experience. Please accept our most sincere apology that The Pointe Restaurant...More

Reviewed 19 October 2023

The view is amazing for sure - we didnt get a window table as that for guest of resort, however still was great. The staff was good but not great - had to ask for ice, water, etc all the time. The food items are...not great for selection - zero salads and limited choice - plus very pricey. We ordered the Halibut- was so so. The side were not good at all and not worth the price. The coffee drink was good after dinner "the nutty tofitian". Not worth the priceMore

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stocker Sandy, Other at The Pointe Restaurant At The Wickaninnish Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2023

Dear Ottawa2019, Many thanks for providing us with feedback on your recent dining experience at The Pointe Restaurant and we are delighted to read you appreciated the view from your table location. While we do hold our window tables for our in-house guests, as The...More

Reviewed 22 September 2023

Every once in a while it is fun to splurge on an old fashioned pretentious restaurant like the Pointe. You can't even get into the property without checking in with the "ambassador" at the guard shack. The view of the ocean and North Chesterman Beach...is great, the service was professional and pleasant, and the food was good, if expensive (as anticipated). Unfortunately, the portions were small. Even though we are not big eaters, my wife and I had to have a snack when we returned to our cottage. All in all, we were glad we went.More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stocker Sandy, Other at The Pointe Restaurant At The Wickaninnish Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2023

Dear SierraWanderer2013, We are pleased you enjoyed your recent dining experience at The Pointe Restaurant and appreciated the 240° view of the Pacific Ocean, surrounding islands and Chesterman Beach. As you mentioned, we do have a Welcome Ambassador located at the entrance to our property...More

Reviewed 12 August 2023

What an incredible meal and setting. The restaurant is gorgeous with the most incredible view of the ocean and coast line. The ambience is wonderful. We were on our Honeymoon at the time of visiting and they did a lovely touch of making a personalised...menu saying congratulations at the top! The waiters were extremely knowledgeable, efficient and friendly providing an amazing service. It didn’t feel pretentious at all; I felt like it was perfect balance. The food was sublime as well as the drinks. It is on the expensive side, but I think it’s worth it for the quality of the food and the setting.More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 July 2023 via mobile

Not what we thought it would be as we set out for our beach walk but it was far better. Quite expensive but worth every cent. The chowder was superb as were the burgers and the service was the best we’ve experienced in Canada. Find...a reason to go.More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 July 2023 via mobile

Absolutely wonderful staff, view and food - really all must come first but that was how it happened. Attention to detail care - wonderful. Thank you

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 July 2023 via mobile

Had probably the most memorable meal of our holiday when we came for breakfast at this restaurant. It offers an affordable brunch menu, and when we came it was not too busy, so we easily got one of their best tables. The view is absolutely...incredible! Has to be seen in real life… it was a sunny day when we went, which always makes it look more spectacular, although I am advised it is also well placed for storm watching, being so close to the sea. The food was amazing, and our server was very attentive and kind. Would recommend the smoked salmon rosti. We were enjoying the experience so much that we stayed for a breakfast dessert. This was no problem for our server and out came the evening dessert menu. It was rude not to! Would 100% recommend for brunch, really made our time in Tofino!More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 June 2023 via mobile

Very friendly service with a wonderful view of Chesterman Beach. Lunch menu has plenty of options plus a vegetarian menu. Service was attentive and the course selection was very well explained.More

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stocker Sandy, Other at The Pointe Restaurant At The Wickaninnish Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2023

Dear Aproposltd, Thank you for sharing your experience at The Pointe Restaurant for lunch with our Trip Advisor Community. We are delighted you particularly appreciated the service and selections available, including those on our vegetarian menu. We hope to welcome you back to The Pointe...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Wickaninnish Inn
1,997 reviews
.05 km away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort
2,545 reviews
.49 km away
Ocean Village Resort
1,959 reviews
.70 km away
Best Western Plus Tin Wis Resort
1,940 reviews
.91 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Chocolate Tofino
1,053 reviews
.72 km away
wildside grill
1,127 reviews
.73 km away
Tacofino Cantina
2,470 reviews
.78 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Chesterman Beach
1,543 reviews
.40 km away
Tofino Botanical Gardens
373 reviews
1.44 km away
Henry's Carving Shed
25 reviews
.13 km away
Raincoast Education Society
12 reviews
1.44 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Sari8525
21 July 2022|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from guestrelationswick | Property representative |
Dear DayTrip42957406091, Thank you for your interest in The Pointe Restaurant. At this time we are accepting reservations for dinner exclusively for our hotel guests, however we are welcoming guests not staying with us to... More
0
Votes
H3745ZRsarahj
22 January 2022|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from guestrelationswick | Property representative |
Dear H3745ZRsarahj, Thank you for your interest in dining at The Pointe Restaurant. We do require that both our guests and our team be fully vaccinated. Throughout this Covid-19 pandemic we made a commitment to meet or at... More
0
Votes
Tanya F
7 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from guestrelationswick | Property representative |
Hello Tanya F, Thank you for your question regarding the view from the Rainforest section of The Pointe Restaurant. We have just recently renovated The Pointe Restaurant and our On-The-Rocks Lounge and we no longer have the... More
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE POINTE RESTAURANT AT THE WICKANINNISH INN, Tofino - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Pointe Restaurant At The Wickaninnish Inn

The Pointe Restaurant At The Wickaninnish Inn is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5