We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Tickled Trout

33-35 Valley Road, Barlow, Chesterfield S18 7SL, England
+44 114 289 1111
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent71%
  • Very good18%
  • Average6%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“trout” (63 reviews)
“pizza” (88 reviews)
“arancini” (20 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Italian, Bar, Pizza, European, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
33-35 Valley Road, Barlow, Chesterfield S18 7SL, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (760)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 759 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited with friends on Monday which is pie night. Not a great selection of food but my steak and ale pie with chips and mushy peas was delicious. Lovely pub with a great choice of ales and lagers and very friendly staff. Not a great...More

1  Thank Glyn F
Chris M, Owner at The Tickled Trout, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Glyn F Thank you for your review, we do very much appreciate you taking the time. On a Monday we do a special menu of our delicious pie or a Monday mezze board. Both are delicious options but of course this is a very...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited after my wife came earlier in the year and said how good it was. Have to say, I wasn’t impressed although maybe we just visited on an off night. Full disclosure, we were 5 minutes late for our table, so that possibly lead to...More

4  Thank Christopher M
Chris M, Owner at The Tickled Trout, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Christopher M I am upset to receive comments like this although I am of course delighted that you enjoyed the dishes you ate. This is not the usual review we receive regarding the front of house team. Most of my team have been with...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Took a family member with us , he loved it. For a while I have been eyeing up the mackerel croquettes & OMG they didn’t disappoint, I was in fish heaven, so so tasty 😋, even the purée, if I wasn’t in the restaurant, I...More

Thank Pebbles2731
Chris M, Owner at The Tickled Trout, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for writing such a great review for us. We have received good feedback about the mackerel crockets; they are made from a mixture of our home smoked and fresh Cornish mackerel. The 'puree' is our twist on ketchup - made from gooseberries from...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Hard man to please Kids love the pizza Whitebait good sharer Great bathroom Staff very good How to improve : coffee top ups

1  Thank KJRaine
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Took our friends out for a meal here after it was recommended to us and I have to say we were very disappointed. The menu is ok nothing special and for the portion sizes I thought it was very over priced . I don't mind...More

1  Thank rach2311
Chris M, Owner at The Tickled Trout, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

If we receive a poor review we are mortified as a team. We conduct a review and try to make amends. However, we honestly believe there is something a little fishy with this one and to be honest we feel it is a little spiteful....More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very friendly and welcoming staff, and beautifully laid out pub/restaurant. Very clean toilets with smart and unusual tap/hand dryer. We had carrot and cumin soup with home made bread - delicious! and I had the sea bass which was cooked to perfection, a little mix...More

Thank Kevin_cahill3106
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We three old codgers dropped in at lunchtime unannounced. Our boots, slightly mucky, were welcome in the immaculate dining area. Friendly staff were happy to accommodate our deafness and turn off the music in our corner. The food was beautifully served up on very attractive...More

Thank mybetterhalf
Chris M, Owner at The Tickled Trout, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

So pleased you called to dine with us on your walk - Barlow is stunning at this time of year. Must admit this is a review that genuinely brought a smile to my face! I really do hope you return again soon, with or without...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What a fabulous place to dine in. I asked some advice on cooking Michelin style from head chef Chris and he was very forthcoming. Fresh trout from the mill pond a stone's throw from the restaurant was delicious. I highly recommend staying in the holiday...More

Thank Honeysuckle W
Chris M, Owner at The Tickled Trout, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

It was great to meet you and I am so pleased you enjoyed staying with us. I hope you will enjoy cooking trout! We do very much appreciate you taking the time to write a review for us and hopefully we can welcome you back...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is/ has been one of my favourite places to eat! I love the Italian inspired menu within a Castro pub environment! I always feel welcome here, the staff are lovely and friendly. Food was excellent as always, plenty of choice and tasty. The only...More

1  Thank Rachel S
Chris M, Owner at The Tickled Trout, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Rachel S We really do appreciate our regular customers and I am so sorry that the service wasn't up to our normal standard on this visit. I hope I can reassure you that this was a one off and we will redeem ourselves your...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We went for an jerky evening meal on Monday. The pie , mash and mushy peas were perfect. When it said meat pie it certainly was packed with meat! The charcuterie board too was excellent some very tasty meats and the arancine was the crown...More

Thank Julie M F
Chris M, Owner at The Tickled Trout, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for such a great review. We very much appreciate our regular guests. We have recently started opening on a Monday and our pies and Mezze boards are proving very popular! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best wishes Chris

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Peacock Inn Cutthorpe
383 reviews
2.11 km away
Rutland Arms
18 reviews
2.73 km away
The Peacock at Barlow
398 reviews
1.11 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Miners Arms
17 reviews
5.12 km away
The Forge Shopping Centre
31 reviews
3.42 km away
Cross Daggers
16 reviews
4.71 km away
Linacre Reservoir
233 reviews
3.51 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
DaveAnnChesterfield
20 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Kevin_cahill3106 | Reviewed this property |
Yes I believe they have baby changing facilities in the disabled toilet
0
Votes
1wilma
22 September 2017|
Answer
Response from Chris M | Property representative |
Yes, our quiz starts at 730 every Sunday evening - this week we have a special one as its our 100th quiz! Hope you will be able to join us.
0
Votes
Alice W
12 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Chris M | Property representative |
Hi, we do welcome dogs in our lounge area but not in the restaurant. A full menu is available in the lounge area and tables can be requested to be booked (which is advisable at busy times)
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 5 - USD 24
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Validated Parking, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Monday
5:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 33-35 Valley Road, Barlow, Chesterfield S18 7SL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Derbyshire  >  Chesterfield  >  Barlow
  • Phone Number: +44 114 289 1111
  • E-mail
Description
"Derbyshire Pride. Italian Inspiration." Proud of Derbyshire and inspired by Italy, that sums us up really. We use the finest locally sourced ingredients to create delicious food that has an Italian twist. Visitors to the Tickled Trout in Barlow are guaranteed a warm welcome, relaxed surroundings and a great choice of top-notch food. It is advisable to book a table either by our on-line reservation system on our website or the traditional way by phone! Also like us on Facebook for regular updates....
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing