We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Tickled Trout

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
33-35 Valley Road, Barlow, Chesterfield S18 7SL, England
+44 114 289 1111
Website
Today
11:00 - 23:00
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 - 22:00
Tue - Sat 11:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

627 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 626: English reviews
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Lovely restaurant , great relaxed atmospher with friendly, attentive efficient staff who always make you feel welcome and that nothing is too much. We have been to this restaurant on several occasions as a couple or with family and always enjoyed the food - different menu than anything else in area and good variety to suit various tastes, We visited... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jeanne6648
Chris M, General Manager at The Tickled Trout, responded to this review

Thank you for being a regular supporter of the Tickled Trout I am pleased you enjoy your visits. Thank you for your feedback, I am surprised you found the samphire tough as we haven’t had a problem with but it is going out of season so we will probably not be using it anymore thus ensuring that the quality of... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Limited choice on the menu but custmer service was first class. Ambience was relaxed and comfortable. Good choice of wines and an ideal place to dine with friends

Helpful?
Thank Col1952
Chris M, Owner at The Tickled Trout, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, and your kind words regarding the front of house team – they will very much appreciate it. I am surprised you found the menu limited (only 2 reviews below it was described as extensive!) We are however careful with the menu though as pride ourselves on the high quality food we produce. We prepare everything... More 

Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

I can only applaud the restaurant for the setting, decor, airy light filled rooms, staff and the food. All courses well prepared and of a high quality - if this is the set menu really looking forward to returning to try the a la carte menu. Separately the local blonde ale (Bradfield brewery?) was of the highest order. Well done... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Rej1964
Chris M, Owner at The Tickled Trout, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words and for taking time to write a review for us. We do pride ourselves on a great Sunday roast but equally we produce a high quality varied menu for other days. Our Festive Features menu at the moment is also proving popular so I do hope you will return again soon! Bradfield Farmers Blonde... More 

Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
243 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We had been out visiting gardens centres and looking for somewhere to have lunch when we came across the Tickled Trout so we parked up and went in, A nice warm welcome greeted us with a real log fire, the restaurant is modern and had an Italian feel to it, there is an extensive menu and daily specials, we only... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jeff R
Chris M, Owner at The Tickled Trout, responded to this review

Thank you for your review it is much appreciated. I am pleased you found us and I do hope you will visit again! Best wishes Chris More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Been there for work and taken teh wife there for dinner on a later date. Excellent menu with great options and all food is very nicely presented and prepared. Nice layout with a wood burner for cold winter nights.

Helpful?
Thank Martin G
Chris M, Owner at The Tickled Trout, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and your kind words. I am delighted you enjoyed your visits to the Ticked Trout. The wood burner is certainly popular at the moment! I hope we can welcome you back again Best wishes Chris More 

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited with my partner for our anniversary meal and we was really impressed! Decor is lovely inside, Food is great quality and really tasty. Generous portion sizes which is what you want for the price you pay. Staff friendly enough. Only thing I wasn't a fan of, was the amount of salt in the food, I had beef and red... More 

Helpful?
Thank laureen_x
Chris M, Owner at The Tickled Trout, responded to this review

I am pleased you enjoyed celebrating your anniversary at the Tickled Tout. We do season the water in which the chips are precooked, I did try them and they were ok for salt however we do season after frying and it may be that the cloth that they are drained on and seasoned had more salt than normal and stuck... More 

Chest Springs, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

The surrounding are warm and comfortable My criticism would be some very strange combinations on menu We all quite enjoyed the food I had the aubergine bake which I found disappointing My husband had fish which he enjoyed I think trying to hard to be different meal choices There were 6 of us booked for my husbands birthday

Helpful?
Thank Amc165
Chris M, Owner at The Tickled Trout, responded to this review

Although I am pleased your party of friends enjoyed the food I am sorry you were disappointed with the aubergine bake as it is a very popular dish even with non-vegetarians– if we had been made aware at the time we could have changed it for you. I am also not sure about your comment about strange combinations – most... More 

Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just had another meal at the TT and it was really nice with one exception, the special soup - the pumpkin & parmesan with chicken wing and amaretti - disgusting! This combination just didn't work and unfortunately on this occasion the TT tried to be something it isn't - unless Heston was visiting the kitchen of course. Everything else was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Diddlum
Chris M, Owner at The Tickled Trout, responded to this review

I am pleased you enjoyed your food but I am surprised at your comment about the soup – it is a favourite of many customers and we actually kept it longer on the specials board as it had such good feedback! The flavours are matched well and it is actually based on a recipe which I used in a Michelin... More 

Dronfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The best Sunday lunch ever. I had not been to the tickled trout for some time but decided to go for lunch on a very wet Sunday. I did not think excellent the food there could get any better! It was perfect. The staff were efficient but had time to be pleasant and friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Julie M F
Chris M, Owner at The Tickled Trout, responded to this review

Thank you for your review I am delighted you enjoyed your Sunday lunch at the Tickled Trout and I do hope we can welcome you back again soon Best wishes Chris More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The arancini balls at The Tickled Trout are out of this world. My friend and I shared them with a salad and it was a great start to our meal. The mains and desserts were also tasty, but the starters were the star for us!

Helpful?
Thank Jess B
Chris M, Owner at The Tickled Trout, responded to this review

Thank you for your review I am delighted you enjoyed your visit to the Tickled Trout, the Arancini are certainly a firm favourite with many of our customers! I do hope we can welcome you back again soon Best wishes Chris More 

Travellers who viewed The Tickled Trout also viewed

Chesterfield, Derbyshire
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
 
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Tickled Trout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
USD 5 - USD 23
Cuisine
Italian, Bar, Pizza, European, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Validated Parking, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 33-35 Valley Road, Barlow, Chesterfield S18 7SL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Derbyshire  >  Chesterfield  >  Barlow
  • Phone Number: +44 114 289 1111
Description
"Derbyshire Pride. Italian Inspiration." Proud of Derbyshire and inspired by Italy, that sums us up really. We use the finest locally sourced ingredients to create delicious food that has an Italian twist. Visitors to the Tickled Trout in Barlow are guaranteed a warm welcome, relaxed surroundings and a great choice of top-notch food. It is advisable to book a table either by our on-line reservation system on our website or the traditional way by phone! Also like us on Facebook for regular updates....

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Tickled Trout and other visitors
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Tickled Trout staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?