We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The New Harp Inn

$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Pub, Grill, Vegetarian Friendly
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Hoarwithy Hereford, Hoarwithy, Hereford HR2 6QH, England
+44 1432 840900
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

299 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 299: English reviews
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEW

My family and I had a day out and stopped off for lunch at The New Harp Inn. As I didn't have breakfast that morning my partner and i decided to share a "bench" meal with ribs, wings, burger, onion rings, chips,salad, various sweets and a drink! The burger was the best I have ever had and the ribs were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pamela B
Ewyas Harold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

A lovely accommodating and friendly Inn serving a fantastic array of seafood on a huge picnic bench. We couldn't help but gasp at the huge picnic bench displayed with fish and chips, prawns, salmon, mussels etc and a lovely selection of puds. The chips were out of this world and the selection of seafood was perfectly cooked and was complimented... More 

Helpful?
Thank kathrc4
Bosbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

My partner and I decided to have a date night here. We had a very warm and friendly welcome, once we ordered the food arrived promptly and to be honest was absolutely fabulous, especially my steak, which was cooked to perfection. The staff could not do enough for us and the food was way beyond what you would expect from... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Visited The New Harp Inn last Saturday at 12pm on a recommendation from a family member, took my niece and nephew. We ordered 2 Burger Bench Meals (each one shared between 2) for £14.95 each, wonderful food with something for everyone on the bench even the kids were happy. The chips are the best chips I think I have had... More 

Helpful?
Thank emma2k47
Chambery, France
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We just called n for a drink to find three men at the bar. We felt unwelcome although the barman was friendly enough. We didn't return....

Helpful?
Thank MagsGBG
Hoarwithy, Owner at The New Harp Inn, responded to this review

Well you cant please everyone all of the time, this is a pub and we have drinkers, some only want diners, but we strive to do our best for both, So the barman was friendly, and three men (regulars) were sat at the bar, this is what happens in English pubs, people sit at the bar to drink....... what more... More 

Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

without being rude, it's going to be difficult to write this review. We've eaten at the pub before, and not had any complaints, but sadly this time around it was almost inedible. (I should have taken a photo) and we only ate it because we were so hungry. When we opened the box, we both actually laughed. The fish was... More 

Helpful?
Thank BigGstaxi
Hoarwithy, Owner at The New Harp Inn, responded to this review

If it was as bad, as you say you should have at least given us a phone call to complain, It is very hard to make amends if you don't know about something. however checking back on the till we haven't done any Takeaway Fish & Chips in over a week, so we don't know when this was, are you... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were attracted by the 2 courses for £12 on the board outside, only to find the choice was limited to only 2 different mains. Therefore, ordered from the main menu, food ok, we felt it was over priced for what it was. Staff ok.

Helpful?
Thank Bondibry
Hoarwithy, Owner at The New Harp Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, 2 courses for £12 we only tend to offer 3 choices on this menu, 1 meat, 1 fish & 1 Vegetarian. It is after all an offer menu. All our food is home cooked and freshly made desserts, not like other venues I could mention Best wishes Adrian More 

Hereford
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

I pass this pub to go to work and on the outside it looks like a hearty, good old fashioned, local country pub. This is not the case. Inside, is rather drab, a serious lack of character and atmosphere. However as an ale drinker I was impressed with the local ales. Furthermore, their drinks selection such as gins, were also... More 

Helpful?
Thank Aaron B
Hoarwithy, Owner at The New Harp Inn, responded to this review

Glad you liked the drink selections. This pub floods, hence the flooring, it also burnt down in 2006, and has been restored as best possible, however décor is an individual taste. Food, our most expensive main course is 16.50 (8oz Sirloin Steak) so with respect I don't know where you got 22 pounds from. Also I don't really see our... More 

1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Having been recommended to come to this pub and number of times my partner and I thought we would try out. After being rushed to place our food order, before our drinks order had even been taken. We were given our food in a reasonable amount of time and asked if we would like any sources to go with our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jessica S
Hoarwithy, Owner at The New Harp Inn, responded to this review

You arrived here after clearly having had a bad day, and lets be honest by being rude to my staff, it was clearly not going to get any better. I politely informed you when you booked only 15 minutes earlier that we were exceptionally busy at that time, but you wanted priority, as it was explained that there was a... More 

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

We came out here for dinner last night. It's just over 14 miles from home and it was well worth the drive. The food is superb, there are plenty of guest beers to choose from and a good range of ciders. Service was excellent, the staff are friendly and helpful. We did have another reason for coming as my husband... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joni T
Hoarwithy, Owner at The New Harp Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we look forward to the Morris Dancers every year, as they are a reminder of History and Village life More 

Travellers who viewed The New Harp Inn also viewed

Much Birch, Hereford
Harewood End, Ross-on-Wye
 
Hereford, Herefordshire
 

Been to The New Harp Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 5 - USD 19
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Grill, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Hoarwithy Hereford, Hoarwithy, Hereford HR2 6QH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Herefordshire  >  Hereford  >  Hoarwithy
  • Phone Number: +44 1432 840900

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The New Harp Inn and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Hereford, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The New Harp Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?