We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Boat Inn

Canal Road | Thrupp, Kidlington OX5 1JY, England
+44 1865 374279
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent44%
  • Very good21%
  • Average7%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible14%
Travellers talk about
“lamb shank” (9 reviews)
“lovely pub” (18 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
DETAILS
Canal Road | Thrupp, Kidlington OX5 1JY, England
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 368 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

The staff dealt well with the group of 16 persons for whom we had Reserved a table. Very welcoming , helpful and efficient. Food was excellent and well presented, beer was great an excellent selection - What more could one ask!! Lokk forward to my...More

Thank Edgar S S
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

We are here on our family narrowboat holiday. After a stressful day on the boat, we moored right next to the pub and received a brilliantly warm welcome. The staff were super friendly and accommodating. The beer was fresh and well priced. Feeding a family...More

Thank Suzanne H
John H, Owner at The Boat Inn, responded to this review

Thank you ever so much it was lovely to see you all again!! Good luck for the rest of your journey.

Reviewed 3 days ago

Delightful setting but pub looked uncared for. Four of us met for lunch recently. We were only given one menu with a very limited choice. We struggled to find something we liked and only when we had ordered, did we realise there was a 'specials'...More

Thank Damaris B
John H, Owner at The Boat Inn, responded to this review

I think if you're gong to write something about a business at least make it truthful? 'The pub looked uncared for?' How dare you!! It's a 16th Century charming building that has not been spoilt by some trendy refurb and maintains much of its bygone...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

Lovely stop off after a walk along the canal. We had reserved a table and were quickly greeted at the bar to order drinks and then shown our table. Old fashioned traditional pub decor. Inspector Morse was filmed here in the late 80's. Good selection...More

Thank WitneyHamblins
John H, Owner at The Boat Inn, responded to this review

Thanks very much for that - hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lunch at The Boat Inn is a treat in every way. Situated next to the Cherwell, it's the perfect location for a riverside walk before or after your meal. An extensive menu is sometimes a cover for food that hasn't been freshly prepared, but not...More

Thank Padre_S_M_J
John H, Owner at The Boat Inn, responded to this review

Thanks very much for that - hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago

The welcome on our arrival was lukewarm at best. The table was sticky from not being cleaned properly. We were left with menus for ages - I wondered if anyone would return to take our orders or whether we had been forgotten. I went to...More

1  Thank Raia
John H, Owner at The Boat Inn, responded to this review

Been a while since we've had one of these................. 'The welcome on our arrival was lukewarm at best.' - Read all other reviews? However we have now employed some troubadours to welcome everyone so this shouldn't happen again. 'I went to find someone and was...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Booked in for 12 people, we were slightly late arriving, but not a problem, we didn't pre-order but all orders were done in a very timely manner and everything was spot on, can't ask more really.

Thank Adam N
John H, Owner at The Boat Inn, responded to this review

Thanks very much for that - hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely pub. Very welcoming, good food and service.Great canalsude location. Leave time for finding parking, as this is limited.

Thank 334karene
John H, Owner at The Boat Inn, responded to this review

Thanks very much for that - hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited this pub at the weekend and found it a charming old world pub. We chose to have the carvery and it was very tasty. There were three meats to choose or you could have a mixture. Roast potatoes new potatoes three different veg...More

Thank mysteryjulie23
John H, Owner at The Boat Inn, responded to this review

Thanks very much for that - hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Popped back in to The Boat Inn on our way back from visiting friends last weekend and hoped we would enjoy it as much as our previous visit. We were not disappointed, although we hadn't booked the friendly staff were very accommodating and found us...More

Thank cnw124
John H, Owner at The Boat Inn, responded to this review

Thanks very much for that - hope to see you again soon.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Annie's Tea Room
140 reviews
.26 km away
Sturdy's Castle Country Inn
244 reviews
1.21 km away
The Jolly Boatman
325 reviews
.39 km away
Nearby Attractions
Willowbrook Farm
20 reviews
1.47 km away
St. Martin's Church
116 reviews
3.31 km away
Blenheim Palace
4,880 reviews
3.99 km away
Kirtlington Golf Club
13 reviews
6.31 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
RachelandJohn
Do you have a gluten free menu options?
14 May 2015|
Answer
Response from RachelandJohn |
Do you have gluten free options?
0
Votes
Lindsay R
Our Aussie daughter, husband and family are looking for a family pub with some outdoor space to meet up with friends for lunch. Do you have a children's play area? Is there a room inside which could be used if the weather is bad in September? Thanks for your help. Lindsay.
3 March 2015|
Answer
Response from Richard C | Reviewed this property |
It has a fully enclosed garden, so no danger from nearby canal. Its Child friendly, mine are too old now but kids there seemed very happy and were treat well. it has a web site just serach for the Boat Inn Thrupp as links... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, View
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Canal Road | Thrupp, Kidlington OX5 1JY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Oxfordshire  >  Kidlington
  • Phone Number: +44 1865 374279
  • E-mail