We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Turnpike

2 Woodstock Road | Yarnton, Kidlington OX5 1PJ, England
+44 1865 847666
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good27%
  • Average13%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“chicken pie” (10 reviews)
“pudding” (29 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
2 Woodstock Road | Yarnton, Kidlington OX5 1PJ, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (650)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 641 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Set off to visit Miller and Carter but long wait so went to Turnpike we had passed en route. Excellent wine, garlic flatbed,rib eye with Black stick sauce and chips. Best meal we've had in a long time. Wish we lived closer.

Thank Jean H
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have just come home from been here and it was great, the food was delicious and the staff was outstanding especially fran she was a wounderful lady made my daughters 2 nd birthday extra special by helping and caring so much as we where...More

Thank rach7wataon
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Turnpike, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Rach7wataon, thank you for your kind review; we are happy to pass along your comments to the team here at The Turnpike, Yarnton! Would you know the name of the lady? regards Sam

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Three course lunch £14.95 Portobello mushrooms Chicken and mushroom pie Fish cake Creame brûlée All were superb,delicious and hit the spot. Service was polite, friendly and quick. Definitely going again

Thank Beverley P
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Turnpike, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Beverley P, thank you for your kind review; we are happy to pass along your comments to the team here at The Turnpike, Yarnton! We hope to be of service to you again in the future. Best wishes, The Turnpike, Yarnton

Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

Had a really nice meal at the turnpike. We went without a booking but we're seated quickly. We asked if our toddlers food could come out asap as he was getting tired/grumpy/hungry and they sorted it right out. Ours came a little later and everything...More

Thank jamessquire010
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Turnpike, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Jamessquire010, we're so glad that we were able to go above and beyond your expectations! We hope to be of service to you again in the future. Best wishes, Sam and team

Reviewed 12 September 2018

Came across the Turnpike on a trip to the Cotwsolds. Very busy, good atmosphere. Very helpful staff. Snack good- ham and cheese melt. Surroundings coulkd do with some updating.

Thank Anne M
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Turnpike, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Anne M, we're happy to hear you had such a positive experience with our team! Thank you again for leaving us this response! I will pass along your comments. Regards Sam

Reviewed 6 September 2018

The food was of very poor quality and overpriced. One tiny over cooked piece of sea bass with a few small potatoes, no sauce to speak of - £16.95. Hard wooden chairs, hasty service, card machine not working so "can you come to the bar...More

Thank sue m
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Turnpike, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi there, I would like to get some more details about your experience with us. Please contact us whenever you are free on 01865 847666. Regards Sam/Karol

Reviewed 6 September 2018

The place looks very nice, the menu sounds fantastic but it doesn't really taste as well as it is written on the paper. Service was very poor. We waited 30 min for a billMore

Thank Veronika K
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Turnpike, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Veronika K, we can assure you that we do not find this type of behaviour acceptable, and we would like to address the situation you have described. Please reach out to us at 01865 847666 when you can so we can address this situation...More

Reviewed 6 September 2018 via mobile

We went to this restaurant for a family birthday celebration. We arrived for our table reservation, 30 mins after our drinks order was taken The waitress came back to say there was no elderflower gin or the fruit cider that we had ordered!!!. After another...More

2  Thank _juliecox991
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Turnpike, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi _juliecox991, we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one. We hope you are willing to give us another chance. Please reach out to us...More

Reviewed 3 September 2018 via mobile

We came here for a birthday celebration as a group of 10 including 2 children . We were seated (that was the only good part). Drinks order was placed. 20 minutes later the drinks arrived. No elderflower gin! No fruit cider !Offered a different cider...More

2  Thank Emmacox993
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Turnpike, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Emmacox993, it's upsetting to hear that you did not receive the top-notch service we strive to provide. I would really like for you to give us another chance to prove to you we still are the best place to eat and drink in the area....More

Reviewed 20 August 2018

My son who lives in NY, USA came home with his wife and wanted a good Fish & Chips, I had not been to the Turnpike for a couple years and it is very good. If you are looking for good Pub Food, this is...More

Thank Maps719843
General Manager A, Manager at The Turnpike, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

Marie-claire H, we are so happy to read such a great review about The Turnpike, Yarnton! Az & Team Turnpike

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Holiday Inn Oxford
1,276 reviews
1.72 km away
Travelodge Oxford Peartree Hotel
1,201 reviews
1.82 km away
Jurys Inn Oxford
1,271 reviews
2.43 km away
Remont Oxford Hotel
816 reviews
3.27 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Red Lion
26 reviews
.87 km away
The Royal Sun
392 reviews
2.04 km away
Oxford Garden & Shopping Village
73 reviews
1.29 km away
Gurkha Village Nepalese Restaurant
290 reviews
1.63 km away
Nearby Attractions
St. Martin's Church
181 reviews
4.28 km away
Willowbrook Farm
25 reviews
4.30 km away
Godstow lock
5 reviews
2.85 km away
Thrupp Canoe and Kayak Hire
30 reviews
3.68 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Stevethebarber1011
19 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from GeneralManagerA502 | Property representative |
Hello Steve. Your 4 legged friend is more than welcome in the garden . Regards Sam
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 7 - USD 39
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 10:30 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2 Woodstock Road | Yarnton, Kidlington OX5 1PJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Oxfordshire  >  Kidlington
  • Phone Number: +44 1865 847666
Description
The Turnpike in Yarnton is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing