We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Rhumb Lines

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Meada's Plaza, Cruz Bay 00830, St. John
+1 340-776-0303
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

1,090 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 1,090: English reviews
VA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Had a large party at Rhumb Lines for dinner. Staff was very friendly and attentive. Food was okay and drinks were better. Plumb chicken dish was over cooked, pad Thai with shrimp okay, kids noodle bowl is closer to ramen/soup and kids didn't like. Go with fish dishes if there

Helpful?
Thank VA_WorldTraveler
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We've visited St.john a few times and somehow missed this place so when walking by it one night we decided to check it out, and thank goodness we did!! First off it has a lovely vibe and nice decor. We were offered water as soon as we sat down from the hostess. Our waitress was extremely busy but she made... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tessa Z
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

It's a beautiful place inside. Really great! The food is outstanding Thai cuisine. Many vegetarian options. The food isn't that spicy when served as is. If you spicy food, ask for extra spice. Also, the service is awesome. Worth the trip!

Helpful?
Thank Kelly B
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This restaurant is so unexpected! You walk through a convenience store and pop out the back into this asian oasis. Great atmosphere with wooden tables, white lights, and lots of plants & trees. Food and drinks top notch. I would suggest reservations, it gets crowded and we almost didn't get a table since we didn't make one. They also had... More 

Helpful?
Thank melaniemorgan090
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We arrived an hour earlier for New Years eve and had a few cocktails and appetizers. The bar was nice and service was good. Though the server tried to accommodate mild to moderate spice, the food was spicier than described. Callaloo was delicious Had an enclosed courtyard atmosphere and there was a musician playing guitar. Adjacent minibar was a little... More 

Helpful?
Thank LuckyLou960
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We came for breakfast when the ferry was too full. It was the only thing open on a Sunday morning. I think I had a gluten-free eggs benedict. Either way they whipped something yummy together to accommodate multiple food allergies. Husband was happy with his meal too. Great little courtyard. Swings for bar stools, god I wish I had been... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shena M
Boston
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Reservations. Christmas week. Table for 6 at 6 ready. Nice atmosphere, safe, dry, clean. Good service. Cocktails were very good, appys were a hit, especially the Indonesian fries, Entrees were mixed, as the grilled Mahi was dry, the pad thai was too salty, but the curry dish was excellent. We were able to get a table again on New Years... More 

Helpful?
Thank Blackrain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

The food here is out of control delicious. The kind of place you want to keep coming back to. I've been here several times and am continuously blown away by their Asian fusion food and island style ambiance. I highly recommend making a meal out of the pupu dishes and apps. Amanda the bar manager is a gem!

Helpful?
Thank Molly L
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
73 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We've been coming to St John for about 15 years but this was our first time here. I think I may have been turned off by the entry off the entry through the grocery store on the busy street. I'm glad we came as the courtyard dining area is very peaceful once inside. Service was excellent as were our dinner... More 

Helpful?
Thank DanChicago
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
133 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Most recent visit 12.11.15. Rhumb Lines had always worked for us as a dine-in option. On this occasion we tried it for take out with much less success. The lobster tempura and the glazed chicken were both very good. But the ceviche was absolutely terrible and went straight in the waste can. The salmon was extremely salty and also disappointing.... More 

Helpful?
Thank TheJanvers
Rhumb Lines R, General Manager at Rhumb Lines, responded to this review

I am so sorry you were not happy with your togo experience. I do wish you would have called to let us now so we could have redeemed ourselves and gotten you back to the level of service and tastiness you have described experiencing at our restaurant in the past. Please let me know next time you are on island! More 

Travellers who viewed Rhumb Lines also viewed

 
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Been to Rhumb Lines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
USD 25
Cuisine
Caribbean, Seafood, Asian, Thai, Fusion, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner, Lunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Romantic, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Meada's Plaza, Cruz Bay 00830, St. John
  • Location: Caribbean  >  U.S. Virgin Islands  >  St. John  >  Cruz Bay
  • Phone Number: +1 340-776-0303

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Rhumb Lines and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Harbor Springs
10 months ago
tops
11 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Rhumb Lines staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?