We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Galangal

17 Church St, Christiansted 00820-4623, St. Croix
+1 340-773-0076
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent82%
  • Very good12%
  • Average4%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“thai food” (37 reviews)
“short ribs” (19 reviews)
“papaya salad” (14 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Asian, Thai, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
17 Church St, Christiansted 00820-4623, St. Croix
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (582)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 574 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What a delicious dinner we enjoyed. Must try the rack of lamb, short ribs and mussels. The riesling was amazing as well as the creme brulee. Daniela our waitress was awesome. Make a reservation for this lovely gem. Buen provecho!

Thank JerseyGurl76
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

After all the great reviews, I had to try the place. The ambiance is lovely - it’s a pretty restaurant. However if you want real Thai food this is not the place for you. Maybe they were trying for fusion, but it was very disappointing....More

Thank Lisa M
Arthur M, Manager at Galangal, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Lisa: Galangal's menu was designed 10 years ago with the help of the consulting Chef Yui from "A lot of Thai" in Chiang Mai which also trained our start out crew. Yui is still working with us to provide an authentic Thai experience. Yui...More

Reviewed 13 August 2018 via mobile

We have been to this restaurant twice and both times it has been the culinary highlight of our trips to St. Croix. The owners, chefs and staff clearly take great pride in the food, the decor, and the service. Highlights from our latest visit include...More

Thank Bonnie B
Arthur M, Manager at Galangal, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Bonnie: Thank you for your patronage and kind review on TA. It makes all our efforts to provide a memorable dining experience worthwhile. We hope to see you again during your next visit to St. Croix.

Reviewed 8 August 2018

Good food, great atmosphere. But way over priced for the food you get. Service was unbelievably slow. The restaurant was a almost empty and they put us beside another couple literally 2 feet away. No one else was seated in that are the entire time...More

1  Thank Bret V
Reviewed 4 August 2018

From the apps to the desserts, everything was perfect about our anniversary dinner at Galangal last night. We enjoyed everything about this lovely restaurant. The service was excellent (friendly and competent), we loved every single food item: wine, apps, main course, and dessert were all...More

Thank eileencct
Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

I say “finer, ” rather than “fine” due to elegant atmosphere yet with reasonable pricing. This restaurant is a real treat. Decor and layout is really special with many items imported from Bali. Service was top notch. We were early for our reservation and were...More

1  Thank ZandKmom
Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

Wonderful food, wonderful atmosphere! We went for my birthday celebration and I was NOT disappointed.

Thank Beachlover4951
Arthur M, Manager at Galangal, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Thank you for your visit to Galangal and sharing your positive experience with our TA community. We are always happy when were can provide a memorable dining experience, We hope to see you again when visiting St. Croix.

Reviewed 27 May 2018

Probably the hardest word for us to pronounce "Galangal". We tried to tell everyone about the great food, and pronounced the name different every time :) I will say the appetizer did disappoint. We had the Satay and the chicken was overcooked and dry. However,...More

1  Thank BHAMBound205
Reviewed 17 May 2018 via mobile

Stepped through the doors into a warm inviting restaurant to be greeted by a charming owner. The Thai-eclectic decor made us feel comfortable and right at home. The menu is not the typical curry, noodle and Thai salad fare. The amuse Busch was a tiny...More

2  Thank howacow
Arthur M, Manager at Galangal, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2018

Thank you for your visit to Galangal and taking time to post your kind review on TA. We are always happy when our guest like our ambiance, food and service. We will share your comments with our service staff and our chef Cory White who...More

Reviewed 7 May 2018

We absolutely LOVED Galangal! So much so that we ate there most nights of our trip. The food is spectacular, but what really sets the restaurant apart is the impeccable service. I have celiac disease so cannot have any gluten. Michelle and the other staff...More

Thank Amalia H
Arthur M, Manager at Galangal, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Dear Amalia: Thank you for visiting Galangal and posting your kind review on TA. We will share your comments with Michelle and our staff, who deserve all the credit.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 17 hotels in St. Croix
Company House Hotel
30 reviews
.08 km away
King Christian Hotel
60 reviews
.09 km away
Club Comanche
139 reviews
.12 km away
Kings Alley Hotel
8 reviews
.13 km away
Nearby Restaurants
40 Strand Eatery
564 reviews
.12 km away
Balter
220 reviews
.15 km away
The Bombay Club
364 reviews
.18 km away
Nearby Attractions
Fort Christiansvaern
721 reviews
.36 km away
Steeple Building
25 reviews
.07 km away
Post Office Building
16 reviews
.08 km away
St. Croix Ultimate Bluewater Adventures (SCUBA), Inc.
856 reviews
.18 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Jeff W
11 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Arthur M | Property representative |
hurrah our menu pages are finally up, including our daily changing additions.
0
Votes
tmilestx
1 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Arthur M | Property representative |
Island casual, no tank tops for men
0
Votes
Linda P
Dear Management, In response to you, regarding my review - There was no issue with the service at your restaurant, as you suggest, other than the fact that I would not say it was overly friendly when we came in to pick up our food. I understand that many restaurants charge an additional amount for take-out items, however, we typically still tip 15-20%, even on our take-out items. This time was no different. Since we have been to your restaurant several times before, we are familiar with your portion sizes - the amounts we received were atypical...particularly with the Thai Holy Basil with Beef. Trip Advisor did not choose to post the photo I took of this item. It was a very scant portion, to say the least - I do not like your implication that we are unaware of your portion sizes, nor do I appreciate your 'tone' in implying that this meal was typical of your entree portions received (whether in a take out item or as a sit down customer). The amount of rice for 2 entrees was also very small and atypical of our previous experiences in your establishment. As for the quality of our meal, the Pad Thai was tasteless (I asked for medium spice and it had none) and the Red Curry was also bland (with medium spice requested). The reason I wrote this review is for your establishment to be aware of the fact that the quality of our meal was subpar. This is the only way you can improve - unless you feel you are above improvement?
6 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Mary B | Reviewed this property |
We have only eaten "in house" and have always had a most wonderful meal and wine. It is one of our most favorite restaurants in the world!
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 24 - USD 46
Meals
Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 17 Church St, Christiansted 00820-4623, St. Croix
  • Location: Caribbean  >  U.S. Virgin Islands  >  St. Croix  >  Christiansted
  • Phone Number: +1 340-773-0076
  • E-mail
Description
As one approaches the 1729 House, the tan one across from Fort Christiansvaern Park, the Galangal sign, made from wine corks by a patron, is hardly visible from the street. Opening the aubergine door is almost magical as one steps inside an elegant white-table dinning room filled with original paintings and Indo-Colonial architectural elements. Sitting down at the cool, dry granite bar, one just knows their Martini is going to be ice cold and the red wine will be at 65 degrees. Galangal specializes in authentic modern Thai and French cuisine, combining traditional ingredients with international flavors and techniques. Freshness is the key to Galangal's bold flavors and consistent quality. Spices from Vietnam and Singapore, curry pastes from Bangkok and unusual Asian vegetables grown in Galangal's own gardens, give Galangal's dishes their unique authentic flavors. Even the soup is made a la minute. Little know fact, Galangal, probably has the best NY strip and pommes frites on island.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing