We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Galangal

17 Church St, Christiansted 00820-4623, St. Croix
+1 340-773-0076
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent82%
  • Very good12%
  • Average4%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“thai food” (37 reviews)
“short ribs” (19 reviews)
“papaya salad” (14 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Asian, Thai, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
17 Church St, Christiansted 00820-4623, St. Croix
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (575)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 568 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Wonderful food, wonderful atmosphere! We went for my birthday celebration and I was NOT disappointed.

Thank Beachlover4951
Arthur M, Manager at Galangal, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your visit to Galangal and sharing your positive experience with our TA community. We are always happy when were can provide a memorable dining experience, We hope to see you again when visiting St. Croix.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Probably the hardest word for us to pronounce "Galangal". We tried to tell everyone about the great food, and pronounced the name different every time :) I will say the appetizer did disappoint. We had the Satay and the chicken was overcooked and dry. However,...More

Thank BHAMBound205
Reviewed 17 May 2018 via mobile

Stepped through the doors into a warm inviting restaurant to be greeted by a charming owner. The Thai-eclectic decor made us feel comfortable and right at home. The menu is not the typical curry, noodle and Thai salad fare. The amuse Busch was a tiny...More

Thank howacow
Arthur M, Manager at Galangal, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for your visit to Galangal and taking time to post your kind review on TA. We are always happy when our guest like our ambiance, food and service. We will share your comments with our service staff and our chef Cory White who...More

Reviewed 7 May 2018

We absolutely LOVED Galangal! So much so that we ate there most nights of our trip. The food is spectacular, but what really sets the restaurant apart is the impeccable service. I have celiac disease so cannot have any gluten. Michelle and the other staff...More

Thank Amalia H
Arthur M, Manager at Galangal, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Dear Amalia: Thank you for visiting Galangal and posting your kind review on TA. We will share your comments with Michelle and our staff, who deserve all the credit.

Reviewed 6 May 2018 via mobile

Finest dining on the island. Asian fusion with Asian decor, fabulous. Gregory & Arthur are consummate hosts. Wine selected by Arthur. I had green curry with chicken & my husband had catch of the day, mahi. Both excellent. Green tea gelato for dessert with coffee....More

Thank Ryan S
Arthur M, Manager at Galangal, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Dear Ryan: We are happy that you liked our food, service, and ambiance. And thankful for sharing your experience with our TA community. Needless to say, we will share your positive comments with our staff, who deserve all the credit, and hope to see you...More

Reviewed 16 April 2018

This is our second visit to Galangal. Very cool restaurant. Great drinks. On our night the kitchen was super slow. Our server was great, but the food took a really long time to come out....island time? Regardless, it was the best meal I had. I...More

1  Thank MrsBighamNite
Arthur M, Manager at Galangal, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Thank you for your great review and sharing it with out TA community. Yes you are right food service was slow due to the fact that there is a shortage of qualified line cooks on our island. One St. Croix restaurant is closed for an...More

Reviewed 13 April 2018 via mobile

Galangal is a one of a kind restaurant on St Croix. It's mix of great curries and traditional Caribbean and French style food is a delicious place to spend your time. The seating is in a 19th century building with interesting decor throughout.

Thank Kenneth K
Arthur M, Manager at Galangal, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

We thank you for spending timet to post your kind review on TA. We are always happy when our guest have a positive dining experience and hope you will visit us again. Your comments will be shared with our staff, who deserve all the credit.

Reviewed 2 April 2018

I came here with my family and each one of us had an amazing dish packed with flavor and spices. Personally I thought that the curry's, both the red and the green were truly exceptional due to the vibrant spices throughout. Also had a magnificent...More

Thank j0hnjake
Arthur M, Manager at Galangal, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you for your support of Galangal an spending time to share your positive experience with our TA community. We hope to welcome you again during your next visit to St. Croix.

Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

Excellent choice! The venue, food and service were all outstanding!!! Did not feel rushed nor ignored.

Thank CHS4456
Arthur M, Manager at Galangal, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

We are always happy when our guests have a positive dining experience. We are looking forward to welcoming you again at Galangal.

Reviewed 16 March 2018 via mobile

Excellent experience. Beautiful restaurant and the food was fantastic. If you like spicy, this place has it!

Thank lauzie41660
Arthur M, Manager at Galangal, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

We are happy you enjoyed dining at Galangal and thank you for sharing your experience with our TA community.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 17 hotels in St. Croix
Company House Hotel
30 reviews
.08 km away
King Christian Hotel
60 reviews
.09 km away
Club Comanche
136 reviews
.12 km away
Kings Alley Hotel
8 reviews
.13 km away
Nearby Restaurants
40 Strand Eatery
548 reviews
.12 km away
Balter
213 reviews
.15 km away
Savant
845 reviews
.19 km away
Nearby Attractions
Fort Christiansvaern
707 reviews
.36 km away
Steeple Building
24 reviews
.07 km away
Post Office Building
16 reviews
.08 km away
St. Croix Ultimate Bluewater Adventures (SCUBA), Inc.
814 reviews
.18 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Jeff W
11 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Arthur M | Property representative |
hurrah our menu pages are finally up, including our daily changing additions.
0
Votes
tmilestx
1 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Arthur M | Property representative |
Island casual, no tank tops for men
0
Votes
Linda P
Dear Management, In response to you, regarding my review - There was no issue with the service at your restaurant, as you suggest, other than the fact that I would not say it was overly friendly when we came in to pick up our food. I understand that many restaurants charge an additional amount for take-out items, however, we typically still tip 15-20%, even on our take-out items. This time was no different. Since we have been to your restaurant several times before, we are familiar with your portion sizes - the amounts we received were atypical...particularly with the Thai Holy Basil with Beef. Trip Advisor did not choose to post the photo I took of this item. It was a very scant portion, to say the least - I do not like your implication that we are unaware of your portion sizes, nor do I appreciate your 'tone' in implying that this meal was typical of your entree portions received (whether in a take out item or as a sit down customer). The amount of rice for 2 entrees was also very small and atypical of our previous experiences in your establishment. As for the quality of our meal, the Pad Thai was tasteless (I asked for medium spice and it had none) and the Red Curry was also bland (with medium spice requested). The reason I wrote this review is for your establishment to be aware of the fact that the quality of our meal was subpar. This is the only way you can improve - unless you feel you are above improvement?
6 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Mary B | Reviewed this property |
We have only eaten "in house" and have always had a most wonderful meal and wine. It is one of our most favorite restaurants in the world!
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 24 - USD 46
Meals
Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Open Hours
Wednesday
5:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Thursday
5:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Friday
5:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Saturday
5:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 17 Church St, Christiansted 00820-4623, St. Croix
  • Location: Caribbean  >  U.S. Virgin Islands  >  St. Croix  >  Christiansted
  • Phone Number: +1 340-773-0076
  • E-mail
Description
As one approaches the 1729 House, the tan one across from Fort Christiansvaern Park, the Galangal sign, made from wine corks by a patron, is hardly visible from the street. Opening the aubergine door is almost magical as one steps inside an elegant white-table dinning room filled with original paintings, and Indo-Colonial architectural elements. Sitting down at the cool, dry granite bar, one just knows their Martini is going to be ice cold and the red wine will be at 65 degrees. Galangal specializes in authentic modern Thai and French cuisine, combining traditional ingredients with international flavors and techniques. Freshness is the key to Galangal's bold flavors and consistent quality. Spices from Vietnam and Singapore, curry pastes from Bangkok and unusual Asian vegetables grown in Galngal's own gardens, give Galangal's dishes their unique and authentic flavors. Even the soup is made a la minute. Little know fact, Galangal, probably has the best NY strip and pommes frites on island. Dinner 5:30 - 9:30. Closed Sunday and Monday
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;