We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Churchill Arms

Daggons Road | Fordingbridge, Alderholt SP6 3AA, England
+44 1425 652147
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good23%
  • Average13%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“lasagna” (6 reviews)
“peas” (2 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Daggons Road | Fordingbridge, Alderholt SP6 3AA, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent service. Excellent food. Lovely dog friendly pub on the outskirts of the New Forest. Thoroughly recommend

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank 746kevin
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Food basic & over priced, landlady very uninviting & generally worn out looking pub, soft drinks tasted watered down & alcoholic drinks very expensiveMore

Thank Naomi W
Tanya W, Owner at The Churchill Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Naomi W, many thanks for you recent review of the Churchill Arms. We are very disappointed to hear that you found our food basic and over priced, particularly when we received so much positive feedback over that weekend. After an extremely busy weekend we...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Good food, nice range of beers and plenty of seating. The staff are always friendly & enthusiastic and they run plenty of events like quiz nights, biker evenings, free pool on a Sunday. They also do a mean brekkie and a decent cup of coffee....More

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Kdxer
Tanya W, Owner at The Churchill Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Kdxer, thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are pleased to hear that you find our staff friendly and enthusiastic; I will ensure to pass this on to all of the team. We are very proud to offer a variety of events...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

As a member of the Royal British Legion Riders Branch we often attend biker events at The Churchill Arms. We have always been made welcome. Tanya and her staff do a fantastic job. The food and service is great.More

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank foxes74
Tanya W, Owner at The Churchill Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for your recent review, foxes74. We thoroughly enjoy hosting and being a part of your wonderful events here at The Churchill Arms - we always look forward to the next one! We are also really pleased to hear that you always...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had breakfast while attending an event. Good value. Staff cheerful & smiling. Noticed an extensive food menu so will visit again in the near future to try out some of the dishes on offer.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank GerA49
Tanya W, Owner at The Churchill Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your 5-star review, GerA49 - we are really pleased to hear you enjoyed our fantastic breakfast and appreciated the excellent value. Our friendly team look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Sunday, rain stopped play, so decided food was the answer! And blooming good it all was! Freshly cooked, served quickly and beautiful flavours, as vegetarians there was plenty to choose from. You have to have the Silver Dollar Pancakes!More

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank jonathan_hiltonking
Tanya W, Owner at The Churchill Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks so much for your outstanding review!! The rain was a disappointment but we are glad that our excellent food saved the day! We are very proud of our extensive menu choices and ensure that all of our guests can be catered for. We agree...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely Sunday roast beef, excellent value and good quality. Great service and friendly staff. Well worth a visit.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank 230craig
Tanya W, Owner at The Churchill Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Wow what a lovely review, 230craig! We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your Sunday lunch with us. I will ensure you pass your positive comments on to all the staff, too! We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had two great meals at this friendly pub, we were worried about taking our four moth old dog in the pub while we had our food,but all was good and the staff were more than helpful. A good choice of beer, lovely gardens and...More

Thank Jackie Y
Tanya W, Owner at The Churchill Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, Jackie. We are a very dog friendly pub and we were so happy that you chose to eat with us; puppy was very well behaved and absolutely adorable! We are so pleased that you enjoyed the service...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There have been quite a few changes in this pub which has improved it a great deal but the food is pretty bad. I have returned many times to support our local pub but I always leave feeling disappointed. The food is so bland, no...More

Thank Emma N
Tanya W, Owner at The Churchill Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much Emma for writing your review, your feedback is very important to us. The team do work very hard to try to ensure every customer has an enjoyable experience when visiting the Churchill. It's a shame we never live up to your...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

V friendly staff great food. Stayed over in Motorhome good wifi. Well kept garden. No issues whatsoever. Will certainly revisit next time in the area.More

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Lee C
Tanya W, Owner at The Churchill Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your lovely review, Lee C. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our food and experienced excellent service from all our staff; I will ensure that your feedback is passed on to all of the Churchill team. We all hope...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Al Trullo
171 reviews
4.11 km away
The Three Lions
177 reviews
4.75 km away
Sticky Bun Tea Rooms
45 reviews
1.67 km away
Nearby Attractions
Insight Activities
416 reviews
2.18 km away
Dorset Heavy Horse Farm Park
1,013 reviews
3.84 km away
Knowlton Church and Earthworks
42 reviews
4.53 km away
Woodgreen Community Shop
11 reviews
7.79 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Churchill Arms staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 5 - USD 20
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Television
Good for
Local cuisine, Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Daggons Road | Fordingbridge, Alderholt SP6 3AA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Alderholt
  • Phone Number: +44 1425 652147
  • E-mail
Description
Famillies, Muddy Boots & dogs with well behaved owners are all most welcome. Quality home-cooked food using Local Produce, served alongside Hall & Woodhouse's Distinctive cask-conditioned ales and superb wines accompanied by the warmest welcome.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing