We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Wander Inn

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
Updated 26/09/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Wander Inn
Updated 26/09/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
USD 4 - USD 29
CUISINES
Bar, Pub, Australian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
19 results
Traveller rating
12
3
1
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
12
3
1
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 6 November 2021 via mobile

This was the worse scones and cream ever!! Understand that businesses have just opened up due to covid however serving pale plastic looking scones and spray cream is just unacceptable!! This restaurant is in the middle of nowhere and a long winding drive to get...here from Halls Gap - they need to make more effort!! Spray cream which melts into liquid milk is disgusting. Please just give the customer decent food!!!More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?1  
The Wander Inn, Owner at The Wander Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are sorry you didn't enjoy your visit Manky11. Our scones are made fresh each day. We appreciate your feedback.

Reviewed 13 June 2021 via mobile

We waited over 45 minutes from checking in to receiving our food. When we inquired as to where it was we were told “4 more minutes”, but no apology offered. When it eventually arrived, the lentil burger was very ordinary and the tandoori chicken pizza...fell well short of expectations, with what tasted like BBQ sauce the only discernible flavour. If staff know that service is going to be so slow then these customers would prefer to be warned.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?2  
The Wander Inn, Owner at The Wander Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback FarmerSue - we are sorry you did not enjoy your visit

Reviewed 28 February 2021

What a great spot and a quiet atmosphere right in the middle of the National Park. Food was fantastic and the staff were super friendly. Thank you!

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?
The Wander Inn, Owner at The Wander Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2021

Thank you Jason - we are so glad you enjoyed your visit

Reviewed 10 February 2020

Have dined here on many occasions but alas it unfortunately has dropped back a little. Attended for lunch on 9th February and ordered lunch a Flame Pizza which was really nice once again but my wife ordered the Rogan Josh, was supposed to be the...curry of the day on the specials board ($24.00) but missed the mark, hardly any flavour at all. If you are deciding to have an alcoholic beverage then put some extra $$$ in your wallet. One Canadian Club stubby $10 and one Great Northern Mid strength stubby $8. Will still pop in again at some stage to see if it has improved as we love supporting the locals that are having a go.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?2  
WanderInnWartook, Owner at The Wander Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2020

Thanks for your feedback Ian - we look forward to seeing you again

Reviewed 23 January 2020

Had lunch here in a Beautiful bush setting at the foot of the Grampians. Lunch was average but the setting more than made up for it .

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
WanderInnWartook, Manager at The Wander Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2020

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, we greatly appreciate it and are glad you enjoyed our surrounds. We hope to see you again.

Reviewed 17 January 2020 via mobile

A beautiful place to visit on the ‘quiet’ side of the Grampians. A relaxed atmosphere with indoor and outdoor seating options which allows you to bring your dog! As it’s on the edge of the Grampians National Park you can’t take pets much further so...we did another trip without pets to visit Zumsteins and McKenzie Falls. I’ll be heading back in winter for the big open fire place! The food was lovely, fresh and well presented. *Only open weekends atm so need to check opening timesMore

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?1  
WanderInnWartook, Owner at The Wander Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2020

Thank you Hollie - we look forward to seeing you (and your dog 💕) again soon

Reviewed 8 December 2019

Stumbled across the Wander Inn while driving around the Grampians and had an absolutely delicious lunch. Shared a sensational steak sandwich & chips and a garden salad seated on the lawn outside at a table under a big umbrella. Great coffee! The salad was truly...outstanding - fresh leaves and herbs with goats curd, cherry tomatoes and Spanish onion. A must visit if you are anywhere near Halls Gap.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
TheWanderInn, Owner at The Wander Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2019

Thank you Hungrycats - we are so glad you enjoyed your visit

Reviewed 1 December 2019

We visited for a small family birthday lunch and the staff we very accommodating allowing us to bring our own cake. Meals were presented beautifully, super fresh and really delicious! One of our favourite places to dine in the Wimmera

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
TheWanderInn, Owner at The Wander Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2019

Thank you 607eliser - it is always our pleasure to host you

Reviewed 22 September 2019 via mobile

Me and my partner ordered two of the specials. A rogan josh and a pea & ham soup. By the time the soup came out, my partner was halfway through his curry. The rice was undercooked and clumped together as if scraped from the bottom...of the pot. My soup was only warm when it came out, my toast had a huge hole in it and there was bits of bone in my (yellow?) pea and ham soup. Will not be returning. Rogan josh was a nice flavour though. Just a shame about everything else.More

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed 20 September 2019

We’ve visited Wander Inn - as it’s now called - quite a few times over the past 30 years or so, in its various incarnations and this trip we’re delighted to find it’s still a lovely place to recharge while ‘refueling’ - just with food...and drink though, no actual fuel is available! The day wasn’t cold enough to fully appreciate sitting around the log fire, but the food was definitely appreciated. My favourite - I liked it so much I had the same order the second time we visited - was the Chickpea Burger. The first time I had it with salad, no bun, but the next time I requested it on Turkish bread rather than a brioche bun and with plain mayonnaise as the chipotle I had the first time was a tad spicy for me. So top marks for catering to customers - well, me anyway - who make requests to add something, change something, delete something from a menu item. They were minor changes, but there was ‘no muss, no fuss’, just good service, which from experience I know does not happen everywhere! The chickpea pattie - house made I was told - was flavoursome and delicious, (and I only ever used to have meat burgers), as were some of the desserts - they were probably all great, but I can’t comment on all of them, as over two visits we ‘only’ tried six....each visit we had one to share to eat in and two to take away for later....yum! The Rocky Road slice and Cherry slice were particular favourites. At the moment the Inn is only open Thursdays to Sundays, though that may change during school holidays and peak periods. If you have the opportunity though, it’s well worth a stop for a good feed.More

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?
TheWanderInn, Owner at The Wander Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2019

Thank you so much Jay2000 - we hope you can continue to visit over the next 30 years ❤

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Gariwerd Motel
1,412 reviews
19.41 km away
Halls Gap Tavern
97 reviews
19.76 km away
Kookaburra Motor Lodge
326 reviews
19.77 km away
Halls Gap Motel
174 reviews
20.10 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Deirdre's
49 reviews
8.53 km away
Coolas Ice Creamery
475 reviews
19.59 km away
Giant Koala Restaurant Tourist Complex
79 reviews
20.40 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Grampians Horse Riding Centre
57 reviews
6.35 km away
McKenzies Falls
268 reviews
10.36 km away
Ngamadjidj Shelter
8 reviews
13.96 km away
Heatherlie Quarry
7 reviews
14.01 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Wander Inn staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Wander Inn

Yes, The Wander Inn offers takeaway services.

Yes, The Wander Inn is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

The Wander Inn is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4.5