We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
AU$15 - AU$39
CUISINES
European, Contemporary, Australian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (610)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
608 results
Traveller rating
220
207
90
57
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
220
207
90
57
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews salad watch the sunset ocean mains perth
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were staying at Sorrento Resort and invited friends to dine with us on Sunday evening. We enjoyed a lovely dinner. The service was very good and the food was great. The fish was very good and the steak was done to perfection.

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 January 2024

White salt was one of our favourite restaurants for a date night over many years. After moving from their prime location on west coast drive to the back entrance of Sorrento resort we thought we’d venture back for dinner on a Saturday evening. Oh dear,...what has happened?!?! No more table service, have to line up snaking out on to the path outside. Fiancé ordered a beer & linguine & me a moscato & gnocchi, along with a garlic bread. Young lady informed him we don’t have moscato, it’s on the wine list but ok I’ll just have a LLB. Waited half hour for the bread, was tasty. Another 35 minutes passed before our mains arrived & the food was bland, dry & tastless nothing like it used to be. I’m guessing the chef from old did not stay on & owners now cooking themselves. Hugely disappointed in the quality of food & substandard service. It’s no longer a place you can get semi dressed up to go out to as ppl from resort just rock up in bathers, shorts & tanks. We won’t be back nor recommend this place :(More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Claire Leech, Owner at White Salt, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2024

Hi tania, its with great disappointment that we read your review. If you were a regular and local we find it really disappointing that you feel a one star public review is the way to go. A personal email to us explaining your concerns bearing...More

Reviewed 6 September 2023

We took a friends from UK and had a great evening. Well supported and pleasant atmosphere. Food was tasty, served quickly and the service was excellent - a cheerful, welcoming and attentive lady. Thank you WS for maintaining a great venue, food and service.

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Claire Leech, Owner at White Salt, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2023

many thanks Suzette for your kind words, very much appreciated and we will share them with our team! Thanks again

Reviewed 8 July 2023 via mobile

We enjoyed a lovely dinner with friends taking up the special 4 person deal with a free bottle of wine. We were met with very friendly and attentive service which continued throughout our evening. The food was also great.

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Claire Leech, Owner at White Salt, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2023

Thanks so much for your kind words, we are glad you enjoyed our BOOK for 4 deal. Its a winner! We do look forward to seeing you all again soon and thank you once again. Tim and Claire Leech Proprietors

Reviewed 4 June 2023

Great location very very slow service had to go to bar for items missing of our order. Food really good thank you but shocked prices wine. For a lunch for 4 people $400 is a lot for service and couple bottles wine

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Claire Leech, Owner at White Salt, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2023

Thanks for your comments patsy666. We are glad that on the whole you enjoyed your experience. Thanks again

Reviewed 12 March 2023 via mobile

We enjoyed an excellent dinner at White Salt Saturday 11 March. Friendly, efficient service and beautiful food. We shared the Peking Duck taco entree, 2 generous tacos, and they were delicious. My wife had Duck 3 Ways, I had Smoked Korean Brisket with noodles and...Kim chi slaw. Both mains were delicious. The restaurant was quite busy and had a vibrant ambience. The menu was very varied and interesting and we will return soon to try other dishes. Thanks White Salt.More

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Claire Leech, Owner at White Salt, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2023

Thanks for taking the time to review us . Your comments are lovely and we are so pleased you enjoyed your experience with us. We hope to see you again soon. Thanks again Tim and Claire Leech Proprietors

Reviewed 19 February 2023 via mobile

Lovely setting, all be it on a very busy road but a nice out door area to enjoy a drink and watch the sunset before dinner. Fresh oysters were pleasant, if a little warm, garlic bread looked home made and was delicious, spring rolls were...very average, looked like bought in from a local supermarket. Gnocchi was very tasty, fresh, well presented, I would suggest a new butcher for the steak although it was okay. The duck fat roast potatoes were more like boiled potatoes finished off for 5 minutes in the oven to crisp them up and been no where near any duck fat. Puddings looked like purchased from Dome, very average but overall it is a nice enough venue. Decent wine list although the waitress slopped the wine on the table when she poured it and just left it. It was a busy Saturday night but not full, yet they didn’t have enough menus for our table. Table set for 5 but only 4 water glasses. We received 3 out of the 5 puddings and after 10 minutes chased the final two that had been waiting on the side for someone to bring over. Overall it feels chaotic and a bit sloppy but I would probably go again. Definitely has the potential to be a great place.More

Date of visit: February 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
404clairel, Owner at White Salt, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2023

Thanks Nikki, we are glad that you feel we have potential. We did receive you email. Please rest assured that all your comments have been noted. Having operated on the coast successfully for over 18 years now please rest assured that we do take all...More

Reviewed 5 February 2023 via mobile

My friends and I had lunch at White Salt yesterday. The experience was so bad, all we could do was laugh. In a 38 degrees day, the air con wasn’t working properly - making the experience even worse. We ordered 2 cocktails and a wine....The wine was warm & the cocktails were undrinkable. The young waitress advised they weren’t sure how to make them. When the waitress finally remembered to take our order, we tried a chicken Caesar salad, fish cakes & salad and a pate entree. The Caesar salad was a mound of iceberg lettuce surrounded by a ring of halved hard boiled eggs, a pile of bland chicken with a tiny amount of Caesar dressing to one side. We laughed so hard at the sight of this - we had to chug down some warm wine. The pate dish consisted of a plate of rocket topped with grocery bought croutons & a jar of pate. The only redeeming dish was the fish cakes - although suspiciously looked like something IGA sells. We won’t be back …More

Date of visit: February 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 January 2023 via mobile

Staying in the area for a few days called in for a lunch time drink and decided to book a table for dinner that night and we weren't disappointed! Excellent food, reasonable prices and a great sunset thrown in. Everyone was really friendly and welcoming....Highly recommended LisaMore

Date of visit: January 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
404clairel, Owner at White Salt, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2023

Thank You Lisa or taking the time to pass on your positive comments. you have nailed what we try so very hard to do, great food, service, value for money! We try hard with that amazing sunset too! thanks again!

Reviewed 17 January 2023 via mobile

We had a lovely family dinner here on Sunday . Food was really nice . Staff very accomodating and great sunset !

Date of visit: January 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
404clairel, Owner at White Salt, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2023

thanks so much Vicki, your positive comments are very much appreciated and we will be sure to share them with our team. look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards

Reviewed 5 September 2022 via mobile

Booking for Father’s Day lunch. My wife, son and myself enjoyed it immensely as shown above. We are regular attendees because of the excellence of the restaurant.I did not get the name of the lady who attended our table …. She was terrific

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
404clairel, Owner at White Salt, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2022

Thanks David for taking the time to review us...we are glad you enjoyed your Father's day lunch with us, we will be sure to share your feedback with the team who worked that day...happy Father's Day! Tim and Claire Leech proprietors

Reviewed 14 July 2022 via mobile

We had dishes including fish, pizza, duck, seafood laksa and crab souffle together with a variety of desserts. Everything was excellent and the knew how to handle gluten free for coeliacs.

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
404clairel, Owner at White Salt, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2022

Thanks so much for your review, we are so pleased all was to your liking and that you enjoyed your experience with us. We will be sure to share your feedback with the team! Thanks again Tim and Claire Leech Proprietors

Reviewed 28 April 2022

Birthday lunch with the family and opted to visit White Salt for the first time. Found the restaurant to be tastefully decorated, the service was friendly but not imposing, and the food had great variety and it was delicious. Well prepared share plate options -...crispy pizzas - great tasting salads. Really happy with our dining option and I am confident we'll be returning.More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
404clairel, Owner at White Salt, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2022

Many thanks for your kind words, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Tim and Claire Leech proprietors

Reviewed 20 March 2022 via mobile

Excellent service and great food, highly recommend it for anyone. Family friendly and happy staff. The meals were great.

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
404clairel, Owner at White Salt, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2022

Thanks for reviewing us, we are glad all was to your satisfaction, we hope to see you again soon. Tim and Claire Leech Proprietors

Reviewed 19 March 2022 via mobile

Such a lovely genuine family experience but what 100% makes the experience is the food. We are locals and regulars to Whire Salt and we are consistently surprised with menu. The steak qe had last night was the best we've had in years, cooked to...perfection and a sauce to die for. We had most things on the menu, the Gnocchi is amazing also but really such a family oriented business just exudes such a welcoming atmosphere. Right on the beach, no better place breakfast lunch or dinner this is the place to be.More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
404clairel, Owner at White Salt, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2022

Thanks for your lovley words and positive comments. We are glad that you enjoy your time with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Having been on the coast for 18 years now, our business has been looking after our locals and...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Quality Resort Sorrento Beach
355 reviews
.18 km away
Hillarys Harbour Resort
245 reviews
.90 km away
Ocean View Motel
99 reviews
2.65 km away
Scarborough Apartments
92 reviews
6.77 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Mia Cucina
495 reviews
1.35 km away
Voyage Kitchen
445 reviews
.19 km away
Marmion Angling and Aquatic Club
17 reviews
1.38 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Sorrento Beach
119 reviews
.45 km away
Hillarys Boat Harbour
1,153 reviews
1.15 km away
Sorrento Quay Boardwalk
180 reviews
.76 km away
Rottnest Fast Ferries - Day Tours
429 reviews
.88 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Mary B
11 October 2018|
AnswerShow all 14 answers
Response from 404clairel | Property representative |
Beachside café. Smart casual at dinner service. Casual by day
0
Votes
dazza9blue
6 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Norman P | Reviewed this property |
Reservation are usually required for dinner.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

WHITE SALT, Sorrento - Sorrento - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about White Salt

White Salt is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 4