We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Boat Inn

Canal Road, Thrupp OX5 1JY, England
+44 1865 374279
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent44%
  • Very good22%
  • Average8%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible14%
Travellers talk about
“fish and chips” (25 reviews)
“lamb shank” (13 reviews)
“the pub” (67 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
$$ - $$$
Canal Road, Thrupp OX5 1JY, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (448)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 445 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Just to say we have just had a meal at the Boat Inn it was last minute due to family in Oxford for my daughters wedding needed seats for 13 people to which the staff was able to fit us all in.The food was lovely...More

Thank Joanna H
Ramsey G, Owner at The Boat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Many thanks for that. Can I say how well behaved the children were, sometimes we are scrapping them off the wall!!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went here last 2 Fridays with my fiancee for dinner. First one sat outside and 2nd inside. Food excellent had lamb shanks first time and scampi second time. Food and service excellent varied menu and a lovely view of the canal. Will definitely be back.

Thank paultdance
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is a wonderful setting in an old fashioned with no one armed bandits and dog friendly. We were welcomed with a warm smile and a chat. Drink prices are reasonable. Will be popping in soon for a bite to eat as the menu looks...More

Thank flora003
Ramsey G, Owner at The Boat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Callum has become very popular in these reviews in a very short space of time. Many thanks for taking the time to review and hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Family lunch occasion. First issue: long queue. It took us 15 minutes to get to the bar to let them know we had a booking. Seems a booking means nothing, as they simply asked us to try and find a free table. Second issue: no...More

Thank Richard I
Ramsey G, Owner at The Boat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

First issue, second issue, third, fourth fifth,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, Food Ok but over priced????? Bowl of freshly home made soup with crusty bread £4.95 - over priced? Freshly baked baguette or panini with Chunky farmhouse chips and garnish £6.95 - over priced? No Beer? Two draught ciders,...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I went for a bank holiday Monday lunch today with a friend. First appearance was it looked a nice tidy pub. That is where the good impression stopped. They had no beer available only lager and we had to wait over an hour and a...More

Thank tmac690
Ramsey G, Owner at The Boat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Apologies for the long wait - sunny bank holidays can be extremely busy. We did have a range of draught lagers, ciders and Guinness along with several bottled beers but alas we did run out of draught ale so apologies for that.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

They have run out of beer, the service is slower than global warming. I have just seen someone falling off a bench in the garden because it is completely rotten!! The staff just don’t care. I will never come here again.More

Thank Jules W
Ramsey G, Owner at The Boat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

'Never go here' based on one extremely busy bank holiday? 'The pub had run out of beer' - not true we had run out of draught ale plenty of lager, cider, Guinness, bottled beers etc etc!! We don't want people to wait long for food...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very good evening last week for a group of 20. Staff very helpful in the evening and in advance with some of my requests. Food was really good and came out on time. Would definitely go back there again and recommend.

Thank Points22
Ramsey G, Owner at The Boat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

It was a pleasure seeing you all - many thanks!!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited this nice little pub on Sunday for a Sunday carvery. Food was excellent with friendly staff to top it off! We decided to order a pudding as the carvery was so good and didn’t wait long for it to served atall despite it being...More

Thank chloee1997
Ramsey G, Owner at The Boat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for that - look forward to seeing you soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Waited an hour to be served a plate of toast and paté - the toast was cold and had mould growing on it !!! We didn't dare try the paté. Response of the owner had to be seen to be believed. Extremely rude. A great...More

Thank jbbadoche
Ramsey G, Owner at The Boat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

More lies and half truths here. Yes, hands up, we did make a mistake with the toast as you can see in the photograph (how sad!!). I apologised and made a full refund. BUT it wasn't just pate and toast it was 3 meals 2...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Food not great, chips were frozen and not cooked properly! I never complain, but thought I should tell them this,as people paying for food want to enjoy it, and would expect that cooking frozen chips properly wasn't difficult! I discretly had a word with lady...More

1  Thank lauric0x
Ramsey G, Owner at The Boat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

'I never complain' - well you complained in the restaurant and here you are complaining in the public domain and its your first review and its a complaint, but that's why Tripadvisor is here!! FYI we don't cook frozen chips and having checked with the...More

Nearby HotelsSee all Thrupp Hotels
The Kings Arms Hotel and Restaurant
364 reviews
3.63 km away
Feathers Hotel
888 reviews
3.64 km away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
1,764 reviews
3.76 km away
Blenheim Guest House and Tea Rooms
79 reviews
3.88 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Jolly Boatman
412 reviews
.39 km away
Annie's Tea Room
206 reviews
.26 km away
Tandoor Night
9 reviews
1.00 km away
Nearby Attractions
Willowbrook Farm
23 reviews
1.47 km away
St. Martin's Church
160 reviews
3.30 km away
Kirtlington Golf Club
16 reviews
6.31 km away
The Old FlightHouse
21 reviews
6.65 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Jules W
7 May 2018|
Response from susanS9387HP | Reviewed this property |
That was very unfortunate for you about the wait for the food. I can only say that you went on a very busy day to the Boat Inn, as i did not encounter any problems myself.
14 May 2015|
Response from RachelandJohn |
Do you have gluten free options?
Lindsay R
3 March 2015|
Response from Richard C | Reviewed this property |
It has a fully enclosed garden, so no danger from nearby canal. Its Child friendly, mine are too old now but kids there seemed very happy and were treat well. it has a web site just serach for the Boat Inn Thrupp as links... More
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
View, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Canal Road, Thrupp OX5 1JY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Oxfordshire  >  Thrupp
  • Phone Number: +44 1865 374279
  • E-mail
Fabulous family run canal side bar and restaurant offering outstanding value for money. And if you're a fan of Inspector Morse you will find lots of memorabilia here from the days when episodes Morse and more latterly Lewis were filmed at the pub and surrounding area.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing