We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Abbey Cottage

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
26 Main Street | New Abbey, New Abbey DG2 8BY, Scotland
+44 1387 850377
Website
Today
10:00 - 17:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 - 17:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

174 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 172: English reviews
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

A wonderful place, all homemade goods and local produce used. The place is charming with a varied menu, the staff are excellent all very friendly and efficient, table service, and outdoor tables are available as well. The homemade soup is to die for and the roast berf and ham are delicious, have never been dissapointed with anything, the gift shop... More 

Helpful?
Thank tonyswife14
Lockerbie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I have just had another beautiful lunch at New Abbey Tea room. Absolutely gorgeous. I have been going to New Abbey tea-room for over 21 years I took my granddaughter as a new born baby and she was 21 last week. Never have we had a bad meal or bad service. The staff are just amazing and the owner superb.... More 

Helpful?
Thank sandramackenzie
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,089 reviews
583 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 431 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Welcoming Tearoom. Staff very nice. I had a Sundae which was lovely.Top quality. Husband had an excellent Toastie. Good prices. Locally sourced ingredients. A must visit.

Helpful?
Thank JANETDENISE
Lesley M, Manager at Abbey Cottage, responded to this review

Thank you for your very generous review. I'm delighted that you both enjoyed your visit to Abbey Cottage, and hope that we might see you again sometime. More 

Lochmaben, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Never been before so we stopped off for lunch. Its very much a tearoom with some tables outside for the good weather. We had a soups, sandwiches and wraps for lunch - all of which were excellent. There is a good range of toasties, paninis, wraps, baked potato and soups. Cakes and tray bakes are very much home made and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sara H
Lesley M, Manager at Abbey Cottage, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, Sara. I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your lunch with us this week, and that we can expect to see you again some time. More 

Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2017

I have stopped off here on a number of occasions recently on the way to the beach and am never disappointed . Great food great prices and friendly staff .

Helpful?
Thank rachael b
Lesley M, Manager at Abbey Cottage, responded to this review

Hi there Rachael, Lovely to hear from you, and glad to hear that you enjoy your visits to Abbey Cottage on your way to the shore. Maybe we'll get some warmer weather soon for your beach trips! Lesley More 

UK
Level Contributor
104 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2017

On the Solway coast tea rooms are few and far between - we have been coming here now for many years. Service is always good and the range of cakes would tempt most people!

Helpful?
Thank sharpedgecumbria
Lesley M, Manager at Abbey Cottage, responded to this review

Hello, and many thanks for taking the time to post your review. It's lovely to hear from our 'regulars'. Hopefully we'll get some warmer weather soon for visiting the coast! Lesley More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

Visited here today for lunch, I ordered soup and a sandwich. I ordered lentil soup and a chicken sandwich, is the first time I've had lentil soup with other veg in it. Totally took the taste away. For the price, I thought the presentation was basic and poor!

Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
Lesley M, Manager at Abbey Cottage, responded to this review

Oh dear, Andrew, that makes 2 of us that are disappointed! If only you'd said something at the time, then we might just have been able to help you out. As you know, we provide table service, and I'm pretty confident that the person who served you your soup and sandwich would have asked you if everything was OK. I... More 

Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

Nice but unfortunately very expensive for the the quality and quantity of the food. This establishment is defiantly cashing in on the tourist trade. Ice cream was an eye watering £4.00 for to scoops of local ice cream. It is a very pleasant cafe staff friendly but they could improve their food for the price they are charging.

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca B
Lesley M, Manager at Abbey Cottage, responded to this review

We serve Cream o'Galloway luxury organic ice cream. As you state, this is £4, for 2 scoops, served in a dish at your table. As well as the table service, this price includes VAT at 20%, which we have no option about charging. A takeaway tub is also available at £1.60. More 

Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2017

Been here before and the food was great. Decided to stop off again and grab a wee bite. The place was busy, but the service was fine, and the cafe cosy. Ordered soup and bread, unfortunately, the bread tasted stale, (possibly frozen bread that had been defrosted) and whilst the soup was very tasty, it was watery.

Helpful?
Thank Neatephotography
Lesley M, Manager at Abbey Cottage, responded to this review

Hello, and thank you for your review. I'm sorry that didn't mention your concerns to the member of staff who served you - if something isn't right, we'd much rather know about it at the time and have the opportunity to put things right. Also, as you don't mention when it was that you visited, there is very little for... More 

Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2017 via mobile

Stopped here for lunch today with my mum, we both had wraps one chilli chicken and other smoked chicken with side salad and coleslaw ... they were delicious and the salad was lovely and fresh! We then had peppermint crunch tray cake... yummy!!! Will certainly be back and highly recommend it to anyone that stops here.

Helpful?
Thank Lesley M
Lesley M, Manager at Abbey Cottage, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your reivew. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your lunch with us. We use only use British Chicken, and for the Chilli Wrap, this is cooked for us by Houstons in Dumfries. The Smoked Chicken is prepared by Galloway Smokehouse. The Peppermint Crunch is one of our favourites too! Look forward... More 

Travellers who viewed Abbey Cottage also viewed

Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
New Galloway, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
Sandyhills, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Abbey Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 4 - USD 20
Cuisine
British, Soups, Scottish, Cafe, Vegan Options, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, View
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 17:00
Monday
10:00 - 17:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 17:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 17:00
Thursday
10:00 - 17:00
Friday
10:00 - 17:00
Saturday
10:00 - 17:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 26 Main Street | New Abbey, New Abbey DG2 8BY, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Dumfries and Galloway  >  New Abbey
  • Phone Number: +44 1387 850377
Description
Abbey Cottage is a family owned and run tearoom, and we celebrated 30 years in business in 2013.
We offer coffees, light lunches and afternoon teas, sourcing ingredients locally, and even growing some ourselves. We have a good understanding of dietary issues and can offer gluten and lactose free menu options.
New Abbey is a very historic village, with a traditional working Corn Mill, and the beautiful ruins of Sweetheart Abbey. It's also a great place for walking, with several circular routes and the more challenging walk up Criffel.
The pretty village is on the road to the Solway Coast, popular with cyclists and motor cyclists.
Abbey Cottage is situated right next to Sweetheart Abbey - see our photos for views. The public car car park is very close.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Abbey Cottage staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?