We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Fleece Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Bar, Pub, Seafood, Grill
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
8 - 10 Broad Street, Boxford, Babergh District CO10 5DX, England
+44 1787 211183
Website
Today
12:00 - 22:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Sat 12:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

104 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 104: English reviews
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a really lovely meal - an excellent - but not too fussy - menu with pleasant, attentive service.

Helpful?
Thank jcasson
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2017

Found out this was open on Christmas day and booked a table of four. Was a little nervous as was told that this was the first time they had done this. However, I need not have worried. We were warmly greeted by a member of staff with a glass or prosecco and shown to our table. The food was great... More 

Helpful?
Thank InspectorHot
The-Fleece, Manager at The Fleece Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We're glad you enjoyed your Christmas lunch and hope you had a very merry Christmas! We're pleased the hiccup with the dessert (our sincerest apologies) hasn't put you off returning to The Fleece! More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

Had a really good meal at the fleece staff were very friendly I had the surf and turf which was brilliant .generous portion meant i couldnt manage a desert my wife and son had the cheese board which had a really good selecton and l had to help them out one would have done between them ..definitely will call again.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank John N
The-Fleece, Manager at The Fleece Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review! We're so glad you enjoyed your meal and hope to see you and your family again very soon! More 

Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

Had some great food, locals were really friendly drinking at the bar after, good fun night out. Highly recommend! Plenty of daily specials!

Helpful?
1 Thank bestdogever
The-Fleece, Manager at The Fleece Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for yet another lovely review! We're glad you enjoyed your evening and hope you return again very soon! More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

We decided to go to the fleece for our date night, we was really not disappointed by our choice, great friendly service always polite! As for the food we was not disappointed by the quality and presentation.. Definitely a cut above your standard pub food, we will be returning for many years to come. So nice to see pub food... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine L
The-Fleece, Manager at The Fleece Hotel, responded to this review

We're so glad you enjoyed your evening at The Fleece and very glad to hear you'll be returning for another visit! Thank you for the lovely review! More 

Lound, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2016

Here for dinner on a Saturday evening; bar really busy but dining room empty; we were to find out why! Started badly. Ordered bottle of red wine which was placed unopened on the table, no offer to taste the wine, as waitress retreated hastily to the kitchen. Shared starter of baked camembert, served with celery and apples; nothing added to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Scottieburnett
The-Fleece, Manager at The Fleece Hotel, responded to this review

We're sorry you didn't feel you had a very good experience at The Fleece. We always strive to provide the best service and sorry you didn't feel this way. We only wish that you could of told us at the time that your meals weren't up to standard and we could of rectified this at the time. We hope this... More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2016 via mobile

Visited with the family after searching and we was not let down. The food was amazing and reasonable prices. The staff were friendly and could not complain at all. Would recommend to anyone and they hold entertainment night at the weekend and it's set in a lovely location of boxford opposite the river and not hard to find.

Helpful?
1 Thank Carl A
The-Fleece, Manager at The Fleece Hotel, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your recent visit to The Fleece and enjoyed your meals. We hope to see you again very soon! More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2016

My partner and I (and our dog) had a great lunch at The Fleece Hotel. I had the fish of the day which was superbly fresh Plaice lightly battered and a mound of chips and peas. My partner had homemade Steak and Guinness pie, fresh veg and chips in stead of mash - just what we needed on a cold... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank AngelaG25
The-Fleece, Manager at The Fleece Hotel, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your recent visit to The Fleece and enjoyed your meals off of our new winter menu! We hope to see you again very soon to try some of the other dishes we have to offer! More 

Lavenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2016

I was so surprised by this pub. It is a proper country pub in the hands of attentive owners. They listen to their customers. My guest is unusual,he likes his chips well done and quite brown. This is the only place I have ever found that did them as he wanted. I like extra gravy and got gravy boat. 10... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas S
The-Fleece, Manager at The Fleece Hotel, responded to this review

We're very pleased you had a pleasant experience upon your recent visit to The Fleece. We are forever striving to provide a brilliant service and attend to every customers needs. We hope to see you again very soon. More 

Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

Was just stopping by for a spot of dinner and found this gem on trip advisor. The service was exceptional with a warm welcome, great food with a good selection of ales and a friendly atmosphere. Well worth a visit if you are in the area.

Helpful?
2 Thank Martin O
The-Fleece, Manager at The Fleece Hotel, responded to this review

We're very pleased that you enjoyed your recent visit to The Fleece. We like to make sure that every customer receives the best possible service from our staff. We hope to see you again very soon. More 

Travellers who viewed The Fleece Hotel also viewed

Sudbury, Babergh District
 
Polstead, Babergh District
Hadleigh, Babergh District
 

Been to The Fleece Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
USD 6 - USD 31
Cuisine
Bar, Pub, Seafood, Grill
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Romantic, Groups, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Monday
12:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 22:00
Saturday
12:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 8 - 10 Broad Street, Boxford, Babergh District CO10 5DX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Suffolk  >  Babergh District  >  Boxford
  • Phone Number: +44 1787 211183
Description
This is a real pub! We stay loyal to the buildings roots and ensure it has the atmosphere we all relish from a pub. We serve quality local and national real ales including a number from our own brewery just 2 miles up the road, as well as excellent lagers, wines, whiskies and more. Our food is homemade and prepared fresh to order, of excellent quality taking advantage of local and seasonal produce , Offering value for money in a relaxed and casual atmosphere.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Fleece Hotel and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Middle East

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Fleece Hotel staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?