We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Lamb Inn

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Pevensey Marsh, Hooe TN33 9HH, England
+44 1424 848649
Website
Today
12:00 - 23:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 22:30
Mon - Sat 12:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

323 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 322: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We were 11 friends out for lunch. We pre booked tables and food for us to arrive at 12.30. At 1p.m. we were told they had just started cooking! The food was "all right" but abit expensive for the quality. There were 3 staff but no service at all. Another table said they had waited for half an hour for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brenda K
Crowborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently visited this nice little pub after an evenings star gazing at the observatory at Hurstmonceaux. We were desperately disappointed with the whole visit. It was a very cold night and there was no where in the pub to hide from the cold, it fact is was uncomfortable even though they had the heating on. We went to the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Eugene C
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When we arrived we had to seat ourselves as there was no one available to show us to a table (despite pre-booking). We were given a specials menu and a lunch menu. When our orders were taken we were told they had "run out" of the fish, calamari, lamb, pies and the halibut special. How could they have run out... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sam L
Bexhill
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Overall our first visit was very nice. Friendly staff and prompt service. Good food and drinks. Will be going back.

Helpful?
Thank JACKIE l
Robert G, General Manager at The Lamb Inn, responded to this review

Hi Jackie Thank you for your review, happy to see you enjoyed your visit to us, we look forward to seeing you in the future.. Team lamb More 

Polegate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Large restaurant with rustic furnishing although some of the chairs need replacing or their joints securing. The waiting staff are friendly but would benefit from more customer service training. There is a reasonable choice of food available but the starters are relatively expensive and the main courses are better value for money but the cuts of meats are not of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
Robert G, General Manager at The Lamb Inn, responded to this review

Hi Paul Thank you for taking some time to leave me some feed back from your visit, I have taken on board your comments from the furniture and have ordered some new ones to replace the tired ones, I'm always in training with the team to help improve our service, I have passed on your comments to the head chef... More 

East Sussex UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

restaurant was cold - sat in coats most of the night. service slow and food took forever to arrive and was then cold so had return. Will not be returning anytime soon :(

Helpful?
1 Thank LROB154
Robert G, General Manager at The Lamb Inn, responded to this review

Hello LROb154 THank you for your feed back, sorry you didn't enjoy your visit, I do apologise about the slow service I am continually training the team to make each guest leave happy with how the team perform, with the heating again I'm sorry and have been in close contact with contractors to try rectify the issues, in the mean... More 

Frimley Green, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Eaten here a few times had some great meals like the fish platter, halloumi and chips with gerkin sauce. other meals too. good service, good food good price

Helpful?
Thank dtwilson1981
Robert G, General Manager at The Lamb Inn, responded to this review

Hi dtwilson1981 Thank you for your feedback I will pass on your comments for the whole team to read.. Hope to see you in the future Team lamb More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

All meals disappointing. Salad was old, dressing a jelly like substance with loads of sugar. Tasted worst than the cheapest fat free dressing you can get in the supermarkets. Burger dry. Special was grilled sole, two tiny soles that tasted and looked blanched. No flavour at all. No point in complaining. We would have to return the entire order. So... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank gauri67
Robert G, General Manager at The Lamb Inn, responded to this review

Hello gauri67 Thank you for leaving me some feed back from your visit, I'm very disappointed that you didn't enjoy your food, I do hope you give the lamb a second try and if you do have any issues please bring it to our attention before you leave as my self and the whole team try to make each guest... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

Lovely place to eat. This was our second visit and both have given delicious food delivered from friendly staff. On the second occasion they had a big fire lit which made the atmosphere very cosy. Craft ales get the gents happy and the amazing dessert selection was a great was to end the meal. Well done.

Helpful?
Thank Jacky B
Robert G, General Manager at The Lamb Inn, responded to this review

Hi Jacky Thank you for your review I'm pleased to hear you have enjoyed both your visits here, I will share your kind words with all the team. Hope too see you in the near future Team Lamb More 

Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2017

After visiting The Lamb Inn today for a drink and lunch I simply have to say what a disappointment it was. First off it is only fair to say that we hadn't booked a table and we only wanted a drink and a light lunch. We went for lunch there a few weeks ago which was fine. We went in... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank 49Cheryl
Robert G, General Manager at The Lamb Inn, responded to this review

Hello 49Cheryl Thank you for taking some time to give me some feed back, I'm sorry to hear that we didn't deliver the service nor the food quility which we strive to do for each guest, i would like to think if you mentioned your disappointment to a team member we would of rectified your disappointment straight away.. If you... More 

Travellers who viewed The Lamb Inn also viewed

Wartling, East Sussex
Hooe, East Sussex
 

Been to The Lamb Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
British
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Pevensey Marsh, Hooe TN33 9HH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Hooe
  • Phone Number: +44 1424 848649
Description
Embracing the rural charm of its tranquil, scenic setting, The Lamb Inn offers a modern twist on traditional country pub dining. As well as offering a beer garden for enjoying summertime dining, the cosy dining room is filled with rustic original features and toasty fires for warming winter dining. Championing favourite British recipes, guests can enjoy evenings devoted to the inn's freshly-baked pies, as well as gourmet roast dinners and seasonal cocktail mixes.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Lamb Inn and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
Hastings, United Kingdom
3 months ago
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
5 months ago
Robertsbridge, United Kingdom
7 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Lamb Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?